The Alternative Story (TAS) - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    2.0k Posts 349 Posters 939.9k Views 1 Watching
      Brenda10

We got the book yesterday and find it very useful. DD straight away zoom into the Section i, Own work - Creative Writing: 3 Compositions to assess how the writing is.

The phrases that categorize by difference circumstance like Fire, Bee Attack, Accident, Burglary etc are very useful.

krisvan8

Hi TAS

I have email you the details so how do i make the payment?

Cheers
        Krisvan8

The Alternative Story:
        krisvan8:

Hi TAS

I would like to reserve the book.

Regards
        Krisvan8

Hi Krisvan8,

We have done so but you would need to contact us (through email/phone)
        to let us know how you want to get the book.

TAS

jasmineong

The book is very good lah..very easy to follow..with different themes like what Brenda10 say and the writing standard is high..I don't find the writing in other compo books so good..all their phrases quite common kind..but this one the phrases and words are very good..even some I don't know..makes me gian to send my kid to TAS..sigh can have branch in Toa Payoh? (to TAS) :lol:

coolit

krisvan8:
            Hi TAS

I have email you the details so how do i make the payment?

Cheers
            Krisvan8

I think they have a thread that you can go and access for this information.

It is at the Marketplace thread. This should be the link:
            http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7586&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=100

• X Offline
              XtremeMEE

Hey TAS,

Just saw your book, my mom bought it for younger sis.

And I realize something!!!- I think I know one of the teachers

there or I know the one who set it up!

The use of personification strategies, the use of metaphors,

and the style of writing in the book was what my former

teacher in primary school taught me!!

And she quit many years back to set up her own tuition centre..

I have moved away from the school area, so have not visited

in a while, but I think I know the founder! I have sent you a pm..

If you are that teacher, I just want to say that I miss you!!!

You are the teacher that got me to love to read and to write well.

I hope I can visit your centre one day

šŸ˜‰

Hope you remember us too!

The Alternative Story

Hi XtremeMEE,

It is such a small world! I never expected to see you here.
                Of course I remember you and the class. I am so happy
                to hear from you! I have pmed you and anytime you want to
                drop by, just let me know.
                (By the way, sometimes other teachers from TAS reply as TAS,
                so if you want to pm me, just address it to my name šŸ˜‰)

TAS

jasmineong

Sorry I come and kaypoh here but I find it so sweet lah..XtremeMEE that you remember your teacher..and also want to kaypoh, which pri school you came fr..not convenient to say, just pm me :rubhands: how are tchers there? Your former teacher must be very good to start TAS..u are very lucky.

ccgoh

The Alternative Story:
                    ccgoh:

I like the book. It provides a lot of insight to helping my children with writing. I have a question. How fast does it normally take for a child to write like this from the time the child first joins the centre?

Hi ccgoh,

Thanks for your encouragement šŸ˜‰

As to how long it takes for a child to write well, it depends on the child,
                    for some of the children, they are able to write well after a few lessons
                    but for most of the students, they will take at least a few months to
                    about half a year.

There are also others who take almost a year to write reasonably
                    well. A lot really depends on the child's ability and his or her
                    attitude to learning.

TAS

Thanks TAS, by the way, 2 of my neighbours want to get the book.

Is it cheaper to sent to one address or both or no difference?

• X Offline
                      XtremeMEE

The Alternative Story:
                      Hi XtremeMEE,

It is such a small world! I never expected to see you here.
                      Of course I remember you and the class. I am so happy
                      to hear from you! I have pmed you and anytime you want to
                      drop by, just let me know.
                      (By the way, sometimes other teachers from TAS reply as TAS,
                      so if you want to pm me, just address it to my name šŸ˜‰)

TAS
                      Hihi!

I have replied you!!! :boogie:

• X Offline
                        XtremeMEE

jasmineong:
                        Sorry I come and kaypoh here but I find it so sweet lah..XtremeMEE that you remember your teacher..and also want to kaypoh, which pri school you came fr..not convenient to say, just pm me :rubhands: how are tchers there? Your former teacher must be very good to start TAS..u are very lucky.

Errr, I don't know if I should say..maybe you can check with TAS?

But in my pri school, I found that there were good teachers but

to be honest, not many.

My form teacher was one of a kind (to us under her at least).

She was very fun, really cared about us, took us to Sunny bookshop,

Borders and Kino to expose us to a wide range of books. We had a

huge library of books in class for us to borrow books. She would

buy these books, tell us about a part of the story, make us

interested to read and also tell us how to take out phrases

from them to help in our writing. She really inspired me to

want to do well in all my subjects. Sorry if I am going off

track here as I know this thread is for the creative

writing book. But I must just say all this because she did

all that for us without expecting anything in return so now

I can give back to her in this way. šŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 205

snoozyS
                        snoozy