Chongfu Primary
thanks Babycutie
My girls are already in Tien Hsia, but there’s not much improvement, I reckon this is also because I started them late and that we are generally english-speaking and they do not like to speak mandarin, hopefully the "chinese" environment" in CF can change all these! -
My gal is in Skylace.
Imp75:
thanks Babycutie
My girls are already in Tien Hsia, but there's not much improvement, I reckon this is also because I started them late and that we are generally english-speaking and they do not like to speak mandarin, hopefully the \"chinese\" environment\" in CF can change all these! -
Where is skylace?
just like to share my experience. My boy just finished his P1 this year. We are generally an english speaking family. My son attended only hanyu pinyin classes during his K2 and he speaks very minimal mandarin before entering P1. Eg, he wasnt able to speak in a complete sentence and had a very "ang moh" accent. I did the usual textbook revision with him, and for mid year, he scored 70+. Teacher commented he is generally weak cos he wasnt able to match chinese words together. 2nd half of the year, i tried reading to him in chinese, and also went through his text books. To my big surprise, he scored 92. I guess the paper wasnt that tough, cos the level mean was 90 marks… But i was still happy. So dont worry too much ! -
My girl has not much improvement also. There are still many common words which she can't recognise. Maybe Mandarin is not her forte?? Or maybe we started her late at mid K1?? I really dunno....
For my boy, he is ok. Perhaps we started him early so he can progress from there.Imp75:
thanks Babycutie
My girls are already in Tien Hsia, but there's not much improvement, I reckon this is also because I started them late and that we are generally english-speaking and they do not like to speak mandarin, hopefully the \"chinese\" environment\" in CF can change all these! -
Thank you for the encouragement. I really need that.
I have been stressed lately cos DH kept saying I didn't revise Mandarin with our DD which I did. He gets very agitated because our DD still can't recognise many words although we have sent her to BERRIES.
Can you share how do you revise with your DS? What method did you use to make him recognise and remember the words? How's your DS concentration span when you teach him?
I really hope that DH is not giving our DD stress in this subject.....
BTW, both my kids speak Mandarin with \"Ang Moh\" accents....ky_har:
just like to share my experience. My boy just finished his P1 this year. We are generally an english speaking family. My son attended only hanyu pinyin classes during his K2 and he speaks very minimal mandarin before entering P1. Eg, he wasnt able to speak in a complete sentence and had a very \"ang moh\" accent. I did the usual textbook revision with him, and for mid year, he scored 70+. Teacher commented he is generally weak cos he wasnt able to match chinese words together. 2nd half of the year, i tried reading to him in chinese, and also went through his text books. To my big surprise, he scored 92. I guess the paper wasnt that tough, cos the level mean was 90 marks.. But i was still happy. So dont worry too much ! -
babycutie71,
My boy’s concentration span is not that great. Generally, he doesnt really like chinese but he is a avid english reader. 1st half of the year, they do mainly hanyu pinyin and some easy chinese words…2nd half,mainly chinese words, but not difficult ones… But i have to say that dh’s memory is pretty good and he is quite a fast learner…I didnt have any specific methods for him to memorise the words, i just make him read to me his chinese text. Even then, i dont do it very regularly and i only have 1 assessment book for him. My younger girl is 4 and cant really speak mandarin yet. I’m hoping it’ll get better when she enters K1. You have to watch out for mathematics, though. It’s pretty tough. -
Thank you for sharing. I don't know why my girl's memories for chinese is not there. Maybe she do not like the subject hence didn't put heart in learning. Or maybe the Chinese from Berries is too advance??
Yes, I know Maths is tough. Maths is not my forte so I leave the revision to my hb to handle. Nowadays the question sum in Maths is not like our era where question is very straight forward without many words. For today Maths, if the child English is poor, he/she will have hard time understanding the question.
So which class is your boy in now? How's the homework in CF?
You know, being a first time mum having kid in Primary School, we are worried about the learning pace in CF. Dunno whether our kids can cope or not. Perhaps u can share with us. In General, how's the learning pace in CF. Is it stressing?ky_har:
babycutie71,
My boy's concentration span is not that great. Generally, he doesnt really like chinese but he is a avid english reader. 1st half of the year, they do mainly hanyu pinyin and some easy chinese words..2nd half,mainly chinese words, but not difficult ones.. But i have to say that dh's memory is pretty good and he is quite a fast learner...I didnt have any specific methods for him to memorise the words, i just make him read to me his chinese text. Even then, i dont do it very regularly and i only have 1 assessment book for him. My younger girl is 4 and cant really speak mandarin yet. I'm hoping it'll get better when she enters K1. You have to watch out for mathematics, though. It's pretty tough. -
My son is in 1 observant this year. What about your child ?
Homework seems to vary from class to class. Generally,my son doesnt come back with loads of homework, but some parents from other classes seem to have lots of it. I think it really depends on the teacher’s style.
I didnt find it stressful, but i’m a very relaxed mom…would you believe if i said i didnt have any assessments books for my son during the first semester? I thought textbook and workbook is enough. But then i realized for maths, that’s not the case. Even for 2nd semester, i didnt buy the other school’s exam papers for him. I dont want to stress them out too early, but even then, i think i gave some stress during his 2nd semester exam.
For P2, though, i will try and be more "kiasu" cos they do streaming then… -
My girl will be in 1 Loyal next year. She is still in K2 this year. I am more kiasu....hahahaha.....
We bought quite a bit of assessment books for our girl. Slowly we will be giving her to do daily to prepare her.
Did your boy went through screening test last year for class allocation?
Is it true that it is possible for a child to be transferred out of the class a few times within the same year? My friend told me that her girl class has a few transfer in & out within the same year. That sounds scary leh.....ky_har:
My son is in 1 observant this year. What about your child ?
Homework seems to vary from class to class. Generally,my son doesnt come back with loads of homework, but some parents from other classes seem to have lots of it. I think it really depends on the teacher's style.
I didnt find it stressful, but i'm a very relaxed mom..would you believe if i said i didnt have any assessments books for my son during the first semester? I thought textbook and workbook is enough. But then i realized for maths, that's not the case. Even for 2nd semester, i didnt buy the other school's exam papers for him. I dont want to stress them out too early, but even then, i think i gave some stress during his 2nd semester exam.
For P2, though, i will try and be more \"kiasu\" cos they do streaming then..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.