Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      cmm

DesertWind:
      Hi cmm,

Although glad your maid is working out well but ya....a bit alarmed by the scalding incidence though! :!:
      So you have extended this maid's contract already?
      Are you a SAHM or working? Who is watching over your maid?

Yes, just extended her contract in July. I'm self-employed, so working very flexible hours. When I'm at work, I park my kids at my mom's place so she can jaga them.

The scalding incident was definitely sim tiah for me. But it was an accident, albeit plus carelessness on my maid's part. Surely having something like this happen due to an accident (which I can forgive) is much bearable than with malicious intent. We've all heard of horror stories here and there. Hence, with the quality of maids coming in nowadays (she was my 3rd in a year), mai hiam liao lor.... :roll:

As my kids get older, I'm slowly relieving her of the child minding duties. I'm working towards being maid-free. She should be my last maid. 🙏

• DesertWindD Offline
        DesertWind

Hi duriz, 😉

I can understand your dilemma! When my DS was about 1+, I too had such a strong urge to stop working and just look after him full-time. Missed him so much during the day at work! But of course when I actually managed to spend full-time with him (during 2-weeks maid vacation), I found that actually my disposition was not much suitable to be a SAHM. Sadly even my hubby said that, firstly I got so tired of doing housework, secondly I was so tired from cooking, washing, bathing him that I got short-tempered with my DS when he even slightly messed things up like when eating!

With maid, I made conscious effort to spend time with him whenever I can ie. in the evening and night he sleep with me and during weekends/PH I will play with him and bath him. Having a maid to help out is certainly good so that I won't get so \"pek chek\" when he messes things up!

Perhaps you can start by having a maid first and see how it works out. With your MIL around, certainly there is somebody watching over her so cut down one less worry since she can help your MIL. Maid can do those heavy-duty work whereas you will do those that brings you close to DD like bathing, feeding, playing etc!

But yes you should take time to consider your options and see what you would really like to do. All the best!

duriz:
        But I'm thinking of going back to be a SAHM.
        I love being with DD. It's just that we stay with PILs.
        When I was a SAHM (and during weekends/PHs now that I'm a FTWM), I'm so bogged down by housework......DH and DD will hang around the kitchen playing with magnets on the fridge and doodling on recycled paper because they miss and want to be near me..........all DD wants is her momma. HAH :love:
        Dilemma. See how lah. Still contemplating options. :celebrate:

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

cmm:
          .....with the quality of maids coming in nowadays (she was my 3rd in a year), mai hiam liao lor.... :roll: As my kids get older, I'm slowly relieving her of the child minding duties. I'm working towards being maid-free. She should be my last maid. 🙏

Hi cmm,

I like your \"mai hiam liao lor\"...! hee...hee...hee... 😉

Another phrase I can think of is \"chin chye lah...!\"

I think your maid must like working for you!

Anyway, maid is maid, less we rely on them the better!

All the best!

HappyAvon

Hi all, I recently spot checked on my maid's hp n realized she had been using the hp whenever I'm not at home...I'm a SAHM but I still go to hubby's office in d am n then fetch my girl from childcare in noon..on certain days of the week I may oso need to send my girl for her enrichment classes in the afternoon..I started to chk on her cos I realized she seems to be getting forgetful n seems to be rushing to bed even at 9 pm plus...we actually allowed her to rest for the nite at 10 pm daily...to my surprise, she had been using her hp even at 11 pm plus or even midnite...lately I saw a local hp no whom she always SMS n seems to be some mushy smses....so I got my gf's help to call d hp n the recipient turned out to be a man!!! I was very disappointed wif her n we have decided to send her back to agent this weekend.... Her work is acceptable but we cannot tolerate her having affairs here n knowing she is married wif kid...it really reflects badly on her....I hv not told her abt it n intend to just ask her to pack on d day itself..... I knw it's useless to confront her cos she will not admits it n is those hard headed type... I will just tell her I do not need a maid anymore....haiz... Cannot understand why these maids do not knw how to behave properly.... :?

auntieM

HappyAvon,

Really ‘heng’ that you managed to pick up the tell tale signs early and decided on taking action behind her back…
              Make sure you have company when you break the news to her in case she turn ‘havoc’…

HappyAvon

auntieM:
                HappyAvon,

Really 'heng' that you managed to pick up the tell tale signs early and decided on taking action behind her back..
                Make sure you have company when you break the news to her in case she turn 'havoc'..
                Hi auntie m, yah true....sometimes a woman's six sense can be quite true..I had a feeling that something is wrong with her n so decided to keep a close watch..I think I will just keep my girl away while hubby n me settle her...initially we thot we shall not bother her personal issues as long as she does her work properly...but after serious consideration, I knw i cannot tolerate such a person living in our place n who knows she may bring back the man when we are away for holidays...OMG... I really can't imagine....

Breadandmuffins

HappyAvon:
                  Hi all, I recently spot checked on my maid's hp n realized she had been using the hp whenever I'm not at home...I'm a SAHM but I still go to hubby's office in d am n then fetch my girl from childcare in noon..on certain days of the week I may oso need to send my girl for her enrichment classes in the afternoon..I started to chk on her cos I realized she seems to be getting forgetful n seems to be rushing to bed even at 9 pm plus...we actually allowed her to rest for the nite at 10 pm daily...to my surprise, she had been using her hp even at 11 pm plus or even midnite...lately I saw a local hp no whom she always SMS n seems to be some mushy smses....so I got my gf's help to call d hp n the recipient turned out to be a man!!! I was very disappointed wif her n we have decided to send her back to agent this weekend.... Her work is acceptable but we cannot tolerate her having affairs here n knowing she is married wif kid...it really reflects badly on her....I hv not told her abt it n intend to just ask her to pack on d day itself..... I knw it's useless to confront her cos she will not admits it n is those hard headed type... I will just tell her I do not need a maid anymore....haiz... Cannot understand why these maids do not knw how to behave properly.... :?

Hi HappyAvon

How long has your maid been with u? Mine 7yrs filippino (40ys old) but on the 6th yr onwards also got exactly the same problem as yours but I never chk if its a guy or not cos she said that between maids, they sometimes use the term \"darling\" too.....anyway, we are not extending her contract & she also no longer happy working for us becos she is not allowed to chat freely (nor secretly) during the day (note that we did not object her calls at nite from 9.30pm to 11pm. My only problem is the next maid may also secretly used as HP is so common now.

It’s a luxury to have a maid and be a SAHM.

When my daughter was younger (below 4), I had a maid to cook and do housework. I could focus on my son’s school work (P1 or 2 then)…no need to run to and fro kitchen, mop/vacuum, do laundry then. Really shiok. Of course this comes with a HIGH price.
                    Fortunately, I managed to give my son a good foundation at lower primary then.

Without having to do housework and give 100% attention to my kids, I was not so pek chek but as my kids grew and rely less on maid, I got pissed off with their attitude.

It's a luxury to have a maid and be a SAHM.

Without having to do housework and give 100% attention to my kids, I was not so pek chek.

Yes dear janet_lee88 so much luxury to be SAHM and have maid :love: :love: even the thought makes me happier 😛

When there was a maid, I closed 2 eyes even though I am a SAHM. Bcos my focus is on my son who was in lower primary then. Yet can still give me attitude problems. When kids got bigger, I couldn't close 2 eyes anymore. I left housework and cooking to the maid. Marketing/sending kids to and fro school was either myself or hubby.
                      Maid was unhappy bcos she wanted to yak with others and taking away these 2 'chores' from her meant she couldn't do that.

HappyAvon

Breadandmuffins:
                        Hi HappyAvon

How long has your maid been with u? Mine 7yrs filippino (40ys old) but on the 6th yr onwards also got exactly the same problem as yours but I never chk if its a guy or not cos she said that between maids, they sometimes use the term \"darling\" too.....anyway, we are not extending her contract & she also no longer happy working for us becos she is not allowed to chat freely (nor secretly) during the day (note that we did not object her calls at nite from 9.30pm to 11pm. My only problem is the next maid may also secretly used as HP is so common now.
                        Hi bread muffins, at least yours had been wif u for 7 yrs....mine was only one n a half yr....I was utterly disappointed with her n will be sending her back tomorrow.....I had laid my rules clearly to her but she had nvr listened even after u lectured her for using the phone in d day.....it was going on for a long time but I just close one eye...since now I found out she had been smsing/talking to a man, I decided to take actions..it's hard to stop Filipino maid from having a hp...they just like to chat....with off days, lagi si.... I will not get any Filipino maid anymore....
                        Since I will be able to watch my girl in the afternoon, I will go for indon maid..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 290 / 1032