Maris Stella High

3.7k Posts 428 Posters 1.2m Views 2 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      24hr-mum

if want to move, move within 1km of the sch. no pt moving and still got to ballot

smurf

Hey cherry,

Yup yup, Me engrish no gud lah... :lol:

Got hdb lah near MS, just that you have to walk quite a long distance also, because in between the school and the hdb, is the Gurkhas camp.if there is no camp, then the distance is not that long, cos gotta detour. And the road there is quite quiet. Serangoon central is better, but I dun think the distance is short by walking. The poor boy has to walk under hot weather leh. Unless u opt for MRT, 1 station only. But then again, if still have to take MRT, might as well stay put coz bishan is only 3 MRT stops away.

😛

Chilli Padi

From next year onwards, school will end at 3.45pm every Monday. Hence, parents will need to provide for lunch on that day. If you choose to cater for lunch (besides the usual catered recess food), you need to pay an extra of about $60 tomorrow morning (for P1 orientation). :roll:

cherrygal

rachellim1:
            From next year onwards, school will end at 3.45pm every Monday. Hence, parents will need to provide for lunch on that day. If you choose to cater for lunch (besides the usual catered recess food), you need to pay an extra of about $60 tomorrow morning (for P1 orientation). :roll:

Hi Rachel
            Do you know why they end so late on Mondays? They didn't include this in the orientation package.

cherrygal

24hr-mum:
              if want to move, move within 1km of the sch. no pt moving and still got to ballot

Oh, our sons are already in the school. No need to ballot anymore. We just want to stay nearer to facilitate the ferrying.

You hoping for CHS? Many of us are also Catholics living in Bishan. We all gave up on CHS this year. Wish you luck next year!

Namie

Are we all excited? Just a few months back, we were still monitoring the registration statistics and (me) stationing at St. Stephen’s on second day. Tomorrow we will all be going for orientation.

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

hi cherrygal

ya, me a catholic bishan mum. had been aiming for CHS but didnt expect the plcs so few this year and scared will repeat next year.
                  so i m thinkg of changing target and go for MS

do u think shd i stay put in bishan and try MS for phase 2b outside 2km and risk balloting (balloting is a must but chances higher than CH), or just shift to 1km of MS and surely get in?

if i stay put in go for CH in both phases, chances of failing and ending up in GY is very hi too

is CH or MS a better choice?

rachel - hi, why end so late on mon? esp if just p1?

Namie

$20 into the drain. Came home, checked the box of books and stationaries and found the crayons and color pencils all not in there.

My son said the school building looks like a Chinese temple. He asked how is he going to play at recess time there are so many boys around, some may push him into the pond, off the bridge or refuse to let him use the swing.

The ending at 3.45pm, should be due to PAL?

• 2 Offline
                      24hr-mum

what is PAL?

bigfoot

Honey:
                        Traffic is ok if you can try to reach the school before 7am or latest by 7am. The turning into the school lane is a bit of a problem. What you can do is after a while when your son is more settled down, you may alight your son outside the gate (just behind the bus stop) & let him walk in so you skip the congested lane leading into the school.

And if you have no choice but let your son take the school bus home, just be open-minded about it. It isn't as bad. Tell your son to try to sit nearer to the bus aunty or bus uncle so they can keep watch on him (you can even have a word with the bus uncle/aunty about him).
                        I am quite sure I will reach the school before 7am. Just hope traffic is good as I need to travel all the way to Jurong by 7.45am or 8am. Yes, most likely I will settle for him to take schoolbus home until we find a place near the school. Thanks for your advise. 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 57 / 366

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations