7 New IP schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    899 Posts 105 Posters 358.7k Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

dunnoleh:

[quote=\"INNOVATE\"]... Surely all alternatives and options must had been debated at the board of SCGS before they accepted MOE's initiative. This include all points outlined earlier in this forum.

3 of them were discussing:

Nick: wanna be frens?
      Nyonya: we already frens, right?
      Catholic: 😎
      Nick: eh monk! you wanna fren us?
      Nick: eh! you smile wat smile?
      Nick + Nyonya: eh! so you want or dowant? 😢
      Catholic: ok la! I fren you both.
      Nick + Nyonya: :hugs:

and all live happily ever after.

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]funny, meh?

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

Daddy 😧
        happymum8:

Q7. What are the selection criteria for the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC?
        Ans : The details are still being finalised. We will publicly announce the details once they are available. For current Primary 6 students, you must first enrol in VS/CGSS in 2011 to qualify for the integrated programme in 2013.

The FAQs sibei cheem... or I noob...
        For P5 and P6 students, the IP selection is not based on PSLE results?
        For current Sec1 (any sch), the IP selection is based on what results?

The school will probably announce the score for those eligible for the IP in sec 1 later. Usually each year differs (as similar to ACSI). Like in ACSI, those who are not in IP but do well in lower secondary may be selected for IP in sec 3. Likewise, those in IP who do not cope may transfer to the O-level track.

kiaaik

sporemum:
          happymum8:

[b]Q5. My child is in Primary 6 this year. If he/she does not go to VS/CGSS in 2011, will he/she still have the chance to join the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC when he/she is Sec 3?

Ans : VS/CGSS (and not VJC!) is open to accepting eligible applicants for the integrated programme at the end of Sec 2.

By inference it will appear that the current co-educational VJC VIP pgm for Sec3 /4 held in the VJC itself will be discontinued in 2013. Instead the IP'ers will continue in the respective VS/CGSS. Seems a pity that this is happening as the VIP pgm started in 2005 and I'm sure had been finetuned to its current state today by the VJC VIP teachers and staff..

yes u read it correctly. vjc ip will discontinue in 2013.

kiaaik

daisyt:
            kiaaik:

[quote=\"WeiHan\"]
            But what exactly is wrong with smaller number of students? As far as you may be able to state some disadvantages, I can also come out with a corresponding advantage.

it is like old days when there were pre-u centres in sec schs...versus JCs..

I don't get u, can be more specific in terms of the models & programs of dhs & rvhs make u sooo worried?[/quote]i am not worried. i just feel that there is something lacking as compared with full-fledged jcs like ri, hci, vjc

daisyt

Hi kiaaik, do you know of somone studying in dhs or rvhs? How well you understand all the different ip programmes in all the different ip schools? I am just wondering on what basis you have this feel?

I know there are many students who are qualified to get in other IPs but choose to go dhs/rvhs for many different reasons each has and these are good PSLE academic students. Just like some IP students quitted IP and switched to poly as reported on the newspaper. Or some qualify to go IP but choose non IP to take O lvl. Its not how good or not good the schools are, I believe its the \"feel\" these student towards the school. Sometimes its like \"love at first sight\". :love:

Its not easy for each of these school to come this far.

WeiHan

kiaaik:
                daisyt:

[quote=\"kiaaik\"]
                it is like old days when there were pre-u centres in sec schs...versus JCs..

I don't get u, can be more specific in terms of the models & programs of dhs & rvhs make u sooo worried?

i am not worried. i just feel that there is something lacking as compared with full-fledged jcs like ri, hci, vjc[/quote]Hi,

In the old days pre-U, the students just stay in the class like sec 1-4 and the teachers of each subjects will come to the classrooms to deliver the class.

Then, the JC concept came. The JC concept is just the lectures and then tutorial class concept. Students attend a common lectures in the theatres and then separate into smaller tutorial groups for smaller groups drilling.

In other words, there is no difference in the way teachings are conducted in the pre-U of RV and DHS and the JCs. The system is exactly the same.

patpattan

WeiHan:
                  kiaaik:

[quote=\"daisyt\"]
                  I don't get u, can be more specific in terms of the models & programs of dhs & rvhs make u sooo worried?

i am not worried. i just feel that there is something lacking as compared with full-fledged jcs like ri, hci, vjc

In the old days pre-U, the students just stay in the class like sec 1-4 and the teachers of each subjects will come to the classrooms to deliver the class.

Then, the JC concept came. The JC concept is just the lectures and then tutorial class concept. Students attend a common lectures in the theatres and then separate into smaller tutorial groups for smaller groups drilling.

In other words, there is no difference in the way teachings are conducted in the pre-U of RV and DHS and the JCs. The system is exactly the same.[/quote]The lecture-tutorial system has both pros and cons. The universities have it for their core/popular courses so that one professor can teach a few hundred students in a lecture, and their graduate assistants will take charge of the tutorials. For the number of students each JC takes in, it is certainly appropriate from the efficiency point of view.

For niche programmes and graduate level courses, universities adopt a seminar style of teaching for class size of up to 40 or so., and the professor teaches the class personally.

So there is nothing wrong with a classroom style of teaching adopted by smaller IP schools, as long as the teachers are good. It can also be argued that smaller schools offer the students more opportunities for leadership development, all things being equal. So, small can be beautiful:)

daisyt

WeiHan:

In other words, there is no difference in the way teachings are conducted in the pre-U of RV and DHS and the JCs. The system is exactly the same.
                    But I heard from dd mentioned, those year 5 and 6 students in RV, they would go to different rooms / theatres for their lectures and tutorials (unless she is wrong). And thats also why, their days normally ends at about 5. Quite similar to poly styles too right? Sorry, I still don't quite get whats the diff? :? Maybe can be more specific in comparing the models and programmes but again, are all IP schools programmes the same? 😐

jtoh

daisyt:
                      WeiHan:

But I heard from dd mentioned, those year 5 and 6 students in RV, they would go to different rooms / theatres for their lectures and tutorials (unless she is wrong). And thats also why, their days normally ends at about 5. Quite similar to poly styles too right? Sorry, I still don't quite get whats the diff? :? Maybe can be more specific in comparing the models and programmes but again, are all IP schools programmes the same? 😐

No they're not. Some schools do subjects that others don't. Also method of teaching is different.

kiaaik

i think the difference is not so much in the programmes…

but being in the same school with same schoolmates for 6 yrs can be a little bit boring
                        other IPs have the boys’ and girls’ schools combining at Yr 5, and life begin in a ‘new’ campus even it may be ri, hci…and they are joined by quite a lof of other students from other schools as well…which make overall school life more interesting…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 79 / 90

tyeoghT
                        tyeogh