Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    1.2k Posts 455 Posters 833.0k Views 1 Watching

Yes, of course i still remember you kola.

Sorry i'm tied up with some events with
      the girls' school for year-end graduation
      and performances stuff like that... i'm an
      active parent-support momma for my
      girls' school. I have found some stuff to
      share with ya... will find time to take some
      pictures and put it up to help you in your
      journey to help yours... šŸ˜‰ Apologies
      for the delay. :oops:

In the meantime, there are some activities
      here you can read up about from my other
      thread, ya?

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1927

kola

Hi buds,

Knowing that you are a very busy mommy... I will wait patiently...
        Thank you for the useful link... :lol:

:lol: Yah, i try to keep myself occupied to stay sane. :lol:

Yes... Yes... Patience IS afterall a virtue. :please:

titank

It's not imperative that you do 2 subjects at one go & stressing

her & yourself out. Start out with the phonics and once that is
            over, continue the Math. The homebased one can just stick to
            Phonics first as i have advised you before. Maximise the time
            of 1.5hrs to learn one thing at a time rather than shorten
            the timing to 45min to learn both... btw, how is she doing
            over at the homebased one? Care to share feedback? šŸ˜„
            Think she is doing fine as the teacher told me now my DD had learn the 1st character & last character. Soon can decode the word! Example Snail, S & L she know.

Maybe she is an existing kindergarten teacher so she do put in some extra outside montessori phonics. Had inform the teacher that I would want her to concentrate phonics, maths can come later.

Would provide more feedback once I get the assessment report.

Ok lah from Redhill to Sengkang at the most 20-30 minutes
            drive I can still tahan!

titank:
              Think she is doing fine as the teacher told me now my DD had learn the 1st character & last character. Soon can decode the word! Example Snail, S & L she know.

That means she will be doing wordbuilding soon. But not for words like
              snail... hee.. šŸ˜‰... it'd be more to those 3-letter ones like c_t, t_p (etc).
              She'd be learning that two consonants and a vowel make a word and she
              should be taught to listen and sound out the vowel sounds in 3-letter
              phonetic words. šŸ˜„
              titank:
              Maybe she is an existing kindergarten teacher so she do put in some extra outside montessori phonics.
              Yes, that is definitely a plus! :celebrate:
              titank:
              Had inform the teacher that I would want her to concentrate phonics, maths can come later.
              You lah... early early dowan to listen to me. Cheh.. :roll: :lol:
              But good that you eventually went ahead with just one. šŸ˜‰
              Your DD is still quite young... consider just nice to start this
              early & will definitely have enough time to do other enrichment
              programmes to support her learning development. Think mebbe
              u learnt your lesson from your DS time... :lol: Cannot last minute
              prepare children for primary education... especially in our current
              pace of primary school curriculum. šŸ˜›
              titank:
              Would provide more feedback once I get the assessment report.
              Orite bro, cool. šŸ˜Ž Will look out for it! šŸ˜„
              titank:
              Ok lah from Redhill to Sengkang at the most 20-30 minutes drive I can still tahan!
              At least you drive mah.. not taking public transport. While she goes
              for lesson, you can hop over Sengkang Pool and play slide with your
              DS for one on one time. šŸ˜‰

titank

Yes now doing the 3 letter word not those 5 letter word. Guess just have to take it easy & no point rushing.

For the case of my DS, he completed Montessori Phonics from age 4.5 to 5. So in Age 6 (K2) he was being put into P1 class as suggested by the teacher. In commercial centre, some phonics course even can start at age 3. Generally I do not like to start too early as that means I have to pump the $$ faster.

Have lah, I got listen your word meaning that concentrate on the phonics. Indeed in 90 minutes to do both the phonics & maths is not easy. I think now is more like 90% phonics & have a bit of time then into the maths like 10%. Guess maths can come later where most important master the phonics.

No chance go Sengkang Pool play slides lah! While the DD having phonics class, I’m on my way bring DS go swimming. So it is super challenging to have 2 kids having enrichment around the same time.

hope05

Hi

My DS has been attending enrichment lessons at Zoo Phonics since 18 months and he will be in K2 next year.

I am switching him over to MA next year cos i was told that besides Phonics, MA will teach a lot of other things like Speech N Drama, Early Writing Skills, Simple story-writing (scribing), Early reading comprehension, Vocabulary building.

But i am worried that whether the transition will be good for him.

Anybody with kids in MA. How do they teach the phonics there?

Appreciate yr advise.

Thks & rdgs,

titank:
                    Yes now doing the 3 letter word not those 5 letter word. Guess just have to take it easy & no point rushing. For the case of my DS, he completed Montessori Phonics from age 4.5 to 5. So in Age 6 (K2) he was being put into P1 class as suggested by the teacher. In commercial centre, some phonics course even can start at age 3.

Oh... then for your DS consider ok la.. the age he embarked on his enrichment
                    programme is just nice. šŸ˜‰ Yah? There are centres that offer Phonics course
                    for 3-year olds? Really?
                    titank:
                    Generally I do not like to start too early as that means I have to pump the $$ faster.
                    Cute lar you! :lol:
                    titank:
                    Have lah, I got listen your word meaning that concentrate on the phonics.
                    Got arh? Cause initially i remember you mentioned scared your DD bored
                    of doing the Phonics part thru out the whole session mah... that's why i
                    said you dowan to listen lor. :laugh: Joking arh... joking... :siam:
                    titank:
                    Indeed in 90 minutes to do both the phonics & maths is not easy. I think now is more like 90% phonics & have a bit of time then into the maths like 10%. Guess maths can come later where most important master the phonics.
                    Of course Math can come later. By then the language is also better developed. šŸ˜„
                    No point lah do 10%. Montessori Math has a wide range of materials to work with...
                    How to work with the child even if 1 to 1 basis with only 10% of the time aiyoh... :slapshead:
                    Mission impossible and meaningless to even begin with. Montessori Math is a multi-
                    sensory method of teaching Math. Without sufficient time to even work with the
                    materials, how to grasp any concept?
                    titank:
                    No chance go Sengkang Pool play slides lah! While the DD having phonics class, I’m on my way bring DS go swimming. So it is super challenging to have 2 kids having enrichment around the same time.
                    If you send DS Sengkang Pool, nearby nia mah... then DD goes Montessori
                    enrichment, DS goes for swimming lesson and YOU can go play slides all on your own! šŸ˜‰
                    Lagi best! Some time for yourself!

jojo

titank:
                      Hi Buds,

I called up every MMI, in the end all told me they are childcare based.Do not have any enrichment type. 😢
                      All bottom down to the ctr itself. Principal and Staff. My girl is in Pasir Ris MMI, at the age of five, she could write this to me when we brought her to Club Med Phuket

\"jie jie you are the best!
                      Mummy you are the best!
                      Daddy you are the best!
                      Thank you for bringing me to ClubMed.
                      Thank you for teaching me Mathematic and English.
                      I love you all!

When she handed that to me she told me does it slang. I am impressed.

all this also bottom down to individual character, my 2nd girl she is more creative than her jie jie. She likes to show and express herself. During dinner she will say \"Mummy, enjoy your meal\" not like the usual saying \"mummy eat, daddy eat\"

• jenaoJ Offline
                        jenao

This is a very enlightening thread.

Would like to ask if ds (5 yrs) has started reading (we did the basic 3 letter phonics and some blends- very basic) and is starting to read books and able to sort of guess or sound out most of the words that he has not seen, shld we still continue to teach phonics?

Also, how do I start getting him to do spelling? He is very reluctant to write and his penmanship is not good at all. He needs to practice a lot but is very reluctant. I am not sure if he knows his spelling as we have not tested him.

Appreciate your reply.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 71 / 123