National Junior College (Junior High)
It's for a formal dinner at the boarding house. Not any other ordinary day.[/quote]Jennifer - who say no tie? Got school tie. haha!!!
Have a sec 1 friend in NJC. Didn't even wear tie leh. O.otriplediao:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
I think it just means shirt & pants & tie. Which my boy already has lah. Standard performing attire. haha. I think having boys has it's advantage - easy to \"dress\". -
I hv gone through my boyโs CL written paper and the essay. He took for granted the section on summarise the passage that the number of boxes are all for use, did not read the instructions to keep to 30 characters, plus did not mention the key word "HOUSEHOLD CHORES, COOKING", hence zero/10. He could hv passed that paper :x
Then for the essay, he was totally out of point, so zero/70.
Luckily he took it in his strides.
After reading his essay, I felt happy becos his style has improved greatly. If the content matches the topic title, I am sure he would hv passed very well.
Now does anyone know what happen when the student failed a subject? The personal mentor has not replied my email leh. -
Jennifer - who say no tie? Got school tie. haha!!![/quote]I did not say no tie ah. I wanted to meant ordinary days wear the usual uniform, no need tie for ordinary sch days mah
It's for a formal dinner at the boarding house. Not any other ordinary day.Jennifer:
[quote=\"triplediao\"]
Have a sec 1 friend in NJC. Didn't even wear tie leh. O.o
This formal dinner got to wear tie lah.
Has anyone reviewed and assessed the CL OE compreh qn & ans? I did that last night.
Could not understand why my boyโs ans could not be accepted in q1 part b "why did the author pay up $3 for the plate of fried eggs in the end?" My boy wrote "the author did not want the son to be unhappy." Supposed to include the model ans "he loves his son and he does not want to lose face." But where in the passage did the "lose face" hint come from? I cant find it. If anyone sees the phrase that hinted at this, pls let me know. And "dun want the son to be unhappy" not equal to "love his son"?
I think some parts of the passage is cheem. From a simple sentence "Itโs just an egg, not an ostrich egg", the student is supposed to interpret it as it is an ordinary egg, nothing extraordinary to warrant a price tag of $3.
There is another qn sth like "what happened in the process of teaching his son how top fry egg?" I hv the same ans as my boy, just describe the messy process. But why need to mention "the author starts first with one egg, then let the son does the 2nd egg"?
I feel that the CL HOD should review with the students how answering OE compreh shld be done. Only by understanding whatโs required, can the student perform up to the marking scheme expectations.
I would be writing an email to the CL HOD to request a meeting. The Class CL teacher still has not replied my email. -
:shock:I hv gone through my boy's CL written paper and the essay. He took for granted the section on summarise the passage that the number of boxes are all for use, did not read the instructions to keep to 30 characters, plus did not mention the key word \"HOUSEHOLD CHORES, COOKING\", hence zero/10. ...
yes, a rule may be broken here..... Then for the essay, he was totally out of point, so zero/70...
But I don't think this one warrants a death sentence.
OK, maybe teachers apply certain guidelines for marking essays.
But I don't like this one
dunnoleh:
I was told a teacher at Whitley Sec Sch also applied such marking scheme- once out of point, slap with a zero. No room for negotiation.
:shock:Jennifer:
I hv gone through my boy's CL written paper and the essay. He took for granted the section on summarise the passage that the number of boxes are all for use, did not read the instructions to keep to 30 characters, plus did not mention the key word \"HOUSEHOLD CHORES, COOKING\", hence zero/10. ...
yes, a rule may be broken here..... Then for the essay, he was totally out of point, so zero/70...
But I don't think this one warrants a death sentence.
OK, maybe teachers apply certain guidelines for marking essays.
But I don't like this one
One consolation- this is just year 1. Take it as a learning process. Now we are concerned what's going to happen as he has failed this subject. No one from sch replied me yet :roll: Too busy with Open House???
I heard from my boy there is a remedial class. Maybe he will b selected for it this round??? -
Is there another Meet the teachers session this term?
do you have the PM's hp number? I remember their hp numbers were written on the board during the first parent-teacher-meeting.... No one from sch replied me yet :roll: ...
I did not say no tie ah. I wanted to meant ordinary days wear the usual uniform, no need tie for ordinary sch days mah
Jennifer - who say no tie? Got school tie. haha!!!phankao:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]
It's for a formal dinner at the boarding house. Not any other ordinary day.
This formal dinner got to wear tie lah.[/quote]I think long sleeve shirt n pants would do, not need tie la.
dunnoleh:
do you have the PM's hp number? I remember their hp numbers were written on the board during the first parent-teacher-meeting.Jennifer:
... No one from sch replied me yet :roll: ...
I dun remember writing the no. down. Shld hv
Anyway, I will call the general office on Mon.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.