Trapwithin

E3:

近朱者赤近墨者黑 😎

Ditto E3 :celebrate:

Totally agreed. Besides .. the exposure is different in different classes.
      If you read through all the pages in this thread, you will also know that a parent with twins studying at diff classes, has diff lvl of homework.

Basically, I think PHPPS stream them into 3 band.
      For P1 and P2, 4 classes in each band.
      So the top 4 classes might be exposure to more learning based on their ability to cope with the schoolwork.

Hi E3,

My son is getting the high end of 70 for this year…so I’m rather concerned whether to continue to HCL next year. I’ve been hearing 2 sides - if he can continue with HCL, let him do so since he has tuition and HCL is not that different (that’s what I was told) but on the other hand, P5 is a big jump from P4 and kinda like preparation for P6, so I don’t want him to have to spend more time on one subject at the expense of the others.

Trapwithin

IJJ:
          E3:

True. A lot of movement for lower primary but IMO, better to get into the better classes the earlier the better... to be more secure...近朱者赤近墨者黑 😎

I also agree. As compare with her classmates in ex school (P2-mixed abilities) and in PH (Gr2) last year, I did see significant differences, in term of diligence, maturity and obedience. But, well, to her, I just tell her to try her best, the rest, let God plan. 😉 Another I heard, not verified tho, that the teachers for the better abilities classes are usually more responsible, starting from P2.

Not verified ... I heard PHPPS tends to put the better teachers at the lower band to help the weaker students. Which I thought was great .. though some might disagree.

That's why their overall PSLE result has been improved significantly

Trapwithin:
            IJJ:

[quote=\"E3\"]
            True. A lot of movement for lower primary but IMO, better to get into the better classes the earlier the better... to be more secure...近朱者赤近墨者黑 😎

I also agree. As compare with her classmates in ex school (P2-mixed abilities) and in PH (Gr2) last year, I did see significant differences, in term of diligence, maturity and obedience. But, well, to her, I just tell her to try her best, the rest, let God plan. 😉 Another I heard, not verified tho, that the teachers for the better abilities classes are usually more responsible, starting from P2.

Not verified ... I heard PHPPS tends to put the better teachers at the lower band to help the weaker students. Which I thought was great .. though some might disagree.

That's why their overall PSAl result has been improved signifantly[/quote]What I do know is better teachers are allocated to the top few and weaker teachers...something like to maintain the top end and boost the weaker ones.

Trapwithin

E3:
              However, the better she gets, the harder for me to let her understand certain values in life. It's a challenge for me sometimes.
              How true. Balancing their confident and humility levels is an art.
              All of us are still learning.

We encourage them to excel, try their best and yet to let the know the important of values in life.

An intelligent child without the right values is not ideal either.

Suee

hi to all KSP,

My dd is in CH1-2011, anyone in e same class?

Cheers

Trapwithin

E3:
                  the top 3 classes require at least 90% overall. SA2 is 70% weightage so if your ds can score for SA2, it can make a difference to his overall marks. All the best! :rahrah:

:!: WOW.
                  I read somewhere that to get into CH2, they would require about 280/300 = 93.3% so the next two class will be from arund 270-280/300.

The level of competition is CRAZY. :siao:
                  So careless mistakes will be a BIG determining factor.
                  Assuming 10 marks of careless in 3 subjects . .that's like 3-4 marks per subject .. that's SCARY.

All kids make careless mistakes .. so now it boils down to who make less.

markfch

Trapwithin:
                    E3:

the top 3 classes require at least 90% overall. SA2 is 70% weightage so if your ds can score for SA2, it can make a difference to his overall marks. All the best! :rahrah:

:!: WOW.
                    I read somewhere that to get into CH2, they would require about 280/300 = 93.3% so the next two class will be from arund 270-280/300.

The level of competition is CRAZY. :siao:
                    So careless mistakes will be a BIG determining factor.
                    Assuming 10 marks of careless in 3 subjects . .that's like 3-4 marks per subject .. that's SCARY.

All kids make careless mistakes .. so now it boils down to who make less.

Then my ds no chance for top 3 classes liao, cos he makes tons of careless mistakes/take short cuts answering qns when not supervised. Still the happy-go-lucky kind.

• dyhD Offline
                      dyh

Trapwithin:
                      S6169:

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]
                      Any idea how many CH3 pupils passed the screening test?

My boy's FT carried out lessons as usual. Only 3 pupils in the class are going for the selection test next week.

7 pupils in Ho3 will go for the next round of test. Heard that top2 classes of Nan Hua , 50 pupils were selected for the next round.

I am not too sure how many got in selection round in PHPPS.
                      But for GEP School usually the top 2 class are into 2nd round.[/quote]Since CH3 has 3/4 and FA3 has 1/4 through, that makes about 45 pupils from top 2 classes. That's not far off from Nan Hua (50) which I am sure has provided special training for their pupils...

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

dyh:
                        Since CH3 has 3/4 and FA3 has 1/4 through, that makes about 45 pupils from top 2 classes. That's not far off from Nan Hua (50) which I am sure has provided special training for their pupils...

The GEP discussion thread has set me thinking what's the diff between the sch preparing the pupils since P2 and parents with kids not given sch training but going for 3rd party training. There are parents criticising this group of so-called kiasu parents but did not point finger at the kiasu sch 😛

Anyway, good luck to all going for the selection test. If a child is selected, we as parents must bear in mind whether the child really suits the GEP prog in terms of his maturity level as well, cant just depend on IQ level.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 213 / 2049