Tried and tested useful household tips

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    575 Posts 154 Posters 500.8k Views 1 Watching
      BigDevil

hapydino:

[quote=\"hapydino\"]
      but.. i dunno how to upload photo.. 😢

i email u??

Once u post a reply there is small blue line Add image to post and u can post it 😉

i remember i tried this before but unable to post leh.. nvm, i'll try again tonight.. :)[/quote]See this -> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=132258#132258

hapydino

THANK YOU BigDevil and LKVM!!!

some images cannot be viewed in the link provided… i will go in tonight to read how to upload… if dun have what photo bucket to upload photo to… den how ah??

• JenniferJ Offline
          Jennifer

I laid a piece of plastic sheet (the thicker book wrapper type) over my glass dining table. Cleaning is easier.

most hardware shops sell those plastic sheet of various thickness, cut to desired length, minimum 5 feet wide, besides using it to cover the glass top to prevent spillage into the gap, it also serves as a protector and laminate, no scratches on glass top, and can be changed for every Christmas .... cheap and good

• heyhoeH Offline
              heyhoe

Thanks, all!

Now, I need to lift the glass and clean it before protecting it with plastic sheet. By the way, do you use scotch tape to hold the plastic? :?

Also, any volunteer to lift the glass? 😉 Just kidding!

hapydino

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsGNw09

schweppes

Ok... transplanting my post on Borage plants from the Elderberry thread

schweppes:

[quote=\"schweppes\"]Actually, if you like the smell of oregano oil, try planting borage in your home. It has a similar smell to oregano - must be from the same plant family.

According to dh, it is a natural insect repellant. We grow 2 pots at home. So far, keeping the mozzies at bay. Or at least in the hall, since that's where my potted borage plants are. 😉

Erheemmmm, I'm not quite the green fingers here :oops: :oops:

Never heard of borage before.

But sure interested to find out more ....

Is it an indoor plant?? How do I go about planting/buying it?? How do I maintain it???

Ok... u give me one day to get back to u on this one. I need to ask my farmer husband. Actually, he didn't buy it, just came home one day with the plant - with roots and all. As u can see, dh doesn't get me flowers, I get plants and vege instead. 😐 :stupid: But that's another story altogether... :roll:

Btw, when I next reply, will transplant this borage thingy to the \"tried and tested\" thread. Otherwise the mobsters, oops mods will come and :heresmyfish: me

😉[/quote]

schweppes

:peekaboo: Autumnbronze

There was an article in Asiaone on the Indian Borage plant. Here's the link

http://www.asiaone.com/Wine%252CDine+%2526+Unwind/Unwind/Gardening/Plants/Non-flowering/Story/A1Story20071127-38635.html

To put it simply, according to dh, it is a hardy plant and grows well under semi-shade conditions. If too much sun, the leaves will curl and turn a little yellow. He said that you can get it from any established or big nurseries. He said that it's very easy to grow. He also mentioned that his Indian friends use it for cooking or use the leaves to make herbal tea as cough remedy. But so, far, I have not tried that yet as not sure how it works.

The plant emits a strong spicy smell - somewhat like the oregano plant but stronger. It's not an unpleasant smell. I find it somewhat comforting.

Because of the strong spicy smell, I feel that it's like a natural insect repellant. Dh said that he's not sure if the borage plant will keep mozzies at bay but the citronella plant does that. Have not grown citronella in our home but we do use the oil for aromatherapy at home.

Another informative site that I found http://hubpages.com/hub/Indian-Borage

Apart from the nice spicy smell, it adds a bit of greenery to the home too 😉

BlurBee

Hi, schweppes, thks for the link.

My mum has a pot of this plant & we thought it is mint. :lol:

:idea: Maybe shd plant a small pot in DD's room to keep out of mozzies.

autumnbronze

schweppes:
                        :peekaboo: Autumnbronze

There was an article in Asiaone on the Indian Borage plant. Here's the link

http://www.asiaone.com/Wine%252CDine+%2526+Unwind/Unwind/Gardening/Plants/Non-flowering/Story/A1Story20071127-38635.html

To put it simply, according to dh, it is a hardy plant and grows well under semi-shade conditions. If too much sun, the leaves will curl and turn a little yellow. He said that you can get it from any established or big nurseries. He said that it's very easy to grow. He also mentioned that his Indian friends use it for cooking or use the leaves to make herbal tea as cough remedy. But so, far, I have not tried that yet as not sure how it works.

The plant emits a strong spicy smell - somewhat like the oregano plant but stronger. It's not an unpleasant smell. I find it somewhat comforting.

Because of the strong spicy smell, I feel that it's like a natural insect repellant. Dh said that he's not sure if the borage plant will keep mozzies at bay but the citronella plant does that. Have not grown citronella in our home but we do use the oil for aromatherapy at home.

Another informative site that I found http://hubpages.com/hub/Indian-Borage

Apart from the nice spicy smell, it adds a bit of greenery to the home too 😉
                        Hi Schweppes,

I must have missed this post earlier, just came across it.

I will read up and get back to you soon.

:thankyou: sista :love:

:hugs:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 23 / 58