Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      KoalaMummy

deduct 20 which is normal practice mah šŸ˜›

ya, but my hubby say i'm blowing up this matter. he say $20 is a small amount and i should just forget it. what do you think?

kanyaramesh

KoalaMummy:

deduct 20 which is normal practice mah šŸ˜›

ya, but my hubby say i'm blowing up this matter. he say $20 is a small amount and i should just forget it. what do you think?

i think you should deduct. once you give her this kind of privileges she will expect it often. If i were you i will say that you are giving her extra off but it will be subject to reiview. If her performance becomes bad or attitude changes it will go back to one off per month.

jtoh

KoalaMummy:

How is her performance after her off day ? Does she compare or attitude wise, has she changed ? If you refuse to give her extra off day this time, she will protest bcos you gave her once in June.

actually she's quite a good maid, with lots of initiatives. no difference after her off days. same. she says i can deduct $20 from her pay...

I would give her a day off and also deduct the $20. Make it very clear that it's in the contract that if she takes a day off, there is a deduction of $20. The thing with some of these maids is they choose to hear what they want to hear. So if you don't deduct the $20 this time, she'll assume that there is no deduction in the future. And when you try to deduct it next time, she'll get upset with you. Just be very business-like about it.

Angelight

Hi Moonee,

looks like we are in the same boat. :hugs:

Anyway, I told the agent yesterday. As my maid's English is not so good, he got his own Myanmar maid to counsel her. Hopefully it works. šŸ™

Let's keep each other updated and share tips on handling these maids. I truly believe that sharing our burdens can help reduce each other's stress. šŸ˜„

moonee:
            Angelight:

I totally agree with some of u here. No experience, make stupid minor mistakes, I can close one eye. But once bad attitude and talking back set in, I cannot tolerate.

My Myanmar maid who has been with me for just over a month has all of the above. And now she has the guts to tell me she wants to go back to agent!! :x I told her, you did wrong things, still showed me black face and bad attitude. Of course I have to scold you becos such behaviour and attitude is not acceptable. and now you not happy want to change employer. I said no employer would want someone who talked back and showed bad attitude.

Really give me a headache, the maids these days...they thought they are here for a holiday, not happy just change destination.

I had wanted to know how u hv been doing with ur mynmar, mine gave me a lot of stress n wanted to go back to the agent twice. Agent screamed at her n reminded her of her contract etc.. and also no transfer.
            Now she sought of settled down.
            I think u shld call the agent on the quiet and complain about yr maids behaviour first then get agent to handle her. Thats the problem with all these maids, cant communicate properly cant work and want to make demands, they think they know all after one mths experience.

Angelight

Hi janet,

I think it's not just Myanmar maids who's got bad attitude and wrong mentality of 'not happy, just change employer'. I believe it applies to the Indon and fillippino as well. I think the prob lies with the new batch of maids these days. They know they are in demand, so they think they can call the shots. It's time we employers put our feet down and let them know that those with bad attitude will be sent back home, don't even think of transfer cos we also don't want to pass on errant maids to other people.

I've yet to hear good reviews about Myanmar maids...that's why the maid agency I get my maids from never bring them in.

Maids think they have ALL the rights in the world. Not happy with employer, ask for transfer. I interviewed one Myanmar maid. She worked here for 1 month and asked to go back to agency. Why ? Because she claimed too much work. :!: :!: A friend also had a Myanmar maid. She was resistant to learn. Another friend had the same Myanmar maid for 3 years, also can die. Sometimes, I really wonder why these people come to Singapore. To have a holiday or to work :x :x

vicki

How about deducting the $20? but if you can "keep it aside" - so if she does well or if you are very pleased with performance after her contract ends - maybe you can "return" her the $$ via a ang pow for good performance??

KoalaMummy

Hi all, thanks for your suggestions. after spoken to hubby, we've decided to give her the off day w/o deducted the $. But i told her cannot do this too often. she also agrees. she's a good maid lah. we do not want this to affect our relationship. just hope that she'll appreciate it and work well for us and not to abuse it. šŸ™

duriz

KoalaMummy:
                    just hope that she'll appreciate it and work well for us and not to abuse it. šŸ™

All the best KoalaMummy.
                    Hope you maid appreciates and remembers your gesture šŸ˜„

Hi Angelight,

Yes I know maids are asking for transfer when they are not happy with their employers, be it Filipino/Myanmar or even Indonesians. If their request for transfer is not successful, then they will sit on their butts and refuse to work...their tactic to make employers :x with them until you send them off.

My last Filipino stupidly listened to the others downstairs, came back and told me, 'Mam, can I talk to you ? You don't like me right?' I asked her, 'Since when I said that?' and she said, 'Nothing, nothing'. I persisted in asking her MANY, MANY times and she didn't reply :x That was the day I sent her off to the agency and never got another maid again - November 27, right after my daughter's birthday. That's why I remember the date so well.

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

cmm:
                        My current maid (fili) so far so good. She's been with me since mid-2008. What I like about her is that she is very hardworking and has good attitude.......(she ever accidentally scalded my then 10mth-old with hot water while making milo)...............My maid is sensible and I'm pretty happy with her work and attitude so far. Of course there are minor things that I'm not so happy with, but mai hiam liao....

Hi cmm,
                        Although glad your maid is working out well but ya....a bit alarmed by the scalding incidence though! :!:
                        So you have extended this maid's contract already?
                        Are you a SAHM or working? Who is watching over your maid?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 288 / 1032