Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    1.2k Posts 455 Posters 829.0k Views 1 Watching
      titank

Hi Buds,

I called up every MMI, in the end all told me they are childcare based.Do not have any enrichment type. 😢

Seriously? :?

Even the enrichment ones?

titank

Maybe I should forget about MMI, having to take 2 subjects is tough! See how my DD perform & get to by end of the year.

It's not imperative that you do 2 subjects at one go & stressing

her & yourself out. Start out with the phonics and once that is
            over, continue the Math. The homebased one can just stick to
            Phonics first as i have advised you before. Maximise the time
            of 1.5hrs to learn one thing at a time rather than shorten
            the timing to 45min to learn both... btw, how is she doing
            over at the homebased one? Care to share feedback? šŸ˜„

kola

[quote]
              kola wrote:
              - Could you suggest a better and more interesting method to revise with her, as the blue series is getting tougher, I want to make sure she really grab the concept and know the words.

buds wrote:
              Sure thing, lemme get together some materials and share with you some
              activities to work with her. Gimme some time okie? Cos my girls are in
              the midst of exams and we're doing revision together these days they
              are home. [/quote]Hi buds,
              Do you still remember me...? :oops: I think it has been quite a while, probably it has slip your mind a little....
              Hmm.... I am still waiting patiently for the suggestion of activities that I could do with my girl (K1 next year) on her blue scheme phonics at home....
              Kindly advise... šŸ™ Thanks in advance your time and effort...

Yes, of course i still remember you kola.

Sorry i'm tied up with some events with
                the girls' school for year-end graduation
                and performances stuff like that... i'm an
                active parent-support momma for my
                girls' school. I have found some stuff to
                share with ya... will find time to take some
                pictures and put it up to help you in your
                journey to help yours... šŸ˜‰ Apologies
                for the delay. :oops:

In the meantime, there are some activities
                here you can read up about from my other
                thread, ya?

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1927

kola

Hi buds,

Knowing that you are a very busy mommy... I will wait patiently...
                  Thank you for the useful link... :lol:

:lol: Yah, i try to keep myself occupied to stay sane. :lol:

Yes... Yes... Patience IS afterall a virtue. :please:

titank

It's not imperative that you do 2 subjects at one go & stressing

her & yourself out. Start out with the phonics and once that is
                      over, continue the Math. The homebased one can just stick to
                      Phonics first as i have advised you before. Maximise the time
                      of 1.5hrs to learn one thing at a time rather than shorten
                      the timing to 45min to learn both... btw, how is she doing
                      over at the homebased one? Care to share feedback? šŸ˜„
                      Think she is doing fine as the teacher told me now my DD had learn the 1st character & last character. Soon can decode the word! Example Snail, S & L she know.

Maybe she is an existing kindergarten teacher so she do put in some extra outside montessori phonics. Had inform the teacher that I would want her to concentrate phonics, maths can come later.

Would provide more feedback once I get the assessment report.

Ok lah from Redhill to Sengkang at the most 20-30 minutes
                      drive I can still tahan!

titank:
                        Think she is doing fine as the teacher told me now my DD had learn the 1st character & last character. Soon can decode the word! Example Snail, S & L she know.

That means she will be doing wordbuilding soon. But not for words like
                        snail... hee.. šŸ˜‰... it'd be more to those 3-letter ones like c_t, t_p (etc).
                        She'd be learning that two consonants and a vowel make a word and she
                        should be taught to listen and sound out the vowel sounds in 3-letter
                        phonetic words. šŸ˜„
                        titank:
                        Maybe she is an existing kindergarten teacher so she do put in some extra outside montessori phonics.
                        Yes, that is definitely a plus! :celebrate:
                        titank:
                        Had inform the teacher that I would want her to concentrate phonics, maths can come later.
                        You lah... early early dowan to listen to me. Cheh.. :roll: :lol:
                        But good that you eventually went ahead with just one. šŸ˜‰
                        Your DD is still quite young... consider just nice to start this
                        early & will definitely have enough time to do other enrichment
                        programmes to support her learning development. Think mebbe
                        u learnt your lesson from your DS time... :lol: Cannot last minute
                        prepare children for primary education... especially in our current
                        pace of primary school curriculum. šŸ˜›
                        titank:
                        Would provide more feedback once I get the assessment report.
                        Orite bro, cool. šŸ˜Ž Will look out for it! šŸ˜„
                        titank:
                        Ok lah from Redhill to Sengkang at the most 20-30 minutes drive I can still tahan!
                        At least you drive mah.. not taking public transport. While she goes
                        for lesson, you can hop over Sengkang Pool and play slide with your
                        DS for one on one time. šŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 71 / 123