Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
    • DesertWindD Offline
      DesertWind

Agree.

:goodpost:

fionong:
      ** Without Prejudice **

Perhaps my point of view are different from others.

I agreed there are maids who are here for an eye opening or have fun however there are also maids who are here to work hard for their families. If our maid is a self-discipline person, I see no reason why she cannot chit chat with other maids. This also depend on the bonding and trust. My maid will always share with me what other maids told her.

Well.... I totally agree that the maid shouldn't step out of the house without any reason. But if she need to go marketing or send our kids to school, do you forbid her from talking to other maids ? If I put myself in her shoes, I will not stop her from talking to other maids and if your maid is a self-discipline person I don't think she dare to chit chat with other maids during your presence. I feel that everyone needs friends, someone to share our happiness or pour out our woes. Even we can get emotional sometime and so do they but who can they speak to ? I don't think by letting them calling their family once a month for merely 30mins to 1hrs are enough for them to pour out their heart.

Frankly speaking, we are also afraid that our maid will gossip with others about our family affair. There a saying \"Don't wash dirty linen in the public\". But we can only refrain them from doing so but we can't stop them. Sometime we also gossip with others about our maids.....so vice versa. I find that locking the maid at home will only make her more emotional and might lead to her create havoc in your house. Because she got no one to speak to heartedly therefore she outburst.

Kindness beget kindness. :celebrate:

moonee

DesertWind:
        Agree.

:goodpost:

fionong:

** Without Prejudice **

Perhaps my point of view are different from others.

I agreed there are maids who are here for an eye opening or have fun however there are also maids who are here to work hard for their families. If our maid is a self-discipline person, I see no reason why she cannot chit chat with other maids. This also depend on the bonding and trust. My maid will always share with me what other maids told her.

Well.... I totally agree that the maid shouldn't step out of the house without any reason. But if she need to go marketing or send our kids to school, do you forbid her from talking to other maids ? If I put myself in her shoes, I will not stop her from talking to other maids and if your maid is a self-discipline person I don't think she dare to chit chat with other maids during your presence. I feel that everyone needs friends, someone to share our happiness or pour out our woes. Even we can get emotional sometime and so do they but who can they speak to ? I don't think by letting them calling their family once a month for merely 30mins to 1hrs are enough for them to pour out their heart.

Frankly speaking, we are also afraid that our maid will gossip with others about our family affair. There a saying \"Don't wash dirty linen in the public\". But we can only refrain them from doing so but we can't stop them. Sometime we also gossip with others about our maids.....so vice versa. I find that locking the maid at home will only make her more emotional and might lead to her create havoc in your house. Because she got no one to speak to heartedly therefore she outburst.

Kindness beget kindness. :celebrate:

I would say....\"different strokes for different folks\" In my case, my past and present maid/maids woudl definitely be a better person if they were locked up. :lol:

My maids are never locked up in that sense. When we go out, she goes along. She will then have chances to chat with others.

As for talking about our family affairs, we can't stop them. There's nothing we can do about it.

I had a maid who washed my car while having another maid's company. That maid stayed on 3rd floor and so they had to shout to be heard. I was pissed because my maid's voice could be heard.

The one and only maid who didn't gossip with others was my first maid. She doesn't want to mix with others because they brainwash her and ask about my family and teach her to complain and compare. She is the one maid who is the most sensible I've ever had. :love:

hquek

Weighing on the issue of chit chat, I agree it’s impossible for us to control the maid until she cannot speak with others - such a maid may think we’re stupid to try.

My maid don’t have to do marketing etc but she did have a friend from downstairs with whom she’ll chat. I find it ok as long as that friend don’t come into the house.

We need to chat with others to relieve pressure, to offload stuff. I rather have one that chat (don’t have to tell me what they talk about) than one who quietly turns crazy.

My ex-maid, I thought she didn’t have friends. Somehow she manage to chat with next door maid when she hangs clothes outside…they have ways and means to chat if they want to.

Weighing on the issue of chit chat, I agree it's impossible for us to control the maid until she cannot speak with others - such a maid may think we're stupid to try.

We need to chat with others to relieve pressure, to offload stuff. I rather have one that chat (don't have to tell me what they talk about) than one who quietly turns crazy.
              I'm not against them chatting...they are humans too. But as long as they do so nicely like not shouting across and hogging the handphone, I'm fine.

hquek

Weighing on the issue of chit chat, I agree it's impossible for us to control the maid until she cannot speak with others - such a maid may think we're stupid to try.

We need to chat with others to relieve pressure, to offload stuff. I rather have one that chat (don't have to tell me what they talk about) than one who quietly turns crazy.

I'm not against them chatting...they are humans too. But as long as they do so nicely like not shouting across and hogging the handphone, I'm fine.

Agree, I think the shouting part is a bit OTT. Very funny to watch also.

I've not seen my maid in action, but she would have been talking diagonally downwards 1/2 floors. Not sure if they use sign language or something, but I don't think it's very loud type.

Yes, really shouting. She was washing the car and shouting to another maid 3 floors up. That ex-maid has simply no manners too. She walked into my room without knocking and I had to give her lessons on manners. :x

I observed her washing car in the beginning. Shouldn’t be an issue at all, I thought. Then suddenly she spotted another maid upstairs and started to make friends. When I go downstairs to see her wash the car, that other maid will disappear suddenly to prewarn my maid I’m approaching.
                  It’s ok to chat but not shout lah. The neighbourhood is quiet during the day and yet my maid is shouting. So embarrassing.

hquek

Yes, really shouting. She was washing the car and shouting to another maid 3 floors up. That ex-maid has simply no manners too. She walked into my room without knocking and I had to give her lessons on manners. :x
                    Oh dear....that must have been bad. Wonder if anyone thought someone was quarelling with all the loud noises. 😛

Yah, I heard of one maid who was unabashed about walking into the employer's bedroom even when employers were sleeping...wah lau, if got action how? Buey paiseh.

Oh dear....that must have been bad. Wonder if anyone thought someone was quarelling with all the loud noises. 😛

Yah, I heard of one maid who was unabashed about walking into the employer's bedroom even when employers were sleeping...wah lau, if got action how? Buey paiseh.

Yes, it was so embarrassing when my neighbour told me. I went downstairs quietly from another lift so that the other maid couldn't see me. The both of them were talking so loudly. :x

limlim

Err.. you don't lock the door one ar..? :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 299 / 1032