2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take

3.1k Posts 327 Posters 904.5k Views 1 Watching
      alng

mummy of 3:
      alng:

It is my turn to register DS2 next year. I have a smooth registration for DD1 in a girls' school as I am an alumus. But now, I am going through the same stress of most parents. 😞

So which sch u intend to put ur DS2?

I am considering Nanhua or Rulang but both schools are pressure cookers. 😞

• qmsQ Offline
        qms

What you're asking is not just a little help hor. What you're asking is altruism of the purest kind. Sacrificing my kid's perceived future for your kid's.

wa piang, your expectation very high leh 😉 😉
        Me? Not me.

I was only responding to mummy of 3's comments that all parents will help each other here. So, my reply was \"to a certain extent\" lor. Not right meh, markfch? :scratchhead:

siaokia

Hi all, I am a newbie here and I would like to ask your opnion on whether I should give up a phase 2A place in CHIJ Katong to go for balloting in phase 2b for St Nicks? I am living within 1 km of St Nicks. Big dilemma.

dorisp

mummy of 3:
            dorisp:

For me it is waiting anxiously for the school to accept me as PV.............. :lol:

Which sch did u apply?

I applied for Maris Stella. 😄

mummy of 3

siaokia:
              Hi all, I am a newbie here and I would like to ask your opnion on whether I should give up a phase 2A place in CHIJ Katong to go for balloting in phase 2b for St Nicks? I am living within 1 km of St Nicks. Big dilemma.

St Nicks will need to ballot with in 1km at P2B and P2C.. Maybe u want to give a risk but do consider carefully. Or else :stupid:

alng

siaokia:

I would suggest you register and secure a place in CHIJ Katong under phase 2A first and then observe the situation at St Nicks before deciding whether to give up CHIJ Katong and register in St Nicks under phase 2B.

jogoh

Hi, I am too a super newbie here and I am keen to find out which schools are strong at arts and also "character" development…Any info would be very much appreciated. Our kid is not a super brilliant one so we would like to avoid schools which place too much importance at academic performance…

BTW we live near Bishan so the current "choices" (within 1-2km) that we have are Ai Tong, Kuo Chuan, Marymount Convent and Kheng Cheng.

Thanks

markfch

Me? Not me.

I was only responding to mummy of 3's comments that all parents will help each other here. So, my reply was \"to a certain extent\" lor. Not right meh, markfch? :scratchhead:
                    Haha, I know. I was just pulling your leg :lol:

[quote=\"mummy of 3\"]Yes, i know. Bcos all the parents here will help each other, right? :lol:

Only to a certain extent. Try asking one parent whose child has a place in a highly coveted school to give up the place to your child. 😉

hey qms,
                      What you're asking is not just a little help hor. What you're asking is altruism of the purest kind. Sacrificing my kid's perceived future for your kid's.

wa piang, your expectation very high leh 😉 😉[/quote]after re-reading this.....now I got it. markfch is a sacrificial person who can give up his son's place to another person. that is why people have such high expectation of him...MOE could later name him Saint Mark. Right, qms & mark ?

mrswongtuition

jogoh:
                        Hi, I am too a super newbie here and I am keen to find out which schools are strong at arts and also \"character\" development...Any info would be very much appreciated. Our kid is not a super brilliant one so we would like to avoid schools which place too much importance at academic performance....

BTW we live near Bishan so the current \"choices\" (within 1-2km) that we have are Ai Tong, Kuo Chuan, Marymount Convent and Kheng Cheng.

Thanks
                        PLMGS is strong in arts and character development. They are the Centre of Excellence for Performing Arts. They have a large variety of CCA related to performing arts (guzheng, string ensemble, angklung, choir, dance, skipping, guitar, etc etc). I'm not too sure about now, but the past 5 years, their compulsory music instruments where things like guitar & violin (as compared to recorder in most other schools).
                        It's near enough to travel there by bus/car but I'm not sure of your chances of enrolling your girl into the school (I assume is girl cos you mentioned Marymount Convent as one of your possibilities).
                        Plus point about PL: They have affiliated Secondary school, so don't worry too much about the academic performance if you are not stressing your girl into IP program.

If not, I think Marymount Convent would be a good choice (might be easier for you to enrol there).

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 311