NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)
Guthix:
my son, together with RIHCI[/quote]Congrats Guthix :congrats: :celebrate: to you and to your sonFor_Pr 2010:
[quote=\"Ykiasu\"]I just got it. Thanks for update guys :celebrate:
Do you know of anyone who got CO from \"both\" NUS High andRI/HCI/ RGS? Just curious... -
Cheers_for_Kids:
Yes, my son got offers from RI, HCI and NUS High.
Congratulation Cheers_for_Kids :congrats: :celebrate: -
Anyone can advise where to buy NUSH uniform?
Abit Kiasu lah but dun want to last minute rush since son so sure
he wants to go NUSH
Anyway this website all about KSP right
The uniforms can be bought from the school shop or the vendor
In-Trend Uniforms
471 (2nd Floor) Geylang Road (opp Lor 24)
Tel:67410930 -
Thanks a million dckbsg :thankyou:
Ykiasu:
Hi Ykiasu,My DS got CO from NUSH. Gave up 2nd round at RI becos clashed with NUSH camp.
Base on hearsay, the child needs to be all-rounded to survive in RI. Maths, Science, Humanities, Languages as well as CCAs.
We are quite sure that DS will be struggling if he goes RI, he cannot multi-task and doesn't work well under pressure.
Furthermore, he's really looking forward to going NUSH which we think is a wonderful school too. We are all happy with the outcome
Yes, I heard about only the multi-taskers can survive in RI, my son got dsa to NUSH, you said you think NUSH is good..I am not too sure about it, we just applied as DS really wants to go there, can give more information or feedback abt it? :? -
Hi Chengg, sori cant really comment on how good NUSH is.
1st time trying this school, since DS is so enthusiastic about going, I am sure this is at least a good way to start.
Furthermore, being one of the most popular DSAed school, I think we are very contented about putting our \"egg\" this basket.
We believe that the child must love the school to perform well. DS is so optimistic that this is \"the\" school for him, that will take half the load off me to motivate him for the next 6 years! It's \"HIS CHOICE\".
My stand is that he is free to choose from RI, NUSH, HCI, NJC, ACSI :celebrate: -
Like Ykiasu's son, my son also feels that NUS High is the right school for him. He is now in Year 3, and we have no regrets choosing NUS High. I have corresponded with his teachers via emails, phone and face-to-face, and I must say that most of them are very dedicated, responsible, caring and friendly.
There is a review on NUS High in this thread, written by an NUS High senior sometime last year:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2309&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=270
Feel free to ask if you have any queries on NUS High. -
Ykiasu:
Hi Ykiasu,Hi Chengg, sori cant really comment on how good NUSH is.
1st time trying this school, since DS is so enthusiastic about going, I am sure this is at least a good way to start.
Furthermore, being one of the most popular DSAed school, I think we are very contented about putting our \"egg\" this basket.
We believe that the child must love the school to perform well. DS is so optimistic that this is \"the\" school for him, that will take half the load off me to motivate him for the next 6 years! It's \"HIS CHOICE\".
My stand is that he is free to choose from RI, NUSH, HCI, NJC, ACSI :celebrate:
True, he must like it, RI I heard quite stressful, my son is the easily stressed type aiya, so I must watch out for him, but thanks much for your advice! -
Hey all parents!
I'm a NUS High school student, currently in year 4. I came across this thread by chance while doing research for English, and I thought I could contribute by sharing some of my NUS high experience. Since the DSA phase is over (I believe) I shall just share about how the school actually works, and what your Child expect if your child make it into this school.
School work
Even though our school still retains the \"modular system\" where subjects are broken down into individual modules, however the way the modules are organised starts to resemble mainstream schools more. Previously, a semester could have more than 1 module for the subject, for example 2 math modules for 1 semester, but now they tend to lump all of the content into one module. This has both its pros and its cons. The CAP is calculated by sum of the numerical equivalent of the grades of various subjects, multiplied by the hours of lesson each week, then divided by total lesson time. The average cap for the first 2 years should be around 4 out of 5.
Homework is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT in NUSH, as the grades are 60% CA and 40% SA, normally. The distribution of the CA varies from module to module, but an example would be:
30% Assignments
30% Tests/Quiz
10% Project
10% practicals
5% File checks
5% Class participation
for the first two years teachers are normally quite lenient on late submission, but they will get stricter as you go up the levels. Of course if you know you'll be really busy during a certain timeslot and may hand up work late it's best to ask the teacher for an extension. Teachers are normally very kind and flexible towards such requests. However, if there are no alternatives, then REFERENCING of homework from friends is encouraged
just don't make it too obvious.
It should be noted that term tests are important, and so are quizes. Effort should be put it to ensure good performance. As for Class Participation and File Checks they are like free marks and it's important as it may mean the difference between grades.
Many parents, could be concerned about the supposed emphasis towards math and the Sciences. This is not really true. A school week of the typical year 1 and 2 would comprise of 6 hours of languages, around 6 hours of science, 4 hours of Math, 2-3 hours of the Da Vinci program and 2 hours of Integrated Humanities, with one and a half hours of PE.
The humanities system has changed quite a lot since my batch (2007). In my time we were made to choose what humanities to take out of History, Geography, Art, Music and Literature. In the 2 years we had to fulfill at least 4 hours of humanities per week per term. Now, the first three semesters are spent on IH, which is a mix of both Geog and History, with the option to do art and music in year 2. I believe this is quite slack as compared to my batch, which had to do at least 4 hours of humanities in our time. However, the Humans system may change next year. I'm not too sure about that.
I'm aware that most are drawn towards NUSH for its policy of acceleration. Most students are NOT able to accelerate in any subject. Most accelerate math, but even so those who accelerate number less than 5 in any cohort. Besides, it would be better for one to concentrate on keeping a high CAP, as that is what universities will look at when it comes to university applications.
DAILY LIFE IN NUS HIGH
This will probably concern your child more than you. How is life in NUS high like?
A normal day in NUS high will begin at 745 in the morning. The starting time may be pushed back for special days such as Teachers day, Speech day, etc... However, many students live in the east side of singapore, so they may have to leave house as early as 6 just to reach school in time. However there's the school bus service which is very convinient. This has never been an issue for me though, as i live just 5 minutes away from the school. In year 5, it is compulsory for the students to live in the hostel, which is based in the school compound. Hostel life is apparently fun. I cannot comment much since I've never stayed in hostel (next year's my year!)
After flag raising, lessons would proceed. Most lessons last for either one or two hours, followed by a half hour break for recess or one hour break. Students may occasionally get longer breaks if they do not have a lesson during that time slot. I've had 5 hour breaks before. However most of such long breaks have been eliminated already, which often results in really short days. For year 1&2s lesson may end as early as 10. However, you're only allowed to leave after 1300 due to prevalent school policy.
One common complaint of the students this year is that the canteen food is horrible, however that is being worked upon.
However, parents should take into account the gender imbalance. In this year's year 1 cohort, there are a total of 33 girls in an intake of 150+. This may lead to several girls, especially those from single-sex schools to feel uncomfortable with the highly masculine environment. There are also many foreigners in the school, but this is actually quite a blessing as it gives a very cosmopolitan feel to the school.
CCA is compulsory in NUSH. CCA times are on Monday and Fridays only.
I'm not sure as to what more I could say about NUSH. If you do have any questions you could always contact me at [email protected] and i'll do my best to help you out!
hope this helped
~Botak
If you do have any question
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.