IJJ

Mrsbongz:

Wah.. I can barely keep up with reading this thread.. 12 pages in a day!!
      Me too. *panting* I speed-read. ๐Ÿ˜‰

dyh, I did not realise Gr2 last year got all band 1 for Maths. Congrats for your son's maths! He tops the class again!

As for the assessment books, I bought more for Science this year (guide books and practise papers), due to the lack of coverage in class. I like the ACE test practise papers and used them for revision right before actual exam. The others, only 1 each subject. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have not sent mine to any formal olympiad course yet, just let her work on the books bought from popular. She will be attending a short course coming holiday. Is it absolutely necessary to attend regular formal training?

php

IJJ:
        Mrsbongz:

Wah.. I can barely keep up with reading this thread.. 12 pages in a day!!

Me too. *panting* I speed-read. ๐Ÿ˜‰

dyh, I did not realise Gr2 last year got all band 1 for Maths. Congrats for your son's maths! He tops the class again!

As for the assessment books, I bought more for Science this year (guide books and practise papers), due to the lack of coverage in class. I like the ACE test practise papers and used them for revision right before actual exam. The others, only 1 each subject. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have not sent mine to any formal olympiad course yet, just let her work on the books bought from popular. She will be attending a short course coming holiday. Is it absolutely necessary to attend regular formal training?

i heard from someone that if a kid is applying the sec sch through DSA, the school will look for the kid's achievements, such as Maths Olympaid Competition. And i heard that the min req must be at least a Silver. If that is the case, then I will think that a formal training will be more appropriate. verykiasu2010 is very resourceful, maybe we can hear his comments....mine is still far away, so not thinking about that yet...

markfch

i heard from someone that if a kid is applying the sec sch through DSA, the school will look for the kid's achievements, such as Maths Olympaid Competition. And i heard that the min req must be at least a Silver. If that is the case, then I will think that a formal training will be more appropriate. verykiasu2010 is very resourceful, maybe we can hear his comments....mine is still far away, so not thinking about that yet...

Yep, agree that vk2010 is very resourceful. Usually for DSA, the sch will choose the candidates. For his ds's case, he gets to choose the sch. There's even a top sch offering to make all the nec arrangements to transfer his ds from his original DSA sch of choice to them.

vk2010, your ds (not you hor) is my idol :udaman:

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

vk2010, your ds (not you hor) is my idol :udaman:

How can u say this? Behind every successful child is a hardworking cum kiasu parent(s). ๐Ÿ˜‰

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

Sorry lots of these 12 pages is just men's talk (farcical small talks) between vk2010, php & me. :oops:

I hardly read other schs' threads, but I think once a while we need some small talk to relieve some tension felt while reading this PH thread ๐Ÿ˜‰

VbusyMum

IJJ - I also speed read to keep up with the discussions.

Agree that it can be stressful reading PH thread but it is very informative and a very good avenue to share each of PH parentโ€™s concerns and at times anxiety.

By the way, sometime back someone mention PH is looking at "cottage" basis approach โ€“ i.e. mixing strong & weak student rather that putting all elite in one class. Did anyone heard that for P1 this year, the class will move up together to P2 rather than doing streaming?

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

The GEP selection results is supposed to be released in early Nov and parents hv up to x date in Nov to decide whether to accept the GEP placement.

The sch report books are to be given to the pupils next week, before the x date of parents confirming GEP placement.

So, wld the class placement for P4 next year be reflected in the P3 report book?

Suppose 20 pupils from the top classes accepted GEP and transferred out of PH, does it mean the 20 vacancies will be filled up by moving all pupils upwards based on the level positions?

Shld anyone has insider info on how many pupils accepted GEP placement, pls post here when possible. I wld like to guage the chances of my boy going to a better class (at least Ho4) or shld I start making other plans?

VbusyMum

Shld anyone has insider info on how many pupils accepted GEP placement, pls post here when possible. I wld like to guage the chances of my boy going to a better class (at least Ho4) or shld I start making other plans?
                    Jenneifer - I can understand....which is why I was thrilled when I hear there is a chance that P1 this year will move up together to P2. Waiting for anyone in this thread to advice if they had heard the same as there were some discussions on cottage style apprach sometime back. If this is true at least I know there are quite a number of good student in his class which can give him positive influence.

My boy SA2 has improved as compared to SA1 but EL not so good (altho still band 1 since most P1 will score 90+). Using some statistics shared by some of you earlier...my boy average score (estimated) is about 89...not 90 so prob no chance to Gr2.

• dyhD Offline
                      dyh

VbusyMum:
                      IJJ - I also speed read to keep up with the discussions.

Agree that it can be stressful reading PH thread but it is very informative and a very good avenue to share each of PH parent's concerns and at times anxiety.

By the way, sometime back someone mention PH is looking at \"cottage\" basis approach -- i.e. mixing strong & weak student rather that putting all elite in one class. Did anyone heard that for P1 this year, the class will move up together to P2 rather than doing streaming?
                      Both banding and cottage approach have their own pros and cons. with the latter, there will be less pressure or incentive on the kids to push themselves so as to maintain their class or strive for a better class. not sure this is good or bad? also the top students in the class will probably be able to consistently go up the stage every year, giving less chance to those weaker pupils to get the top 3 prizes in a weaker class. Will the teacher also have to slow down their teaching to make sure everyone catches up?

talking about Math Olympiad and DSA, I think Mathspark is the real expert in this forum

generally, if your DSA first choice is for NUSHS, preferably must have NMOS Gold (Pri 5) and SMOPS (Gold / Platinum - Pri 6) and be good in science

there are so many avenues to enter HCI via DSA - sports, math, bilingual, GEP, etc

for RI, if you are not GEP, be the top few in SG in your selected domain, be it arts, math, science, EL or CL

for NYGH: bilingual, GEP, calligraphy (national top 3 consistently), math

for DHS : any of the above (่ฎฒๅบŸ่ฏ)

in terms of academic competition, what else besides math olympiad (NMOS, SMOPS, RIPWMC, AMC, PLK, Gauss.... all these vlim is more expert)

my kaypoh info may not be accurate hor

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 277 / 2049

WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards