[Bukit Batok/Chua Chu Kang/Yew Tee] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    234 Posts 99 Posters 276.8k Views 1 Watching
    • keasK Offline
      keas

Hi drumstick, you've got mail 😄

drumstick

Thanks keas so much for sharing. 🙂

drumstick

Just called mulberry and this time the admin picked up. Said they will increase clAss size for n1 to 28! Gosh! Thou they will increase teachers but tik still recruiting. Their centre already so small 😞 sigh

• keasK Offline
            keas

Haha drumstick, small world, I'm Ashley :lol: :celebrate:

drumstick

Hihi Ashley !! Haha!

sunset_dae

Hi

Does anyone know there is any good infant care in bukit panjang/jelepang area?

keas:
                  Hi Buds,

Thanks so much for your reply.
                  You are welcome. 😄
                  keas:
                  Actually it does not need to be Montessori school. The important things to me are: caring teachers, good environment, enough play (indoor & outdoor) and good curriculum (prepare well for P1 yet not too hectic). Are they too much to ask for?
                  Nope. I think it is the standard stuff we're asking for here. 😉
                  keas:
                  Hehe my son currently is in the so called \"basement\" centre that you mentioned lol. It is Mulberry 😄
                  Not basement centre lah.. :lol:

I visited when Wharton was there but it wasn't so enticing. The teachers
                  were cold and the children were.... quiet. Too quiet. Too well behaved. No
                  one fidgeted. No one moved out of their chairs. It was dark and gloomy
                  esp since they didn't turn most of the lights on during my visit. Think it
                  was an energy conservation movement or some sort. The children were
                  having lunch so only the pantry area was lit. None of the children were
                  smiling. It was just a queer feeling entering a childcare premise that isn't
                  lively and cheerful with natural noise from children hungry and full of
                  excitement to learn... laughing... goofing... or to put it simply... being the
                  children that they are. None of the children spoke to me though i tried to
                  make small talk with a few. The teachers were also almost reluctant to
                  strike conversation. I felt like i was required to whisper while asking the
                  administrator my questions. :lol:

Ironically though, the facilities and the IT system they offered impressed
                  me much and i liked what i saw in their detailed curriculum since they
                  adpoted the multimedia styled learning.

I guess the energy i got from that visit didn't really make an impact on me
                  as a fun place for children, so i didn't sign up with them. But i have to give
                  credit that the centre was extremely clean. As in dust free, i can smell clean
                  air-conditioning, no food smells, everything was in neat order and yes
                  children were very well behaved. No rowdiness at all!

I personally prefer ctrs with airconditioning as it is more comfortable, as
                  long as the place is clean and the ctr has good maintenance of ctrs AND
                  not too many children, the airconditioning shouldn't pose too much of a
                  health issue.
                  keas:
                  My hubby went to MMI Phoenix before, he was ok with that but I read lots of neg feedback here, and one thing has always embedded in my mind was your reply to s.o that you only mentioned those centers that worth mentioning and it did not included Phoenix haha. Personally shouting at kids is a no-no to us too. I myself do not shout at my kid so I can't live with that.
                  I do not fancy an aggressive and authoritative kinda teacher, especially
                  NOT in a Montessori school so to speak. It just does not go down well
                  with me or i suppose the endearing characteristics that a Montessorian
                  teacher should ideally have.. Oh well.. we cannot always have what we
                  seek, aye? Win some lose some? :roll:
                  keas:
                  Talking about environment, do you think those 2 storey house is still better than HDB based school? I just want to hear more from you, not a disagreement hehe.
                  Everyone has a special preference, sweetie. No worries. 😉
                  I prefer a school to be like a school. Not a house. I'm not so concerned
                  about outdoor play i guess, cos i brought my girls out almost every single
                  afternoon when they were of pre-school age. One reason was to get out
                  of my MIL's hair 😉 and the other was to let the children let off steam
                  run around and have some fun. 😄 Plus, when i bring them out to play, i
                  REALLY play with them. Roll around the ground... slide down poles together
                  play catching... the works! 😎 So... i honestly don't mind centres not
                  allocating time for outdoor play. The most the teachers do, is just either
                  stand there and keep watch (some don't even bother :roll:)... or some
                  catch up on office gossip or family talk... I'd rather play with my own girls
                  so to speak. 😉 I play with the children under my care even when i
                  was working.. i found it helped me to get to know them better as the
                  children that they are... get to help them build vocabulary and promote
                  safe play amongst their peers at the same time. I found it fun to be ard
                  them. So since i cannot expect another person to be crazy over children
                  like me, i make do without the compulsory necessity to find a ctr that offers
                  it.

I focus on the stuff that matters.. :rubhands:
                  keas:
                  I myself prefer those private house set-up cos kids would have outdoor space. Isn't it true?
                  Yes, some parents do naturally like wide open spaces. Mebbe if it is a
                  single storey bungalow... with air-conditioning... nice playground... clean
                  and well maintained... i may consider. But i still prefer commercial buildings
                  so that children have a feel of a real school.
                  keas:
                  If I don't mind non-Monte, can you reccommend any other centers? I would have liked Pat's if not for the distance. Last week we went to see Mindchamps but didn't realize they are all franchises. At the particular center we visited, my hubby did not like the operator, saying she's cocky lol (his word). I don't feel that strong but think she's got some attitude. Mindchamps TPY is too far and no way can get a place anyway.
                  Yup, if i'm snubbed by an operator i'd feel the same way as your hubby.
                  We are after all customers right? 😉

As for other options.... uhmmm... :idea: Orange Pre-school at the site of
                  the old SingPost... have you visited? They just opened. 😄 How about
                  Learing Ladder? Got ang moh teachers there... :evil: Last visited i saw
                  indoor sandbox area and water play area for creative play... a music/gym
                  room... and a 2-way mirror where you can see your child in action without
                  causing him/her unnecessary anxiety. But it has been years ago lah.. dunno
                  if it has changed now.

MMI @ Jurong West Recreation Centre? Depending on the staff you get for
                  your child, it offers holistic curriculum and should not require external
                  enrichment on your end since they cover Phonics and Maths curriculum
                  as well. Last i heard they are full though..

• keasK Offline
                    keas

Hi Buds,

I heard same thing about Wharton but Mulberry is much brighter and lively. My son joined just 2 months after their opening so it was very good. Now it is also good but there are many more students.

We bring our son out every weekend, to parks or beaches, cos on week days when we meet, it's already evening. You have the priviledge of a SAHM 🙏

Is MMI at Bukit Batok alright? Do you have any feedback about them?
                    Maybe we will visit Orange Tree too, it must be strong in language program, but will need to see how the set-up is.

Oh I suppose you don't know that Learning Ladder is closing down end of this year. Actually some preschools around that area will be shut down due to land development I think.

keas:
                      Hi Buds, I heard same thing about Wharton but Mulberry is much brighter and lively. My son joined just 2 months after their opening so it was very good. Now it is also good but there are many more students.

I presume so. The operator runs the Town 4 Kids @ Jurong East and have
                      heard many great reviews on the centre plus it always being full house. 😄
                      The operator is a very lively and cheerful person herself.. :love:
                      Very down to earth and endearing..
                      Sun_2010:
                      We bring our son out every weekend, to parks or beaches, cos on week days when we meet, it's already evening. You have the priviledge of a SAHM 🙏
                      I didn't start out thinking so, but eventually yes... i can see the fruits of my
                      labour and all those years staying home bonding with my girls. It was years
                      well-spent. We girls are so tight now. :evil: Hehee.. The love is unbreakable.. :please:
                      Sun_2010:
                      Is MMI at Bukit Batok alright? Do you have any feedback about them?
                      Not visited them before and have not heard reviews on this outlet either.
                      Can't be of help to you here.. if you do recce, update us here hor? 😉

Maybe we will visit Orange Tree too, it must be strong in language program, but will need to see how the set-up is.
                      Sun_2010:
                      Oh I suppose you don't know that Learning Ladder is closing down end of this year. Actually some preschools around that area will be shut down due to land development I think.
                      Ooh cos of the MRT developments issit? Yah, i shifted out oredi, so not so
                      in tune with my old area animore. 😢 Gotta adjust and reset to my current
                      environment now. Doing recce for myself as well for myself and my girls. 😄

• keasK Offline
                        keas

Hi Buds,

Surely I’ll let you know after we view Orange Tree, but dunno when we can do it together, maybe my hb will go down to see first.

My architect friend told me they are building condo at the site of Ten Miles Junction.

Maybe we’ll go to see Amazing Star at BP too. The one at CCK my hb did not like the place.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 18 / 24