IJJ:
By P2, her then FT hand picked few potential kids from the class to attend his 'special' maths lesson to train on 'out-of-text' questions
Maybe this is the GEP preparation class, hence no wonder the sch produces quite a few GEP eligible candidates every year.
I wonder whether PH has this scheme. -
Actually most of the kids in schools with gifted classes are from Pei Hwa...a friend told me that. That's why PH principal is annoyed that she faces a brain drain at the end of P3 every year.IJJ:
By P2, her then FT hand picked few potential kids from the class to attend his 'special' maths lesson to train on 'out-of-text' questions
Maybe this is the GEP preparation class, hence no wonder the sch produces quite a few GEP eligible candidates every year.
Actually most of the kids in schools with gifted classes are from Pei Hwa...a friend told me that. That's why PH principal is annoyed that she faces a brain drain at the end of P3 every year.[/quote]Then she should ask MOE for GEP status ...parents will save a lot of hassle in transfering school when the time comes...Jennifer:
[quote=\"IJJ\"]By P2, her then FT hand picked few potential kids from the class to attend his 'special' maths lesson to train on 'out-of-text' questions
Hmm, I wonder what's the percentage of GEP students in the top 10 ranking of schools each year..
I was telling DH abt GEP students leaving PH each year, and he remarked 'if all the top students leave PH bcos of GEP, and PH is still among top 10 each PSLE, then PH must be doing v well' of cos he is an ex-sch boy also lah.. a bit bias.. but still food for thought lah..
Interesting, can elaborate more if it's not too sensitive?
Actually most of the kids in schools with gifted classes are from Pei Hwa...a friend told me that. That's why PH principal is annoyed that she faces a brain drain at the end of P3 every year. -
A significant percentage leave PH for schools with gifted classes each year…then PH will groom the next group of kids to ‘replace’ those who left.
A significant percentage leave PH for schools with gifted classes each year...then PH will groom the next group of kids to 'replace' those who left.
In that case then I agree with php's suggestion that PH should re-apply for GEP programme. Read in earlier threads that PH implemented GEP programme before. Maybe previous implementation not so successful? -
MOE doesn't allow PH to get gifted program bcos there are several schools in Bukit Timah who already have it...furthermore, gifted kids are just a small percentage. Instead, PH is given the go-ahead by MOE to specialize in Maths and Science.janet_lee88:
A significant percentage leave PH for schools with gifted classes each year...then PH will groom the next group of kids to 'replace' those who left.
In that case then I agree with php's suggestion that PH should re-apply for GEP programme. Read in earlier threads that PH implemented GEP programme before. Maybe previous implementation not so successful? -
MOE doesn't allow PH to get gifted program bcos there are several schools in Bukit Timah who already have it...furthermore, gifted kids are just a small percentage. Instead, PH is given the go-ahead by MOE to specialize in Maths and Science.[/quote]GEP is not a good programme, MOE knows that. Unfortunately, they can't simply remove it...they need a new, darling minister to do that.... the time will come....markfch:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]A significant percentage leave PH for schools with gifted classes each year...then PH will groom the next group of kids to 'replace' those who left.
GEP is grooming the elite...but do we actually need a program for that ? If the child is gifted, he/she will go far without having to go for any special program. In any case, the gifted child will always be at the best class.
Thanks, or no thanks to GEP, there are truly kiasu parents who spend thousands to groom their kids to be gifted :siao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.