Property Views
caroline3sg:
[quote]eh, not true hor
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh
I used to admire your analytical skills until now.....pls refrain from personal attacks. I am residing in HDB, I don't have $$$ to buy pte ppty though I wish I can, you don't have to curse me.
I think the new rules must have hit you really hard, that's why you are very defensive and emotional.[/quote]SORRY hor
no intention of any cursing to anyone nor personal attack hor. aren't we ll growing old and one day we will be old people living such property soon?
the new rules do not hurt me at all in ppty purchase, and neither am i in debt
just that everyone is jumping in the bangwagon to applaud the new rule without thinking the real implication of those voiceless retirees with no income out there living in old private property looking for opportunity to upgrade to HDB or get some rental income from the old property which nobody wants to enbloc too..
ya, it is good to please the majority, but there is no need to hurt the silent minority, and this is one rule that does not need to purposely take a person out for 5 years
emotional ? who is going to speak up and defend the defenceless ? think!
still thinking all private ppty are rich ? -
sleepy:
canverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"DesertWind\"]
Hi Hi,
Sorry for my ignorant but under new policy, can I buy HDB, sell off my private prop. within 6 months (which means effectively I only have HDB in meantime). Then after some time, buy private property again to generate passive income?
:?
but you will lose the opportunity in that 5 years of MOP
by then private ppty escalate until don know where liao ? fair ? while the existing HDB owner holding on to the private ppty and laughing all the way to the bank......hope you see the inequity here
if you want to have a policy, it has to be balanced on both sides, especially when it deals with large amount of blood and sweat money of citizens....eg you force someone to sell the private ppty for S$800k now, you expect him to buy back 5 years later at S$800k still ? siao!!!
Were you planning to buy a HDB flat, before the new rule kicks in?
If you are an existing flat owner with private properties, no impact right?
Although cannot buy more private properties until you satisfy MOP but meantime still can hold on to existing private properties to collect rental[/quote]no intention of buying, don't want all the hassles and rules of HDB ownership, but when the glut in condo happens in a few years down the road, that will be buying opportunities to get some units for the kids, meanwhile just hold cash
just speaking up when everyone is echoing good good good without thinking for the old people caught in the rule change -
toddles:
i 'like' your mentality
if one inherited the run down walk up apt, then one never even forked out money to buy? then whatever one sells for is 100% pure profit? inheritance mah. not even negative equity.verykiasu2010:
eh, not true hor
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ?
say i buy from u cheap cheap lor, say 50% discount to market price can ? still 100% profit to you wat .......(think before your write lah!) -
well well well
thank you all for a "heated" and lively discussions
at least this has made some (if not all) to think of the hardship cases caused by the rule change
hope that you all realise that not all private ppty owners are rich, and some HDB owners are really rich
for rich people, flipping private property is one of the ways to make more money quickly, why waste time with HDB rules and regulation, even if the MOP is one year ? and suay suay some really get caught, kena 5 years MOP instead of one year, all cash got locked upβ¦
but i would reckon such private property owners flipping HDB flats are far and few in between, even the now defunct one year MOP is too long
and finally HDB is seen to do some work with the latest rules change, not a bad thing BUT some rules are overboard -
:? :? :? :? :? :?
U say U are right...
I say I am right...
So who's wrong?
:celebrate: -
so who is wrong ? the one kena caught in the rule change, wrong timing lor
:? :? :? :? :? :?
U say U are right...
I say I am right...
So who's wrong?
actually there is no right no wrong in a sense. a regulation is an admin measure....but it could be done without unnecessarily hurting any group of people
what MBT and HDB could do is very simple : allow any private property owner who wish to purchase HDB flat must prove to move in and live in the HDB flat, and all other rules on financing limits etc must still apply as in every other case, and without requiring them to sell the private property. It will be on par with any HDB owner now owning a private property
it is not as if the whole of Singapore's private property owners are going to purchase a HDB flat.
truth be told : for anyone who has lived in private property, it is very unlikely to want to move back into HDB with all the restrictions and hassles.....cannot do this cannot do that etc...and the whole ambiance is different
those very rich multiple private property owners won't even bother to think about buying HDB. to them a few hundred $$K could earn them much higher return from the stock market and private banking transactions without all the HDB hassles. to them only the landed and freehold are worth investing in
for the average private property owners, they probably own a landed and some condo, or a few high end condo units, even for their children they would probably be allocated some condo unit to start life with
as someone mentioned, most of the HDB upgraders will need to sell the HDB when it is time to collect keys for the condo.....
my fear is that many have made the commitment for the condos in the last two years, at peak prices, and in the next one to two years, TOP for condo will come and then they will regret having to sell the HDB flat at a lower price than now....the anticipated high selling price is gone, and hence a higher loan amount will be needed...it will be a case of \"buy high sell low\". and those who marginally was able to afford such upgrading will be most affected, some may not even be able to bridge the gap due to the lower selling price of their HDB flat as a result of the recent new rules.
the only group of people who will benefit is those waiting to purchase their first flat (I wonder how many in reality, as the demand for HDB new flats are also fuled by many who are existing HDB flat owners wishing to take a second bite of the cherry)....at the expense of all the rest of the existing HDB flat owners as the expected valuation of HDB flats will drop due to lower COV, resulting in lower transacted price....and if the economy is bad, it could be a negative spiral price down like in the period after 1998...(many exec flats were selling below valuation, begging for buyers)
the real losers are existing HDB flats owners who will see their value drop -
is this a heated debate as someone claimed ?
nay !
I am just continuously throwing out rebuttals to draw out responses to gauge how people think ...(so wicked!!)
Lest you people think that I stay up all nite to write responses ..... lol.... I am now at a place where the time zone is 1.45pm
I am not interested in getting another HDB property ever since I sold mine in year 2000 at the highest price ever recorded for that estate for that flat type. I will be tempted when the condo price dipped or some landed ppty price dropped -
we were checking out hdb flats before the announcement cos we find them attractive in terms of benefits, value and location (maybe
truth be told : for anyone who has lived in private property, it is very unlikely to want to move back into HDB with all the restrictions and hassles.....cannot do this cannot do that etc...and the whole ambiance is different
the real losers are existing HDB flats owners who will see their value drop
). dont think i would have a problem living in hdb cos' had stayed in one for nearly 20 years. hassles and restrictions :? cant think of any at this moment.
will the value drop? i dont think so.
cheers. -
good for you.
we were checking out hdb flats before the announcement cos we find them attractive in terms of benefits, value and location (maybeverykiasu2010:
the real losers are existing HDB flats owners who will see their value drop
). dont think i would have a problem living in hdb cos' had stayed in one for nearly 20 years. hassles and restrictions :? cant think of any at this moment.
will the value drop? i dont think so.
cheers.
do be aware that COV will drop as everyone is cautiously waiting and those with time limit to sell will grab any buyer that comes along as the condo key is ready and the bridging loan period is ending ..... there will be people caught in such situation
recently for Queenstown Exec flat, used to call for S$100k COV, it has now moderated
hassles and restrictions : check out the reno requirements, what can be done, cannot be done, false ceiling limits, aircond power consumption limits, platform restriction etc etc....ya, now can do concealed wiring, last time cannot -
yuks, i remember the unconcealed wiring :shock:
am moving into my small pte apt end of the year but it has UNCONCEALED WIRING..................

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.