All About Market Rates of Private Tutors

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    661 Posts 394 Posters 329.6k Views 1 Watching
    • Q Offline
      Quintessential Mum

Pen88n:
      Alamak, if I have this kind of $$, also won't spend like this. $6k/mth works out to be $72k/yr works out to be >$400k for 6 yrs hor. With this kind of $$, can send kid to overseas uni anytime. Why need to suffer so badly with so much tuition for local schooling?

Ha ha - the child arranges all the tuition and wants more! :roll:

• Q Offline
        Quintessential Mum

$100/hr for one-to-one attention ??? You must be kidding. No way can I afford this amt.

I know of someone who arranges for tuition for each subject...but then can afford lah.

If kids have to attend tuition for 4 subjects, the parents might as well home-school the child. What will the child be doing during school curriculum...sleep ?...since he/she has tuition at home.

As for the GEP intensive coaching at P3, it's totally dumb. How can the child become GIFTED after attending a $400 course over a 3 month period ? Even if the child makes it to the 2nd round, he/she will be swarmed in the GIFTED program. Sorry, I know this sounds mean but gifted is in-born. Someone asked me whether I prepared my son for the screening test last yr...I was like 'huh ?' :?
        Agree. When they reach sec school, there are about 8 subjects on average. Can you imagine the tuition bill then? :shock: I think that tuition becomes a Want and no longer a need and parents and students who are so into it can't live without it once they are hooked! It becomes an Addiction!

• Q Offline
          Quintessential Mum

INNOVATE:
          This kind of question is rather funny. If at primary level needs to engage tutor of this calibre, even if a kid excels, the parents will never know the child's true ability. Problems might arose later especially in choosing the route to unis and subject combination.

Don't worry, you can always find tutors even ar uni level as long as you have the dough!

Quintessential Mum:

[quote=\"Quintessential Mum\"]Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:

:faint:

Yup me too! The amount spent could maintain a family of 5![/quote]you too spend 6k - 7k per month on tuition ??

about tuition for kids with high marks / band 1

remember this conversation with a teacher before : the question is why not able to achieve a break through over and above the high marks of 80 - 90…so in came the tutors who focus not only on content but to seriously understand what the questions are asking for, having knowledge may not have answered to the point with the right technical answer…and this kind of coaching to have is worth paying…I guess that is why parents are willing to pay

sorry to say that because PSLE is a placement exam, we all want our kids to be placed ahead of others…so, 80 - 90 is not good enough if the child has the capacity to go beyond that, say consistently above 95 will be good, nearly full marks will be good, be able to make only a few careless mistakes on the top schools’ exam papers will be good…

in so doing, the child learns what is excellency over and above what is very good (I know some parents will disagree with this) - to be balanced with humility, quest for knowledge, put in best effort in every task, and the children can be challenged by the parents and teachers to go beyond what the child think originally impossible

remember this conversation with a teacher before : the question is why not able to achieve a break through over and above the high marks of 80 - 90......so in came the tutors who focus not only on content but to seriously understand what the questions are asking for, having knowledge may not have answered to the point with the right technical answer....and this kind of coaching to have is worth paying....I guess that is why parents are willing to pay

sorry to say that because PSLE is a placement exam, we all want our kids to be placed ahead of others.....so, 80 - 90 is not good enough if the child has the capacity to go beyond that, say consistently above 95 will be good, nearly full marks will be good, be able to make only a few careless mistakes on the top schools' exam papers will be good...

in so doing, the child learns what is excellency over and above what is very good (I know some parents will disagree with this) - to be balanced with humility, quest for knowledge, put in best effort in every task, and the children can be challenged by the parents and teachers to go beyond what the child think originally impossible
                I have to differ with you here.

Firstly, high ability kids are not in tuition but enrichment and they don't need multiple but just one good one to keep them stretched and stimulated.

Secondly, sorry to say this, but the words in bold is the perception some commercial teachers want to create. It is all about understanding the marking scheme only. I have managed to coach my kid to get full marks in those areas after I figure out the marking scheme. As for understanding what the question wants, if it is written in clear English and not ambiguous, nothing so difficult to understand. I really hate those low quality questions being posed and positioned as tricky questions for the children, undermining their intelligence. And if an exam question is not written to be understood easily, it is questionable what is the objective? They should be tested for deriving the answer and not having to spend alot of time interpreting the unclear question. We are talking about supposedly high ability kids here trying to move a good grade to a better one.

In search of excellence is beyond exam. In fact exam is the worst method to make one go in search of excellence. The kind of exams we have now actually cripple many things in the learning process but can score A*. You can read more from 2ppaamm's comments on what she finds in her uni students today in this thread: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2353&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=290

Blobbi

Quintessential Mum:

[quote=\"Quintessential Mum\"]Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:

:faint:

Yup me too! The amount spent could maintain a family of 5![/quote] :shock:
                  And the kid has the time and the willingness to sit through so many classes? Isn't there a law of diminishing marginal returns?

tutormum:

[quote=\"Brenda10\"]
                    Hi KSI

Still remember dd ever said want to keep those notes/materials in case in future she may give tution to P5 students.

I kept my son's lower block Science notes in the hope that my daughter will be able to use them.
                    ONLY tutors will vote YES to charging $100/hr.

I beg to differ, I am a tutor myself and I vote NO. 😉 I have even rejected students who were doing well in school. If the child is constantly scoring band 1, why does he/she need tuition? Once, a parent told me that she wants her child to maintain her standards. IMHO, if a child can constantly score above 80, he/she is very independant to study on his/her own to maintain that standard. period. Why waste money on tutors? A tutor is there to guide and help a child to overcome his/her weakness, not a miracle worker. However, many parents think that if they engage a tutor, their child will do well and a super tutor will enable the child to excel. Parents have to wake up and realise that a tutor can only do so much. :P[/quote]Kudos to you tutormum, you are probably an exception. to vote NO.
                    Students who do well is not looking for tuition, looking for a governess.

remember this conversation with a teacher before : the question is why not able to achieve a break through over and above the high marks of 80 - 90......so in came the tutors who focus not only on content but to seriously understand what the questions are asking for, having knowledge may not have answered to the point with the right technical answer....and this kind of coaching to have is worth paying....I guess that is why parents are willing to pay

sorry to say that because PSLE is a placement exam, we all want our kids to be placed ahead of others.....so, 80 - 90 is not good enough if the child has the capacity to go beyond that, say consistently above 95 will be good, nearly full marks will be good, be able to make only a few careless mistakes on the top schools' exam papers will be good...

I have to differ with you here.

Firstly, high ability kids are not in tuition but enrichment and they don't need multiple but just one good one to keep them stretched and stimulated.

Secondly, sorry to say this, but the words in bold is the perception some commercial teachers want to create. It is all about understanding the marking scheme only. I have managed to coach my kid to get full marks in those areas after I figure out the marking scheme. As for understanding what the question wants, if it is written in clear English and not ambiguous, nothing so difficult to understand. I really hate those low quality questions being posed and positioned as tricky questions for the children, undermining their intelligence. And if an exam question is not written to be understood easily, it is questionable what is the objective? They should be tested for deriving the answer and not having to spend alot of time interpreting the unclear question. We are talking about supposedly high ability kids here trying to move a good grade to a better one.

In search of excellence is beyond exam. In fact exam is the worst method to make one go in search of excellence. The kind of exams we have now actually cripple many things in the learning process but can score A*. You can read more from 2ppaamm's comments on what she finds in her uni students today in this thread: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2353&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=290

ksi, have no disagreement with you on your points. i may have generalised my points and my engrish writing needs tuition

Nothing wrong with your Engrish...you are just being sold by what that teacher told you. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 67