How do you plan to grow your nest egg ?? :)
But ... issue is US is very big. Which place to buy :?
yalor, afterwards I buy boston but son end up in berkeley how? :rotflmao:
aiyah, buy all of the Boston, Berkeley, Princeton, Stamford, Harvard.Cornel, UIUC......lah.... -
Yeah, we parents can certainly dream, can't we?
Yah I was thinking of that too. In Boston, got MIT and Harvard... Scarly go Princeton???? Then how????markfch:
yalor, afterwards I buy boston but son end up in berkeley how? :rotflmao:
But latest ranking puts cambridge as no. 1 uni leh, how? keke -
Actually it's not a bad idea to buy ppty in US now. It won't go wrong if you buy one in Boston or San Fran where most good schools are. Even if your kids don't end up studying in that city, you're still somewhat hedged, assuming the place you bought follows the general market. Of course unless you bought somewhere like Detroit

minnie2004:
Actually it's not a bad idea to buy ppty in US now. It won't go wrong if you buy one in Boston or San Fran where most good schools are. Even if your kids don't end up studying in that city, you're still somewhat hedged, assuming the place you bought follows the general market. Of course unless you bought somewhere like Detroit

agree...
but the US ppty if in good location, still not cheap to buy, i guess :? -
aiyah, kiasuparents, some buy in San Fran, some in NY, Boston, etc etc make sure every city where Ivy league uni is covered…then swap later lor…or at least position is hedged
a colleague just bought a Miami penthouse for a penny…US$120k only … 1/6 of the original price…yearly rental income is 20k…
may be the choice ones in Manhattan all grabbed by the PRC liao …CNN last time featured the whole plane load descended into NY to buy apartments … also hedging for their kids’ education -
HyperKiasu:
if willing to commute for an hour from the city centre of the top 5 cities, still no expensive...other than the top 5, not very expensive....so many foreclosure salesminnie2004:

agree...
HyperKiasu:
This point is very true. My company has presence in princeton area and the houses around there during downtown is still expensive and my colleagues were telling me that the prices still hold.minnie2004:

agree...
wow, penthouse is cheaper than our HDB 3rm flat.....aiyah, kiasuparents, some buy in San Fran, some in NY, Boston, etc etc make sure every city where Ivy league uni is covered.......then swap later lor....or at least position is hedged
a colleague just bought a Miami penthouse for a penny.....US$120k only ..... 1/6 of the original price....yearly rental income is 20k.....
may be the choice ones in Manhattan all grabbed by the PRC liao .....CNN last time featured the whole plane load descended into NY to buy apartments ..... also hedging for their kids' education
haiz, little wonder many friends choose to migrate....
but 1/6 of original price is really a good bargain....whenever and wherever there is a boat, i always miss...haiz....
but PRC è´æˆ¿å›¢ empty-handed back, i read some report...maybe that is different è´æˆ¿å›¢ to different places... -
for those who are thinking of sending the kids to the US for uni studies, it may be a good time to look into buying some ppty in the US now, it has become very very cheap since the banking crisis.....and after the kids have graduated, can still keep to stay if they work in the US, or sell then after the capital appreciation.....US$ now is about 1.35 ??
today 1.3338 (yahoo converter's price. perhaps mid price)
anyway, this is record low rate....MAS said it will step in to buy up US$...if it drops to below 1.34...?? -
HyperKiasu:
HSBC estimates the exchange rate will reach 1.29 by this year-end. They may be wrong of course. Guess by the time my kids go colleage, it is likely to reach 1.0 Then it is better not to buy US property now?verykiasu2010:
for those who are thinking of sending the kids to the US for uni studies, it may be a good time to look into buying some ppty in the US now, it has become very very cheap since the banking crisis.....and after the kids have graduated, can still keep to stay if they work in the US, or sell then after the capital appreciation.....US$ now is about 1.35 ??
today 1.3338 (yahoo converter's price. perhaps mid price)
anyway, this is record low rate....MAS said it will step in to buy up US$...if it drops to below 1.34...??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.