Pat's Schoolhouse
crystalbelle08:
Hi crystalbelle08,
Hi MLJ,
I suggest, u go down and take a look and check with the principal.
I just understand that there is a room for the playgroup after all.
converted from a storeroom.
So maybe for yr kid who is 4 year, the nursery class, they can convert somewhere into a room also.
Went down today, not too impressed. The rooms look a bit cramp and the partitions are low. But I did not spend much time there, I went in, took a quick look and then had to rush off. Now am thinking about Eton but they are quite expensive. I am not sure if it is worth it? Have you decided on which branch to go for you child yet? -
yes mummy! in fact i did asked before and i m always being asked by neighbours we bump into on why my girl go to school without uniforms.
She has stained most of her clothes and yes i personally do not like the idea that the school does not need the children to wear uniforms. -
crystalbelle,
i probably will get the schoolbus to drop off at grandparents' place & then i pickup from there. we stay really far... so, if the ride is like 2 hours, then probably have to forget this option liao...
in fact, i was even thinking of getting a chartered taxi... i have seen some people at my workplace coming to office everyday in the same taxi so i am wondering if i can make an arrangement like that? any suggestions? :?
actually, i did ask about what the kids do in PM for PG... think it is something like: 1 to 3 pm nap and 3 to 5 pm enrichment. but most of the activity is in AM.
which makes me wonder... what if there is a half-day PM class, will kids on full-day be expected to go through the same stuff that they go through in AM? Isn't that weird? Otherwise, or PM kids are there for\"enrichment\" only?
:scratchhead: -
uniforms… yahor, my husband was asking me the same question… he was saying that kids look so cute in uniform so why dun have?
MLJ:
Hi MLJ,crystalbelle08:
Hi crystalbelle08,
Went down today, not too impressed. The rooms look a bit cramp and the partitions are low. But I did not spend much time there, I went in, took a quick look and then had to rush off. Now am thinking about Eton but they are quite expensive. I am not sure if it is worth it? Have you decided on which branch to go for you child yet?
Have decided to stay at Mt Emily for next year since there is a \"room\" for playgroup after all. Even though its converted from store room, its better than sharing the big room with the bigger kids.
Yes, that big room is indeed cramp and the partitions is low. At most shoulder level.
When my kid is promoted to nursery level next year, i will have to consider again as that open concept is not quite ideal.
Whats the fees for Eton?
Have you consider Pat's Tanglin?
Understand from fellow mummies that it is a new branch. Vacancies shldnt be an issue.
By the way, Eton has school uniform? -
DesertWind:
crystalbelle08:
Hi Pat's mummies,
My concern about the lack of school uniforms is the security concern. I guess this is part and parcel of the Pat's philosophy? When I asked, the answer is that the school issue standard school bags to the students. If you ask me, I think same school bags everywhere is worst, easily mistaken! Whereas I think the child should wear school uniform and carry unique bags easily identifiable. This is just my own opinion....
Dear Desertwind,
I agree with you. I also think no point carrying identical bags! In fact non of her classmates use that bag! I only see a couple of kids carrying the Pat's schoolbag. -
smilingmummy:
Hi Smilingmummy,yes mummy! in fact i did asked before and i m always being asked by neighbours we bump into on why my girl go to school without uniforms.
She has stained most of her clothes and yes i personally do not like the idea that the school does not need the children to wear uniforms.
I email Pat's and enquire about this.
No reply from them. Will be good if there are more mummies enquiring as they cant possibility ignore everyone.
Initially, i thought, maybe because this is a \"branded\" school, so children are exempted from wearing uniforms.
Lately i realise that even more expensive schools, like mindchamps, have uniform!
So why not Pat's.
Yes, the staining of clothes part is irritating. And ended up I have to keep buying as some of the clothes cannot be worn during weekends after the terrible stains. Somemore, I have to update the warbdrobe every now and then to avoid wearing the same old clothes.
At least, if the uniform/school T shirt is stained, i dont really mind since they only wear it to school and i believe most kids will have stained uniforms due to the way they gobble the food and the art work they do.
Same here. I have to always answer the same question as to where my kid is schooling now. And some neighbours actually forget and they will ask again and again. :roll:
If the school really wants the students to wear home clothes, they can perhaps have a No-Uniform-Day every Friday or during festivals like CNY, Mooncake festivals, Childrens' day, the children can wear their home clothes.
In fact, during their school outing, as they have no school uniform, the children are asked to wear a particular color.
Is it the same in your school? -
uniforms
i was told before that they dun wanna confine/restrict a child’s individuality during pre-schooling years. (something along tat line). e.g. every student is a special, individual student and dun need a standard set of uniform to conform them??? …
thinking back, it’s only in mainstream schools that wears uniforms, e.g. primary, sec & jc… polytechnics n universities oso dun wear uniforms mah… -
debpch:
Gosh, if its really a 2hour ride, think you better forget about the school bus.crystalbelle,
i probably will get the schoolbus to drop off at grandparents' place & then i pickup from there. we stay really far... so, if the ride is like 2 hours, then probably have to forget this option liao...
in fact, i was even thinking of getting a chartered taxi... i have seen some people at my workplace coming to office everyday in the same taxi so i am wondering if i can make an arrangement like that? any suggestions? :?
actually, i did ask about what the kids do in PM for PG... think it is something like: 1 to 3 pm nap and 3 to 5 pm enrichment. but most of the activity is in AM.
which makes me wonder... what if there is a half-day PM class, will kids on full-day be expected to go through the same stuff that they go through in AM? Isn't that weird? Otherwise, or PM kids are there for\"enrichment\" only?
:scratchhead:
It will be so tiring for your little one.
:? I am equally confused now that you mention.
So far, i havent encounter any PM kids since its quite uncommon.
Maybe we should get more details from the school on what type of enrichment there is for playgroups.
I understand that nursery onwards, the enrichment are quite \"enriching\".
I even heard that Pat's Siglap has swimming as part of the enrichment which is really good!!
But for playgroup, maybe they are \"too young\" to do any enrichment, so much so that the school have no specific enrichment program for them. -
crystalbelle08:
i have no idea why pats schoolhse's kids do not wear sch uniformsHi Pat's mummies,
Anyone know why Pat's dont have school uniforms/Tshirts?
Is that the trend all this while?
Its always a headache to choose clothes every morning. Another headache when the child came home with colorful patches all over the new clothes.
but since my gal was there some 7 years ago...it has been like that....
though it was rather a hassle to choose and match clothes for her
but in a way.....if the kid were to wear uniforms,
there would be lesser chances to wear their outing clothes, except only on weekends
kids outgrow in fast pace......so it's a good opportunity to put on their outing clothes on weekdays, making full use of them
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.