Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      hquek

There was an article in ST yesterday - about foreign workers demonstrating in Taiwan. Story of a female maid who worked there for 8 years - no raise during that time; of an employer who made her (muslim) workers eat pork and paid them only S$58 per month.

I told my newspaper reading maid to read the article. Don’t just dream of going foreign countries with rose tinted glasses. there’s always 2 sides to a coin.

BTW, can anyone enlighten if employers got to foot a maid’s medical expenses? Just remembering those horror stories of S$70K hospital bill and all.

There was an article in ST yesterday - about foreign workers demonstrating in Taiwan. Story of a female maid who worked there for 8 years - no raise during that time; of an employer who made her (muslim) workers eat pork and paid them only S$58 per month.

I told my newspaper reading maid to read the article. Don't just dream of going foreign countries with rose tinted glasses. there's always 2 sides to a coin.
        OUR maids here in Singapore should not just see double pay and dream of life being very rosy in Taiwan, HKG or Saudi Arabia. Taiwan/HKG employers are VERY tough nuts and they will just sack the maid when they screw up. A former maid of mine who ever worked in Saudi Arabia told me she has had to fend off the men from touching her private areas.

LOLMum

likewise, my sis’s maid was formerly working in the middle east. she told us stories about her employer and friends doing unspeakable things to some of the maids working in the household. she herself was hugged and touched and it was a nightmare working there.

so she appreciates the safe environment in spore but after working for a year or so, she is, unfortunately, getting a bit lazier, always on the phone and takes a long long time to do her daily grocery shopping.

but we have to close one eye because my handicapped sis needs her and so far she is okay except for the above.

my mil is always asking what happened to the maids from the good old days. (ahem, her generation) … she misses them.

likewise, my sis's maid was formerly working in the middle east. she told us stories about her employer and friends doing unspeakable things to some of the maids working in the household. she herself was hugged and touched and it was a nightmare working there.

so she appreciates the safe environment in spore but after working for a year or so, she is, unfortunately, getting a bit lazier, always on the phone and takes a long long time to do her daily grocery shopping.

but we have to close one eye because my handicapped sis needs her and so far she is ok.
            When these abused maids first arrive to work here, they appreciate the safe environment here...but it's easy for them to lapse into a lazy mode after a while. But if still can perform daily chores at 70%, have to close one eye...getting another maid may not be solution.

LOLMum

yeap, my sis doesnt want another maid. maid has been with her for about 4 years. sometimes when they argue, the maid will say "send me home then, or let me look for another employer". but after a while, the two will become buddy buddy again.

snowman.022851697

My maid is telling her relatives about me and my sister. I cannot understand what she’s saying cus i can’t speak burmese and my only burmese friend lives somewhere in the north. I don’t want my information leaked to others. Who does she think she is to tell others about me? She is not a spy or CIA agent!! And she stares at me with her friggin eyes straight at my face and yawns like ah pek. What should i do? I’m afraid my info is being leaked, especially as she is yakking on the phone every waking moment, once i had to stop a fire from occuring, and other times i just pressed reject if the phone was near to me enough. If they want money, they should work hard in their home to earn it, not act smart and go elsewhere where pay is higher.

HappyAvon

Hi, for me no more Filipino maid.....that's for sure after 3 bad experiences...not true they can speak better English...some english are as bad....the last one was a horror with 4 yrs ex sin experience...request to have her hp after working 2 months and even broke her promise not to use the phone during the day...always likes to sms n tok in the middle of nite or early in the morning...we just closed both eyes since she can do her work properly...but after enduring her nonsense for 1.5 yrs we decided to send her home....she is always dreaming of working in Europe n thinks highly of herself.....since I'm a sahm now, I recently got back an Indon maid....a divorcee with 3 kids n no hp, no off days....she had 6 yrs exp with 2 employers in KL...so far so good, no problem in handling housework, can handle any electrical appliances, can bathe n look after our dog...can coook too..only minus point is spoken english is not so good lah....btw, I just need a maid to keep the house clean, look after the dog n hamster....my only girl is 5 yrs old n can handle most things....I'm getting my girl to learn some simple Malay like susu for milk, Mandy for shower, makan for eat, tidok for sleeping....she is enjoying it..... :D. Hopefully no more nightmare for me...I believe no one is perfect but most importantly the character n personality is important.....the mindset must be right....

limlim

duriz:

Their home country do not even advocate minimum wage for their countrymen. Irony?
                    well, kena expected lah..

Their government is the same one that send 1 team of untrained policemen to knock on a bus windows when there is a hijacker armed with M16 inside rite.. What logical policy would you expect from these pple....

mrswongtuition

BTW, did you know that Filipinas who work overseas have to pay very hefty taxed when they return? That’s why alot of them rather forego the homeleave!

HappyAvon:
                        Hi, for me no more Filipino maid.....that's for sure after 3 bad experiences...not true they can speak better English...some english are as bad....the last one was a horror with 4 yrs ex sin experience...thinks highly of herself.....since I'm a sahm now, I recently got back an Indon maid....I believe no one is perfect but most importantly the character n personality is important.....the mindset must be right....

Yes, Filipino maids may not be able to speak English as compared to Indonesians. In fact, I've been able to enjoy Indonesian dishes in the comfort of my home...dishes like green curry and bagedil. My Filipino maid thinks so highly of herself too :x wanting to work for angmoh family when she can't even communicate in English or handle kids.
                        This govt can't provide jobs for their women back home and yet demanding countries who employ them to give US$400 !

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 325 / 1032