Property Views
not so many private property owners affected la,... some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ?
at least not enough to make someone rewrite this policy?
trying to be pro-Singaporean here -
I think one plus point is that this policy will keep wealthy \"Foreign Talent\" with nice big houses back home away from our HDB flats. right? -
DesertWind:
good pointBuy HDB then sell off the \"worthless\" private property within 6 months! OK what!
By the way, I think it is really true that owning a HDB now is very valuable, in consideration of the MEDICAL SUBSIDY nowadays in government hospital whereby means-testing and determination of how much subsidy you get is based on your HOUSE ADDRESS! From my latest experience (unfortunately), my parent stay in a HDB 4-room hence have full subsidy during hospitalization which cuts down the bill size by 75%. That is a lot of money!
Agree that not all private home-owners are cash-rich, that is why I am all for such owners to sell their private properties and stay in HDB flats especially upon their retirement. Imagine when you are old and need medical help you stay in private no medical subsidy - HOW? Even if you have a lot of money you also don't want to pay medical fees right? Rather leave it to the next generation. Therefore conserve the cash, after all upon retirement, no further monthly income, stay in HDB enjoy ALL as much subsidies and freebies as you can get from our good gahmen.
We are citizens so enjoy our priviledges to the fullest!
:celebrate:verykiasu2010:
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ?
but if really got so much money as highlighted above, no complain lah....quietly sell the valuable private ppty to downgrade to HDB, \"keng gao liao\".....and push up HDB prices again (because got lots of cash to pay COV,need no bargaining, cheong for the choice unit resale flat)
the problem is, not every private ppty is valuable, really, go around and see -
dunnoleh:
I also VERY pro-Singaporean citizen hor
not so many private property owners affected la,verykiasu2010:
... some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ?
at least not enough to make someone rewrite this policy?
trying to be pro-Singaporean here -
I think one plus point is that this policy will keep wealthy \"Foreign Talent\" with nice big houses back home away from our HDB flats. right?
esp those who are retrenched and retired with no income, thinking of using the old private property to rent out for income / sustenance while live in HDB flat...but now some smart alec in HDB caused them more hardship....and these are true blue citizens, given their youth in serving the country till retirement and now no income, even forced to sell away an income generating asset when buying HDB flat...while those HDB flat owners can buy spanking new condo to invest for rental income while earning another income in full time job....not fair right ?
as for the rich FT, they where got want to buy HDB ? all buying GCB or nice big condo in D 9, 10, 11 and Marina Bay and Sentosa
those not so rich FW buying resale also bargain to the last cent...where got ability to push COV ? those study mama got so much money meh ? -
but why cannot like the HDB owner - hoard the HDB first, then rent out private ppty leh ? why force people to sell an income generating asset and don't force HDB owner to sell also income generating asset ?......
Hi Hi,
Sorry for my ignorant but under new policy, can I buy HDB, sell off my private prop. within 6 months (which means effectively I only have HDB in meantime). Then after some time, buy private property again to generate passive income?
:? -
DesertWind:
canverykiasu2010:
but why cannot like the HDB owner - hoard the HDB first, then rent out private ppty leh ? why force people to sell an income generating asset and don't force HDB owner to sell also income generating asset ?......
Hi Hi,
Sorry for my ignorant but under new policy, can I buy HDB, sell off my private prop. within 6 months (which means effectively I only have HDB in meantime). Then after some time, buy private property again to generate passive income?
:?
but you will lose the opportunity in that 5 years of MOP
by then private ppty escalate until don know where liao ? fair ? while the existing HDB owner holding on to the private ppty and laughing all the way to the bank......hope you see the inequity here
if you want to have a policy, it has to be balanced on both sides, especially when it deals with large amount of blood and sweat money of citizens....eg you force someone to sell the private ppty for S$800k now, you expect him to buy back 5 years later at S$800k still ? siao!!! -
I do not disagree with your point, but this won't change unless it is or become \"important\" enough....I also VERY pro-Singaporean citizen hor
esp those who are retrenched and retired with no income, thinking of using the old private property to rent out for income / sustenance while live in HDB flat...but now some smart alec in HDB caused them more hardship....and these are true blue citizens, given their youth in serving the country till retirement and now no income, even forced to sell away an income generating asset when buying HDB flat...while those HDB flat owners can buy spanking new condo to invest for rental income while earning another income in full time job....not fair right ?
as for the rich FT, they where got want to buy HDB ? all buying GCB or nice big condo in D 9, 10, 11 and Marina Bay and Sentosa
those not so rich FW buying resale also bargain to the last cent...where got ability to push COV ? those study mama got so much money meh ?
meanwhile, what to do?
About FT, I was referring only to those who are wealthy;
they are the ones who should be kept away from HDB flats, (we all know what a handful of rich boys can do in an auction room, right?)
but should be most welcomed to buy expensive houses here.
Many are ordinary folks, without expensive houses back home.
They come here and work very hard.
Should they be given a chance to a HDB flat? I think yes.
In some ways, they are a bit like our fore-fathers. tio bo? -
[quote]eh, not true hor
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh [/quote]
I used to admire your analytical skills until now.....pls refrain from personal attacks. I am residing in HDB, I don't have $$$ to buy pte ppty though I wish I can, you don't have to curse me.
I think the new rules must have hit you really hard, that's why you are very defensive and emotional. -
deleted... sorry double post :imsorry:
[quote]but you will lose the opportunity in that 5 years of MOP
by then private ppty escalate until don know where liao ? fair ? while the existing HDB owner holding on to the private ppty and laughing all the way to the bank......hope you see the inequity here
if you want to have a policy, it has to be balanced on both sides, especially when it deals with large amount of blood and sweat money of citizens....eg you force someone to sell the private ppty for S$800k now, you expect him to buy back 5 years later at S$800k still ? siao!!![/quote]All ups & down are cycles repeating themselves. We saw peak in 96/97. We also see peak before Aug 30. I am not expert in ppty but I think prices keep going up. Though you can't buy at 800K later, maybe you buy at 1 mil but sell 1.2 mil?
Our parents' time, 3-room flat (considered luxury then) cost $50K. How much is 3 room flat now? Though we can't buy at prices then, 15 yrs ago, flats cost around $150K compared with now $300K. What I am trying to say is price will sure go up. And if you buy at more than you have sold, when you evetually sell your \"newly bought\", the price will be higher than you bought. -
some private property owner are poor ...why HDB so heartless suddenly ? ......
Calm down calm down ... Every one knows this is one sided favoring hdb...u can't blame the ministry that builds hdb giving out a policy that favors hdb, can u ?
Seriously, ur case is not the majority lah! Appeal to MBT lor.
.... And dun worry, in a few yrs time when the market crashes, policies can be reversed one 8). Now take this opportunity to fish for desperate sellers :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.