Travel: Australia - Perth

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    241 Posts 59 Posters 228.9k Views 1 Watching
      tree nymph

Perth

Iโ€™ve never been North thoughโ€ฆ Anyone went there and anything to recommend?

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Been to Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Goldcoast. Have not done Cairns but itโ€™s on the list. So if I were to rank my preference

Melbourne
        Perth
        Goldcoast
        Adelaide
        Sydney

Melbourne is just so easy to get around and is suitable both for elderly folks and kids. Perth also similar but more laid back, less of a cosmopolitan feel compared to Melbourne. Goldcoast, great if you have kids who are primary schoolers to teens but not so for younger kids as they cannot go on a lot of the rides in the theme parks. Adelaide, a lot of small towns to explore, my fav is Handorf. And lastly Sydney, maybe cos whenever I have been to Sydney it is for business rather then leisure.

schweppes

tree nymph:
          Perth

I've never been North though... Anyone went there and anything to recommend?
          I've been to Yanchep and Pinnacle. Personally, didn't think too highly of them. To me, Pinnacle is a place with just rocks sticking out of the ground. I don't find the scenery up north particularly breathtaking. But that's just me lah.

Some of my friends have travelled further up north to Monkey Mia and they like it there. But I find that too far away, so always end up travelling south even tho been there a few times.

Also, find that more pesky flies up north in Dec. ๐Ÿ˜›

๐Ÿ˜‰

tree nymph

schweppes:
            tree nymph:

Perth

I've been to Yanchep and Pinnacle. Personally, didn't think too highly of them. To me, Pinnacle is a place with just rocks sticking out of the ground. I don't find the scenery up north particularly breathtaking. But that's just me lah.

Some of my friends have travelled further up north to Monkey Mia and they like it there. But I find that too far away, so always end up travelling south even tho been there a few times.

Also, find that more pesky flies up north in Dec. ๐Ÿ˜›

๐Ÿ˜‰

there's lots of flies in Dec... and they are huge! hate them! yucks... ๐Ÿ˜›

I think problem with the north is that the drive is very long. for South, if you travel along the coast, you will come to a small town once a while and nice ocean view at the very least. I'm still thinking of going up north, but maybe when the kids are older. aiyah, really sian, wish i can go somewhere else instead.

csc

i have not been to Melbourne and Adelaide..my ranking is as follow ;

Cairns - like the atmosphere there.., enjoyed the cruise to Great Barrier Reef
              Sydney - I like the shopping and eating ...and the beach nearby
              Brisbane/Gold Coast - enjoyable for my kids then..
              Perth - it's beautiful but I was bored , maybe I was in the wrong company then ๐Ÿ™‚

littlewoman

Been to Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Goldcoast. Have not done Cairns but it's on the list. So if I were to rank my preference

Melbourne
                Perth
                Goldcoast
                Adelaide
                Sydney

Melbourne is just so easy to get around and is suitable both for elderly folks and kids. Perth also similar but more laid back, less of a cosmopolitan feel compared to Melbourne. Goldcoast, great if you have kids who are primary schoolers to teens but not so for younger kids as they cannot go on a lot of the rides in the theme parks. Adelaide, a lot of small towns to explore, my fav is Handorf. And lastly Sydney, maybe cos whenever I have been to Sydney it is for business rather then leisure.
                Hi funz,

Anywhere good to go in Melbourne for kids? Also any hotels to recommend :lol: TIA!

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

littlewoman:

Been to Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Goldcoast. Have not done Cairns but it's on the list. So if I were to rank my preference

Melbourne
                  Perth
                  Goldcoast
                  Adelaide
                  Sydney

Hi funz,

Anywhere good to go in Melbourne for kids? Also any hotels to recommend :lol: TIA!

Check out this thread. I posted one of my past itinerary on page 3. There are many more suggestions from forummers there.
                  http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9346

I prefer staying in apartments as you get the option to cook and do laundry. So far when in Aust, I go for most of the Quest apartments, all pretty decent.

csc

littlewoman:

[quote=\"Funz\"]Been to Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Goldcoast. Have not done Cairns but it's on the list. So if I were to rank my preference

Melbourne
                    Perth
                    Goldcoast
                    Adelaide
                    Sydney

Hi funz,

Check out this thread. I posted one of my past itinerary on page 3. There are many more suggestions from forummers there.
                    http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9346

I prefer staying in apartments as you get the option to cook and do laundry. So far when in Aust, I go for most of the Quest apartments, all pretty decent.[/quote]agree . that's what we did too. we also go for motels... some are so nice...i remember one with a spiral staircase ๐Ÿ™‚

bebebub

tree nymph:
                      Perth

How far north are u willing to drive? Up north, u can go monkey Mia, stay at the resort and see if u might be able to feed a couple of dolphins. Explore Shark's Bay....

Still further up, you'll end up seeing Ayers Rock, Alice Springs before ending up at Broome then NT ๐Ÿ™‚

Want sand dunes? U can find them at the Pinnacles. If dun hv the proper boards, take along any big cardboard also can hv improvised fun. On the way to or from Pinnacles, stop at Hamelin Pool to see the Stramatolites.

Just slightly outside Perth city, can go explore Swan Valley, pick fruits ard the wanaroo area, visit Caversham Wildlife Park, Cuddly Farm.....

That's all I can remember off hand.

Down South, hv u been to Albany? Quite nice. The Brusselton Jetty has just been re-opened. Visit caves. Wineries at Margaret River. Spend a leisure day in Rottnest Island..... Think the rest, u've been in your previous trip....

I think Perth is quite boring, but WA offers lots of interesting things to do, provided u are the outdoorish sort who is not rushing to cover the touristy spots. JMHO.

RRMummy

we are thinking of doing Perth in Marchโ€ฆ

Perth + Margaret River - 5 -7days self-drive. 2 of us oldies + 2 DDs (4 and 6yo)

Anyone got ideas on itinerary to offer? I definitely wanna do a farm stayโ€ฆ

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 6 / 25