Maris Stella High

3.7k Posts 428 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching
      bigfoot

24hr-mum:
      now toying btwn rental n buying cos i m eligible to sublet my plc.

scared moe will disdvantage rental applicants
      Why would MOE disadvantage rental applicants? They will simply based on the address shown in your IC at the time of application. They won't ask whether u own or rent the place. Rental can be pretty high. The Casa Rosa Condo rental is about $3k and above.

bigfoot

24hr-mum:
        ya maybe just reg for MS at p1, and waitlist for CHS (if my boy do get into CH at p3 but aiyo, lookg at him,..i dont think too much)

I don't think I would consider changing school if my son is happy in the school. If it is not broken, why fix it? Say, 3 or 4 years down the road, my son is happy and doing well in MSH, I'd rather he stay in MSH even if I am offered places in other schools such as CHS. Even GEP, I may not consider either.

bigfoot

vicki:
          I thk u r correct. Std 6am ans. But i also wonder if they are despatching smaller buses 4 far off area n bigger buses 4 nearer areas so tats why timing wise all end up same? How much deposit did he collected fm u guys? 60 or 100?

I paid $100 deposit. Since it is full refund, it doesnt matter whether it is $60 or $100 right? Anyway, we will find out in mid Dec. Was told to call and check around that time.

vicki

bigfoot:
            vicki:

I thk u r correct. Std 6am ans. But i also wonder if they are despatching smaller buses 4 far off area n bigger buses 4 nearer areas so tats why timing wise all end up same? How much deposit did he collected fm u guys? 60 or 100?

I paid $100 deposit. Since it is full refund, it doesnt matter whether it is $60 or $100 right? Anyway, we will find out in mid Dec. Was told to call and check around that time.

Can refund one har? I tot its like a gone thing... I was toying between one way or 2 way (since only incremental of 10%) so figured just pay 100 bucks first then decide later.

cherrygal

bigfoot:
              24hr-mum:

ya maybe just reg for MS at p1, and waitlist for CHS (if my boy do get into CH at p3 but aiyo, lookg at him,..i dont think too much)

I don't think I would consider changing school if my son is happy in the school. If it is not broken, why fix it? Say, 3 or 4 years down the road, my son is happy and doing well in MSH, I'd rather he stay in MSH even if I am offered places in other schools such as CHS. Even GEP, I may not consider either.

Yup, not waiting for CHS coz we just spent a bomb on the books, catered food and uniforms at MSH! But if he does get into the GEP (without the help of GEP coaching), then maybe I might change him to CHS for my grandkids' sake. Now we know how being an old boy helps... But my most farfetched hope is for him to do well at PSLE and get into RI...

cherrygal

24hr-mum:
                hi cherrygal

to get a sure plc in MS vs a balloting chance in CH. which better?

if i stay put, n dont get CH or MS, i dont want to consider Montfort or st gabe whc is far too. might as well just opt for a nearby neighborhd sch. chances wld be GY cos Kuo Chuan wld be gone too by phase 2c supp.

on one hand CH is more more convenient to everyone but if i dont do anythg now that i can to put my child in a gd sch, i wonder if i will regret if end up in schs not of my choice leh.

how?
                I had the same worries... I never wanted my son to end up in a non-Catholic school like GY or AMK govt schools so I couldn't take the risk of balloting for CHS. You are lucky you still have a year to take action. We were all taken by surprise this year.

Frankly, I still think you will stand a good chance at MSH next year without moving 1km within. Most of us got in this year.

If you really want to guarantee a spot, why don't you buy a small 2nd property near MSH if you have the cash? I am assuming you now have a HDB in Bishan. Keep that HDB (due to the recent changes in property ownership). Tat 2nd property address can be your backup at Phase 2C for MSH should you lose the CHS ballot at Phase 2B. You will then have one week to change your official address on your NRIC.
                😉
                MSH usually guaranteed for 1km and below at both phases.

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

wld the sch chk when i change the ic address?

if i got into ms then i really to move, n the small pprty wont do cos i hv 6 pax - 3kids, couple, maid. but ur idea is a gd one. cos small 1 not so costly

maybe i shd just a small one as a backup but rental is usu 2yr contract. i guess buy better, can sell anytime if dont get into ms.

• 2 Offline
                    24hr-mum

i got no money or cpf to buy 2nd ppty. hv to sell current plc if i chose to be near ms. reminds me of the saying 孟母三迁。literally this wld really be my 3rd move haha.

• 2 Offline
                      24hr-mum

got anyone stay bartley area but kids study in amk (sng)? any idea how long the sch bus journey?

cherrygal

24hr-mum:
                        wld the sch chk when i change the ic address?

if i got into ms then i really to move, n the small pprty wont do cos i hv 6 pax - 3kids, couple, maid. but ur idea is a gd one. cos small 1 not so costly

maybe i shd just a small one as a backup but rental is usu 2yr contract. i guess buy better, can sell anytime if dont get into ms.
                        Yah, the smaller 2nd property cannot be rented out coz it's now less than a year from the next registration period. You cannot use the address if it's rented out coz you never know if your tenants would also use the same address for P1 registration. That happened before last time. Sacrifice the rental. What I would do is to buy around April next year, 3 months for completion of sale, July - Aug is registration period, use the address if needed. If you get CHS, then you can just rent out the property. If you need it for MS 1km, then you can use the address first, buy another bigger unit in the vicinity, and sell or rent out the smaller one. But note, if you sell the property within the 1st year of possession, you will incur a higher stamp duty. Govt doesn't encourage speculation.

Take this option only if you have money to play with and holding power. If you need to sell one property to buy another, then I don't think it's very viable.

But seriously, if you still harbor hopes for CHS, don't move. If you move now, you are officially saying goodbye to CHS.

Think the schoolbus travel time between AMK and Bartley is about 40mins.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 61 / 366

sweetgirl80S
                        sweetgirl80