Teachers' Violence
\"Spare the rod and spoil the child\". It is only true for PARENTS.
Me think as parents we need to discipline our kids to the extent as to not to spare the rod.
So :spank: if necessary.
Rather you \"whack\" your own child than other people whack for you, no matter how authoritative they are! ie. teachers, policemen, next time garmen??
It is NOT OK for me to have duster full of chalk thrown at a student and let others laugh at him. In fact when I was in Primary 2, I can still remember a male teacher using the duster and hit a boy on his cheek. And that is after countless times after this teacher told him not to make so much noise and listen to his teaching! After what the teacher did, absolute silence - you can hear a pin-drop from the rest of us! BTW, this boy is now a Police Inspector!
I could not believe what I am reading here so many parents condoning physical violence towards the students no matter how naughty?
I am still reeling from shock from what happened during today's first consultation with a speech therapist for my boy. We went into the ST's room which was so quiet you can hear a pin-drop. Straightaway my 3 yo wanted to go out and go home. He started crying I have to calm him down. When the ST came out, she physically forced him to sit down, hold his hand and sternly told him to take out his shoes. Then she shoved him towards the shoe-rack and told him to put it on there! By now he was crying big time and looking at me wondering what is happening? Then the ST showed us to the room and sat us down on a kid's table & chair. When my boy did not stop crying, she suddenly got up and pulled him out of a chair and shoved him into a corner \"Stop crying or you are going to stand here in this corner!\". Then after a couple of seconds when he did not stop, she grab his shoulders and shoved him out of the room and told me not to follow. She told my boy \"If you don't stop crying you are going to stay here!\". At this point I can no longer tahan and told the ST let me carry him and calm him down first! This ST was pissed at me for not letting her do her stuff, she think I am too soft! When he calmed down a little, I took him back into the room and sat down and she told him to do certain things like shape-box and say some words. He followed gasping and trying to control his crying (all with mummy and maid looking on).
After one hour, he was actually OK and smiling and the ST told him \"See not so bad after all right\"? She gave us some advice and bill me SGD200.
Shit! I paid SGD200 just for a stranger to whack my boy around!
:stupid:
I am a GOONDU MUMMY!

It is ok to punish the kids if they made a mistake. To avoid this means spoiling them. There are people who will always say that kids are kids, they will grow up and outgrow that, so we should give them allowance/chance now. I do not subscribe to that.
Having said that, choosing the appropriate method to punish the kids is very important. Anything that will cause bodily hurt should be refrained from. I agree that kids should not be all pampered, and should be able to take some hardship. But if vital parts of the body get injured, that’s another thing.
It is also true that the immature students might misconstrue that it is acceptable to throw things at others’ head - a recipe for disaster.
The punishment should have been better chosen. -
punish also must punish properly lah, like that suka suka just throw a pencil case is NOT alright - accident could happen and the boy could be blinded if sharp object from the pencil case protrude out and unluckily poked his eye, how ?
by all means wake him up, tell him is wrong to sleep in class (he is not a disturbance, right? unless he snored like an aeroplane ?), and punish him duly. violence is not warranted in this case
if the boy is really unteachable recalcitrant, in form the parent that the disciplinary master will punish him, whether private caning or public caning
teachers who abuse their authority should be canned…and the sleeping boy is not even disturbing the class
if the boy is disturbing the class, I may have some sympathy for the teacher, but still the anger management part must come in -
Asked around the school, no one confess to the \"hitting\", what to do? Little kids got \"light tap\" here and there is fine? Not to me, it's just the same as to confirm that hitting is OK
pampers:
So, if it's a 2.5yrs old boy got his hand hit by the teacher is ok too? (if off topic, sorry, but I need some input)
2.5 yrs old? Child care centre ah?
Depends whether the teacher can justify or not bah...
I cannot imagine handling a room full of screaming/crying toddlers... so I cannot expect the teacher to do what I cannot do...
Previously when my dd acts up for no reason... I will give a \"light\" tap on her hand... and she will cry liao. Nowadays dd (5 yrs old) is more sensible... will understand when we explain... so no need much disciplinary actions.
:x -
NO, I am NOT OK with it! Not for a stranger to whack my boy that's what I am trying to say. But because she is a \"therapist\" and her method to get the boy to stop crying is to shove him around. And she criticize me for being too soft. So at that time do I just walk out? But because she is a \"behaviour therapist\" hence I got confused too and just look on wide-eyed.
Now I am dealing with my emotions - is it OK for a stranger to whack my boy around? In my presence? To teach him to modify his behaviour? To teach him a lesson?
Is it OK for a TEACHER to drow duster full of feathers / chalk dusk at students to get them to behave? To teach them a lesson?
Is it OK???
If anybody were to whack my boy, it is ME, his MUMMY, not anybody else!LKVM:
:shock: :shock: :shock: btw so you feel its ok whack kids :?DesertWind:
She gave us some advice and bill me SGD200.
I am a GOONDU MUMMY!

DesertWind:
Ermm...
After one hour, he was actually OK and smiling and the ST told him \"See not so bad after all right\"? She gave us some advice and bill me SGD200.
I am a GOONDU MUMMY!

So your boy stopped crying cos' u carried him for 1 hour?
Or after he got familiar to the room and the ST's instructions?
I think us parents usually don't like other adults to discipline our kids. -
DesertWind:
[/quote]LOL ! now your turn to require a behavioural therapist !NO, I am NOT OK with it! Not for a stranger to whack my boy that's what I am trying to say. But because she is a \"therapist\" and her method to get the boy to stop crying is to shove him around. And she criticize me for being too soft. So at that time do I just walk out? But because she is a \"behaviour therapist\" hence I got confused too and just look on wide-eyed.
:shock: :shock: :shock: btw so you feel its ok whack kids :?
Now I am dealing with my emotions - is it OK for a stranger to whack my boy around? In my presence? To teach him to modify his behaviour? To teach him a lesson?
Is it OK for a TEACHER to drow duster full of feathers / chalk dusk at students to get them to behave? To teach them a lesson?
Is it OK???
If anybody were to whack my boy, it is ME, his MUMMY, not anybody else!LKVM:
[quote=\"DesertWind\"]She gave us some advice and bill me SGD200.
I am a GOONDU MUMMY!

solli, don't meant to rub salt into the wound :siam: -
after nearly 4 pages, we still do not know which school was that. anyone ?
DesertWind:
Oh ya... heard this many times.
If anybody were to whack my boy, it is ME, his MUMMY, not anybody else!
Even my Sis-in-Law kena from her good fren... cos' SIL commented on the way her good fren pampers her boy... then her fren got offended... and they're still not on talking terms... after 1 week! Duh... -
pampers:
Erm... u went ard the sch and interrogate the kids and teachers?
Asked around the school, no one confess to the \"hitting\", what to do? Little kids got \"light tap\" here and there is fine? Not to me, it's just the same as to confirm that hitting is OK
:x
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.