Maris Stella High
Anyone worried about Chineses at MS?? sigh Iβm worried my boy cant cope!!
smurf:
CHS has upper hand, coz they have GEP program and they accept bright bright students at p4, so that would push their standard to the higher level?? And Since MS dun have GEP, their bright bright students have to leave the sch to go to GEP school. So their result drop?? :lol:
CHS did well in the last few years. However I saw that among the top pupils, quite a number are not local. Correct me if I am wrong. Also, bearing in mind they do have a few classes og GEP, I expect the PSLE to be much better. At the end of the day, it is the teachers, your child learning attitude and most importantly, US, the parents! For me, MSH is a Catholic school. I wouldn't have consider it if it is not.
BTW, GEP doesn't mean the pupils will have good PSLE results. Don't equate intelligence with academic performance.
Namie:
Does anyone know the children are allowed mobile phones? I saw the children lining up to make phone calls on pay phones so I thought they are not allowed mobile. Can anyone shed light on it?
Do u intend to let ur child carry HP at P1? Dun stress us parents who dun intend to let our child carry leh... haha... -
vicki:
Anyone worried about Chineses at MS?? *sigh* I'm worried my boy cant cope!!
I'm worried and is taking steps to help my son now....
bigfoot:
I want to delay HP to as late as possible. Since he will be going student care after school, I think it is ok. I'll wait till days like he has to stay back on his own and what happen if maid doesn't show up.Namie:
Does anyone know the children are allowed mobile phones? I saw the children lining up to make phone calls on pay phones so I thought they are not allowed mobile. Can anyone shed light on it?
Do u intend to let ur child carry HP at P1? Dun stress us parents who dun intend to let our child carry leh... haha... -
if u dont plan to let ur child bring hp to sch, just teach him how to go General Office to make phone calls, or how to use public phones. give him coins or phone card
as for CH, dont worry lah. my girl sch (sap sch) has indians taking chinese and even get into top class.
by the way, would MS under PRIME in the near future? -
bigfoot:
Yup, doesn't mean GEP will have good PSLE, but honestly, MOE standard of GEP doesn't mean the child is gifted, in some cases, those really gifted children dun even get into GEP because they were deem to be troublemakers in the class. However, most GEP students do get very good PSLE results.smurf:
CHS has upper hand, coz they have GEP program and they accept bright bright students at p4, so that would push their standard to the higher level?? And Since MS dun have GEP, their bright bright students have to leave the sch to go to GEP school. So their result drop?? :lol:
CHS did well in the last few years. However I saw that among the top pupils, quite a number are not local. Correct me if I am wrong. Also, bearing in mind they do have a few classes og GEP, I expect the PSLE to be much better. At the end of the day, it is the teachers, your child learning attitude and most importantly, US, the parents! For me, MSH is a Catholic school. I wouldn't have consider it if it is not.
BTW, GEP doesn't mean the pupils will have good PSLE results. Don't equate intelligence with academic performance.
I think we are off topic already.
bigfoot:
Hi bigfoot,vicki:
Anyone worried about Chineses at MS?? *sigh* I'm worried my boy cant cope!!
I'm worried and is taking steps to help my son now....
Can i know if there is any holiday classes that you would recommend? Txs. -
smurf:
:lol: ok, case closed...Yup, doesn't mean GEP will have good PSLE, but honestly, MOE standard of GEP doesn't mean the child is gifted, in some cases, those really gifted children dun even get into GEP because they were deem to be troublemakers in the class. However, most GEP students do get very good PSLE results.
I think we are off topic already.
Namie:
u do have a point there. i'm also contemplating whether to let him carry one. but i know hp can b a great distraction. i want to delay him carrying it. maybe u can train him to approach the GO for help? if not, maybe train him to use public phone or something?
I want to delay HP to as late as possible. Since he will be going student care after school, I think it is ok. I'll wait till days like he has to stay back on his own and what happen if maid doesn't show up.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.