* Anglo Chinese JC (ACJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    54 Posts 21 Posters 48.0k Views 1 Watching
      spikey

Given this scandal and the one before of intense ragging of an ACJC girl which was posted on the internet, would you still consider sending your child to ACJC?

Yes. i will still send both kids to ACJC.

csc

csc:

jitoh,

how about yourself? would you do it? Let's hear ur piece first. :lol:

Having watched the earlier video of blatant ragging, I would definitely not send my child there. If you watch the video, you'll know what I mean. The shocker was that the 'torture' went on for quite some time and no one stepped in to stop it. No students, student leaders, teachers etc. This new episode of filming in the toilet and circulating it just confirms it.

Would you consider sending your child to ACJC?

Thanks for your sharing. 😄

I'm afraid I won't have the opportunity to make that decision as both my children are in IP schools. And I don't like to answer \"what if\" questions.

But I do know a few graduates from ACJC. One of them is my son's former school teacher who is one of the most dedicated teachers I have seen so far. Another is my friend's son who is a shining example among his peers . Of course I have met a few from there whose behaviour is far from exemplary.

So to each his own. :lol:

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

spikey:

Given this scandal and the one before of intense ragging of an ACJC girl which was posted on the internet, would you still consider sending your child to ACJC?

I don't want to send so far, lor.

I doubt my daughter(now sec 4) would want either, esp with this incident. She said she heard about this when it just happened - in fact she told me about it then, but I didn't believe her. Apparently, a girl went into the toilet and saw the couple, was so *shocked* and ran out screaming. That's what brought the horde of students - girls AND boys over to watch and videotape. And the couple just carried on! :shock: Imagine if they were in boarding school.

csc

spikey:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Given this scandal and the one before of intense ragging of an ACJC girl which was posted on the internet, would you still consider sending your child to ACJC?

I doubt my daughter(now sec 4) would want either, esp with this incident. She said she heard about this when it just happened - in fact she told me about it then, but I didn't believe her. Apparently, a girl went into the toilet and saw the couple, was so *shocked* and ran out screaming. That's what brought the horde of students - girls AND boys over to watch and videotape. And the couple just carried on! :shock: Imagine if they were in boarding school.[/quote]don't scare me leh... phankao...my gal also in boarding school now..:0

jtoh

csc:

[quote=\"csc\"]jitoh,

how about yourself? would you do it? Let's hear ur piece first. :lol:

Having watched the earlier video of blatant ragging, I would definitely not send my child there. If you watch the video, you'll know what I mean. The shocker was that the 'torture' went on for quite some time and no one stepped in to stop it. No students, student leaders, teachers etc. This new episode of filming in the toilet and circulating it just confirms it.

Would you consider sending your child to ACJC?

Thanks for your sharing. 😄

I'm afraid I won't have the opportunity to make that decision as both my children are in IP schools. And I don't like to answer \"what if\" questions.

But I do know a few graduates from ACJC. One of them is my son's former school teacher who is one of the most dedicated teachers I have seen so far. Another is my friend's son who is a shining example among his peers . Of course I have met a few from there whose behaviour is far from exemplary.

So to each his own. :lol:[/quote]I agree with you that there are exemplary ex-ACJCians. I know quite a few personally. My concern is more with the current situation. When you send a child to school, you want to make sure you're sending them to a safe environment. The recent incidents, in particular the bullying case, doesn't augur well for ACJC. So as a parent, I would not want to send my child into a lion's den, so to speak. But as you say, to each his own.

INNOVATE

If my kids want to improve their english I would send them to ACJC. However, one must also note that the school is now the junior brother of ACSI.

ACJC is no longer the same as in my era. The best students from ACS family no longer study there.

• dimsumD Offline
                  dimsum

[quote="INNOVATE"]If my kids want to improve their english I would send them to ACJC. However, one must also note that the school is now the junior brother of ACSI.

[quote]

ACJC’s english std very good meh?

INNOVATE

dimsum

Their GP grade is the best amongst second-tier jcs.

• 2 Offline
                      24by7mum

spikey:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Given this scandal and the one before of intense ragging of an ACJC girl which was posted on the internet, would you still consider sending your child to ACJC?

I doubt my daughter(now sec 4) would want either, esp with this incident. She said she heard about this when it just happened - in fact she told me about it then, but I didn't believe her. Apparently, a girl went into the toilet and saw the couple, was so *shocked* and ran out screaming. That's what brought the horde of students - girls AND boys over to watch and videotape. And the couple just carried on! :shock: Imagine if they were in boarding school.[/quote]Oh my gosh! That makes it even worst! If the above is true, the couple were not \"victims\" but more of exhibitionists. I wonder which secondary school they came from.....hmmmm :faint:

24by7mum:

[quote=\"spikey\"]

I doubt my daughter(now sec 4) would want either, esp with this incident. She said she heard about this when it just happened - in fact she told me about it then, but I didn't believe her. Apparently, a girl went into the toilet and saw the couple, was so *shocked* and ran out screaming. That's what brought the horde of students - girls AND boys over to watch and videotape. And the couple just carried on! :shock: Imagine if they were in boarding school.

Oh my gosh! That makes it even worst! If the above is true, the couple were not \"victims\" but more of exhibitionists. I wonder which secondary school they came from.....hmmmm :faint:[/quote]can't be from ACS

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 6