IJJ

To be safe, be a little long winded even if the qn asks for a reason. Like qn 43b(i) on the balsam plant if the flower is missing. My boy also thought ahead n wrote \"wld not reproduce\" and was marked wrong. I wld prefer \" wld not bear fruit and no reproduction will take place.\"No need to guess. Safer to write down the \"immediate cause and effect\" type of answers, then followed by secondary effects. Some teachers very stingy one, if dun write down secondary effects, also marked incomplete answers πŸ˜›
      You see, the confusion comes in when there is a fruit (part A) hanging on the branch. That was why mine hesitated for a while and did not write down the 'fruit' part. She told me, strictly speaking, w/o the flower (part B), the plant will still reproduce because there are seeds in the balsam fruit (part A), so the correct answer in her mind is \"the plant will not die and will continue to grow and reproduce with the seeds in part A.\" Well, eventually, she decided to write the 'reproduce' part, omiting the 'no fruit' part.

• JenniferJ Offline
        Jennifer

IJJ:
        Hmmm...only FT showed them the EL paper I with scores, the CL tr did not even reveal the score, let alone a peek of the paper.

Any idea what's the highest EL paper 1 score in your girl's class?

As my boy was absent from school whole of last week, he was not shown his paper 1 (also dun know if the FT returned paper 1 to the class). He was told only his overall EL and by working backwards, we deduced that he got 30/35 for paper 1 and the oral test.

Thinking of how he can up this component in future.

• JenniferJ Offline
          Jennifer

IJJ:
          You see, the confusion comes in when there is a fruit (part A) hanging on the branch. That was why mine hesitated for a while and did not write down the 'fruit' part.

Ya, that fruit hanging there is kind of confusing.

IJJ

IJJ:

Hmmm...only FT showed them the EL paper I with scores, the CL tr did not even reveal the score, let alone a peek of the paper.

18/20

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

IJJ:

[quote=\"IJJ\"]Hmmm...only FT showed them the EL paper I with scores, the CL tr did not even reveal the score, let alone a peek of the paper.

18/20[/quote]Wow, that's very high.

• dyhD Offline
                dyh

IJJ:
                S6169:

Math Qn 34. answer is three angles that are smaller than a right-angle. but among these three angles, one angle only about 1 degree lesser than the right angle. how can the children differentiate this tiny difference.

Yup. This too. My lost a mark. She coloured and erased.

Mine lost a mark here too. It is 89+ degrees. How can the pupil tell it is not 90 degrees without a protractor? This is the question which the FT initially said is not fair and would check with the school. But in the end, I guess the appeal was not granted.

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

E3:

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]She did not return paper 2 to my boy ytd :x My boy told me only some classmates have their paper 2 back.

This is ridiculous. Didn't she think before she distributed the papers?

Ah lor, siao one. My boy also dun know if some classmates got theirs back last week or why ytd not whole class got theirs back. Funny thing is, she said to return today though the sch letter indicated Wed.[/quote]My dd's memo states:

P1 and P2, Return SA2 papers to pupils on Tues, 2 Nov, Collect SA2 Papers from pupils (latest by) Thurs, 4 Nov.

P3 to P5, Return SA2 papers to pupils on Mon, 8 Nov, Collect SA2 Papers from pupils (latest by) Wed, 10 Nov.

Uhmmm, is this the one your ds received?

My dd received her EL and Math papers for keeping at home yesterday. I guess no more changes for the P2s already.

Reading all the ambiguous Science questions, I pray the paper will be set at a better standard next year (or every other year?). πŸ™

dyh:
                      IJJ:

[quote=\"S6169\"]
                      Math Qn 34. answer is three angles that are smaller than a right-angle. but among these three angles, one angle only about 1 degree lesser than the right angle. how can the children differentiate this tiny difference.

Yup. This too. My lost a mark. She coloured and erased.

Mine lost a mark here too. It is 89+ degrees. How can the pupil tell it is not 90 degrees without a protractor? This is the question which the FT initially said is not fair and would check with the school. But in the end, I guess the appeal was not granted.[/quote]Since more than one parent in this thread have qualms about this question, I think you should feedback to your respective FTs. Math is all about logic and accuracy. We shouldn't create confusion in the kid.

• dyhD Offline
                        dyh

comfy:

Parents of P3, do you hv issues with Science qn 34a and Maths qn 38?

For me, I think the Sci qn 34a is a bit silly, like trying to test the counting skill :? . Hope that the Sci dept will come up with more intelligent/sensible qn.For Maths qn38, I have no issue. How about you?

My son got 34a wrong but it is because he could not see the line pointing to the ant properly.

Well, maybe they wanted to test the observation skill of the pupils for this question. science is also about observation skill.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 301 / 2049

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog