Travel: Australia - Gold Coast

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    580 Posts 113 Posters 380.9k Views 1 Watching
      caroline3sg

Hi penglee

Thank you for the link & info.

If we can cuddle koala & take picture and see sheep shearing in Dreamworld, then will forego Paradise Country and go for Catch a crab cruise & neighbour Oyster Farm.

Can’t finish all these optional tours in 2 free days. Do you think Paradise is better than Dreamworld? Currumbin Wildlife is included in package.

By the way, what is the difference in adult & kids meal on Qantas?

penglee

hi Caroline,

if you have to make choice, we prefer Paradise (our children are younger).
        We like Paradise more :
        - close interaction with Koala/Kangaroos, and the best part is the nursery
        http://i892.photobucket.com/albums/ac124/penglee1/201009GoldCoast/DSC_8709.jpg\">

DreamWorld - ticket is much more expensive
        - we thought Dream appeals more to teenagers and adults(although children can play rides too)
        - we believe you can see most rides in Movie and SeaWorld (maybe we are numb to more rides after Movie and Sea?)

Try facebook Dreamworld for more hints.
        --> http://www.facebook.com/dreamworld?v=info

You have two more months to make a decision.
        ** wait for my Dream World blog 😛

caroline3sg

penglee

Thank you. Okay Paradise is in.

Actually I also have the same thinking that we have been to many rides (Aug Berjaya Times Square, Sep Sunway Lagoon, coming Nov Genting), we may forego Dreamworld but it has Sponge Bob / Square Pants, this is the highlight (I have surfed its park map yesterday).

Yes, much awaiting for your blog on Dreamworld.

Mummy Of 1

Personally I prefer winter too, went june this year. fantastic weather…Tried the catch-a-crab cruise. Good experience for kids. My 7 yrs old loves it! .

Mummyprincess

Cant wait to go tis coming Nov... Catch-a-crab cruise sounds interesting .... luckily its included in my package tour. 😄

• O Offline
                Okosbaba

I went with a three year old (all by myself) hubby abandoned me due to some work issues….

I also went in Winter but the bottom end of winter, AUG.. which I think is the best time to go. To gauge ALWAYS go after the EKKA (Royal Easter Show when the country comes to the city.. it’s a big country FAIR in Brisbane). Queenslanders will attest to this that they know its summer when the Ekka has past!... For some strange reason the weather improves tenfold.

So DS and I stayed the newly renovated Sea World Nara Resort (attached to sea world). We also went through http://www.myfun.com.au to get a 3 park in one pass. They have various seasonal deals on, when we went we had $69.00 AUD unlimited visits for Movie World, SeaWorld and Wet & Wild for 6 months. My son is far too young and the weather wasn’t exactly warm (the Singapore kind we used to) to allow him to swim. Also note that the swimming pool in the SeaWorld Nara Resort is not filled between April and September. But if you are going for other than swimming than of course August is still a good time to go. This summer they have a new attraction for the SeaWorld pools it was still under construction when we were there but it looks awsome! They have a kids club where you can pay and leave your children for upto 3 hours. Though I went there with my son and stayed with him it cost about 12 or so AUD per hour....

Lobang for local address: I spent very little and stayed for 3 nights for $99.00 AUD per night @ Sea World. (they have local specials and I have a family member who lives in QLD so I just used their mailing address) ..
                We hated Dreamworld, its too old and run down for small kids The Wiggles world was so bad that my son started crying and asking to go back to Movie World. If you have kids that are 10 or around that age they can enjoy a lot of the attraction the little ones can’t ride so it depends on your family situation. As for the Zoo you are better off driving to Alma Park Zoo or Australia Zoo (Steve Erwin)

We hired a car from Thrifty, at the airport (only a small car as there was the two of us) Please be mindful all children under the age of 4 must be in a child seat. EVEN THE TAXI won’t pick you up if you don’t have a child seat! So take one along from Singapore or hire one. .. Its illegal to drive without one the fine is $180.00 AUD +. I think the rule goes that all children under 7 must also be in the booster seat.. so do check with the Queensland Transport before you go.

Lobang. DO NOT BUY A TICKET FOR OUTBACK SPECTECULAR through My fun. I didn’t end up getting tickets and once we checked in at the hotel the concierge told me that as a guest of the Sea world resort I can have 50% off the listed price if I go from the resort. They charge $20.00 per head to drive you there in a minibus, even small kids have to pay. Taxi is far too expensive so it was lucky and a whole lot cheaper to drive! As DS is only 3 I could also go back to the hotel in the middle of the day when he fallen asleep. Also in Movie World they come around at lunchtime wearing billboards selling off any tickets that were not taken at 50% discount so you don’t have to stay in SeaWorld to get the half price deal. I can really recommend the show and the food was excellent provided your kids eat Ang moh food. My son raised on good porridge was a challenge but he did manage to finish his sausages and I fed him once we returned to the hotel.
                If you have any questions you can always ask PM me ?
                HAVE A FANTASTIC TRIP! We loved it.

penglee

this Caroline runs a tour agency or works in banking industry?

Every month one trip :shock:

We did not go for crab or whale sessions.. *(maybe our kiddos too young)

caroline3sg

penglee

no lah, not boss nor in banking line.
                    checked my profile, I am in Logistics line.
                    I haven’t been to Bejaya Times Square & Sunway Lagoon so took the long weekend chance to visit lor.

For GC, I haven’t visited for 20 yrs.

Mummy Of 1

Mummyprincess:
                      Cant wait to go tis coming Nov... Catch-a-crab cruise sounds interesting .... luckily its included in my package tour. 😄

Do bring along a pair of bermuda or shorts for the catch a crab cruise as you will need to go into the water to pump yabbies..can be quite high at certain spots, went above knee for my 7 yrs old DD..

applejuz

I’ve also booked my family GC December trip during NATAS. Will be on F&E with apartment & fly by Emirates.

May I check for those booked during NATAS, have you gotten your tickets or confirmation on flight details already?

Anyone renting a vehicle there?

Thank you.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 58