7 New IP schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    899 Posts 105 Posters 358.5k Views 1 Watching
      tanbh

zacharykieran:

All these 7 schools have been applying for IP since 2005/2006. It is definitely not some rushed idea approved by the MOE, since all institutions have been in deep discussion with the Govt, and multiple proposals have been put forward.

For instance, did you know that originally there was a proposal for a CHS-SJI IB merger, but the idea was rejected, because of the fact that the school would be 'too big'?
      Straits Times did reported about the CHS-SJI talk of cooperation or is it merger but details i only learned from what you mentioned ... ha ha , while \"too big\" is indeed a practical issue, i am back to my old \"rationale\".... those 2 boys school are \"two different style/culture of people\", despite both mission catholic schools - cant really bring them together

on the time frame, i probably should not have bring in the idea of or mentioned rush... which could be misleading, but come to think of it, be it CHS, SJI, Victoria plans or others ... those that \"come to light\" to the public seems had been submitted, rejected, renegotiated, back to drawing board again and start from square one through several versions ... hence, the final version likely isnt really started since 2005/6 (only the 1st unadopted or rejected by galfren/boyfren/MOE versions was started since 2005/6)

WeiHan

relax lah everybody…there is no such thing as "similar culture continuation" etc…so I don’t see any problem with the scgs/chs/sng sec5-6 merger.

Didn’t JCs like Hwa Chong, VJC etc already taking students from various top secondary schools in the past? What problem with the culture was there?

kiaaik

[quote="phankao"][quote="zacharykieran"]

MOE at that point in time, did not approve IP schools with dual track programme - so far, only ACSI could do that bc ACSI independent.
          quote]

according to Straits Times, MOE has rejected SJI two earlier IP proposals…why is that so since SJI is also independent? becos ACS has better COP than SJI?

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

kiaaik:

according to Straits Times, MOE has rejected SJI two earlier IP proposals...why is that so since SJI is also independent? becos ACS has better COP than SJI?
            bc actually applications for IP already closed. The last school approved was River Valley. So how can MOE be seen to approve SJI without approving other schools who have been asking as well? That's why MOE open this round with 7 new IP schools, lah.

as a matter of policy, MOE can open and close for the application for IPO any time they wish, i.e. suka suka

this round it makes people feel like it is a result of the hoohah over the MT weightage reduction proposal fiasco, so IPO is the peace offerings to those who failed to get MOE to reduce MT weightage - at least they can also do IP since there will be more IP places available with 7 more schools offering it

as a matter of policy, MOE can open and close for the application for IPO any time they wish, i.e. suka suka

this round it makes people feel like it is a result of the hoohah over the MT weightage reduction proposal fiasco, so IPO is the peace offerings to those who failed to get MOE to reduce MT weightage - at least they can also do IP since there will be more IP places available with 7 more schools offering it

I have not caught up with all the detail discussion here yet but based on the above posting, I agree the these IP schools are born to ease the MT reduction issue. This will make less people feel that they are penalized from having a university education just because of MT alone. I think it is prettclause and prudent of the gahmen to try to address this issue in an alternative way instead of leaving it as pent-up frustrations and forcing the richer folks to seek elsewhere for their tertiary education or in the extreme cases, migrate due to education.

Daddy 😧
                  :celebrate: :celebrate:

Now I remember why I used to get confused on how to pronounce the \"IP MAN\" movie...
                  :lol: :lol: :lol:
                  :rotflmao: :rotfmao:
                  I had the same problem when I dated my hubby to watch the movie \"IP man\". He raised his brows at me and went \"huh\"? Then of course I got educated by him about 叶问 in detail. He said I had been too updated with SG's education that I lost out on history.....:lol:

But I told him if I don't keep up with current now, I will be history!!! At least for as far as my child is concerned. :lol:

kiaaik

kiaaik:

according to Straits Times, MOE has rejected SJI two earlier IP proposals...why is that so since SJI is also independent? becos ACS has better COP than SJI?

last time the former education minister tharma said it is closed officially becos school after school went to moe with applications but moe kept it open again later without informing the public...all the 7 IP schools were from recent applications

dunnoleh

... as a matter of policy, MOE can open and close for the application for IPO any time they wish, i.e. suka suka ...
                      i think not suka suka, but mere mortals dun get to sit in the assembly of gods.

we can only pray that our children get good grades,
                      and choose those schools they want,
                      and not to be chosen by schools that others don't want.

dunnoleh

...I have not caught up with all the detail discussion here yet but based on the above posting, I agree the these IP schools are born to ease the MT reduction issue. This will make less people feel that they are penalized from having a university education just because of MT alone. I think it is prettclause and prudent of the gahmen to try to address this issue in an alternative way instead of leaving it as pent-up frustrations and forcing the richer folks to seek elsewhere for their tertiary education or in the extreme cases, migrate due to education.
                        I hope it is not true 🙏

--- that too many rich kids have problems with MT(even with expensive home tuition?)
                        --- that this problem is big enough to justify a major policy shift.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 75 / 90