NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    6.0k Posts 713 Posters 2.6m Views 3 Watching
    • G Offline
      Guthix

Cheers_for_Kids:
      Yes, my son got offers from RI, HCI and NUS High. Before that, I am worried. Now that he has all 3 offers in hand, I am confused.

I think every school has it strengths and weaknesses. The more I hear from people, the more confused I am.

I had a chat with him. Right from beginning, I was for HCI and he wants to go to RI.

I went to both HCI and RI Open House and am impressed with both.

I had not gone to NUS High Open House as I was not sure if he could even get in. When he got the offer, I decided to attend the tea session (which is today) and came back feeling a little confused. Looks like a good school, but I am worried if the kids are too young to specialize in just Maths and Science.

He is OK in Math and has a lot of interest in Science. With the right company and good mentor, he will excel.

I am not sure if RI is the right place for him if he is not outstanding enough. I am told that only the brightest will be well taken care of and nurtured.

What if.... so many what if.

Wonder if there other parents out there facing same concerns as me......

PS: Perhaps he is the first child and I have no comparison.....
      I agree. This final year of Primary School Education is an extremely major decision and can change the future of your child. There is a time to gamble recklessly and a time to take a deep look into your child's potential and interest and make a decision after much consideration. Now it is the time to do the latter, carefully assess your child and match with the correct school. For your child, if he believes he has an outstanding record and will continue to outshine his peers, placing him in RI and trusting him will be the wisest choice. After all, who knows your son better than himself?

For_Pr 2010

Guthix:
        For_Pr 2010:

[quote=\"Ykiasu\"]I just got it. Thanks for update guys :celebrate:

Do you know of anyone who got CO from \"both\" NUS High andRI/HCI/ RGS? Just curious...

my son, together with RIHCI[/quote]Congrats Guthix :congrats: :celebrate: to you and to your son

For_Pr 2010

Cheers_for_Kids:
          Yes, my son got offers from RI, HCI and NUS High.

Congratulation Cheers_for_Kids :congrats: :celebrate:

• Y Offline
            Ykiasu

Anyone can advise where to buy NUSH uniform?

Abit Kiasu lah but dun want to last minute rush since son so sure
            he wants to go NUSH šŸ˜‰

Anyway this website all about KSP right šŸ˜›

dckbsg

The uniforms can be bought from the school shop or the vendor

In-Trend Uniforms
              471 (2nd Floor) Geylang Road (opp Lor 24)
              Tel:67410930

• Y Offline
                Ykiasu

Thanks a million dckbsg :thankyou:

Chengg

Ykiasu:
                  My DS got CO from NUSH. Gave up 2nd round at RI becos clashed with NUSH camp.

Base on hearsay, the child needs to be all-rounded to survive in RI. Maths, Science, Humanities, Languages as well as CCAs.

We are quite sure that DS will be struggling if he goes RI, he cannot multi-task and doesn't work well under pressure.

Furthermore, he's really looking forward to going NUSH which we think is a wonderful school too. We are all happy with the outcome šŸ˜‰
                  Hi Ykiasu,

Yes, I heard about only the multi-taskers can survive in RI, my son got dsa to NUSH, you said you think NUSH is good..I am not too sure about it, we just applied as DS really wants to go there, can give more information or feedback abt it? :?

• Y Offline
                    Ykiasu

Hi Chengg, sori cant really comment on how good NUSH is.

1st time trying this school, since DS is so enthusiastic about going, I am sure this is at least a good way to start. šŸ˜‰

Furthermore, being one of the most popular DSAed school, I think we are very contented about putting our \"egg\" this basket.

We believe that the child must love the school to perform well. DS is so optimistic that this is \"the\" school for him, that will take half the load off me to motivate him for the next 6 years! It's \"HIS CHOICE\".

My stand is that he is free to choose from RI, NUSH, HCI, NJC, ACSI :celebrate:

mjl

Like Ykiasu's son, my son also feels that NUS High is the right school for him. He is now in Year 3, and we have no regrets choosing NUS High. I have corresponded with his teachers via emails, phone and face-to-face, and I must say that most of them are very dedicated, responsible, caring and friendly.

There is a review on NUS High in this thread, written by an NUS High senior sometime last year:
                      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2309&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=270

Feel free to ask if you have any queries on NUS High.

Chengg

Ykiasu:
                        Hi Chengg, sori cant really comment on how good NUSH is.

1st time trying this school, since DS is so enthusiastic about going, I am sure this is at least a good way to start. šŸ˜‰

Furthermore, being one of the most popular DSAed school, I think we are very contented about putting our \"egg\" this basket.

We believe that the child must love the school to perform well. DS is so optimistic that this is \"the\" school for him, that will take half the load off me to motivate him for the next 6 years! It's \"HIS CHOICE\".

My stand is that he is free to choose from RI, NUSH, HCI, NJC, ACSI :celebrate:
                        Hi Ykiasu,

True, he must like it, RI I heard quite stressful, my son is the easily stressed type aiya, so I must watch out for him, but thanks much for your advice!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 48 / 596

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo