Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
    • DesertWindD Offline
      DesertWind

chatelaine:
      I saw your previous msg that your son fell and hit the toilet bowl. Our ex-maid instead of looking after my girl, she was watching TV and caused my girl to trip on her leg and head hit down straight on the floor with a loud bang! She was only 1yr old at that time. :x

For purpose of looking after kids, it is better to hire a maid who is already married and has her own kid. Then the motherly instincts are all there. Instead of single young girl with no experience at all. There is no guarantee of course but it is a much safer bet.

mummymaid

Hi!

I'm a newbie. I spent a lot of time reading this thread, finally decided to skip and go to postings made these few months.

Like to ask, who pays for excess baggage when maid sent back? If we buy Jetstar, it only has max 20kg. Also, I want cheap tix but don't feel comfortable pay via credit card online, how?

Angelight:
        If your maid is rude to you, always show you bad attitude especially when she is being corrected on her work and even talks or argues back instead of apologising for her mistakes, would you return her to agent or bear and grin it until the contract finishes?

........, I am very sian to change maid and go thru the whole proess of training and adjusting again. Besides, good maids are extinct nowadays, so am not hoping will get a good maid who is gd in her work, loyal and respectful to employer.

Same problem here. Tahan mine till 1yr + 1wk n she told me send her back to agt cos she unhappy with me - reprimanded for purposely doing things wrong. Expected her to keep the standard cos my tasks nvr change but she slacks and trying some tactics to make me give in. :x

Worse part is to use by girl as her bargaining power! :x :x

Personally, I think it's sufficient to treat them as human beings, NOT as part of the family bcos majority of maids never appreciate.
        We didnt ill-treat her, gave her little housework and let her sleep before 9.30am almost everyday. She wants to feel she's in command in my house but I refused. I got real mad one day n told her, 'bear in mind, I'm yr employer and I pay u yr salary'. She repeatedly disregards my instructions = no respect yet complained I dont respect her 😛

Hubby said I was harshed 😢 I no choice what!

mummymaid

marmum:
          Should I let her be transferred or should I send her back home? How can we make these irresponsible and poor attitude maids learn their lesson that we employers are no push off and that they can come to Sgp and try their luck. Maids now come and try out and if they dont like, they juz ask to be transferred or return to agency and putting us at the losing end. Pls help to advise me any recommendations for good maids for transfer or agency that you can recommend. Really cant keep her any longer and in a dilemma now that its year end and next year darling son going to P1.

I wish there's an official place for us to make feedback and get the big shots (MOM, AEAS, etc) to understand we are at the mercy of maids. Treat them good simply isn't good in their eyes!

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Mailbox/Story/A1Story20101110-246542.html

Here's a good example of siding maid all the way... reply from AEAS for above link
          http://i53.tinypic.com/mtttlf.jpg\">

AEAS stood firmed to say employers had to cover the costs, hassle and time wasted on runaway maid. She used the reason maids earned lesser and already taking loan to come to Spore so employers had to cough out all the money incurred. Are we, employers earning a lot? Are we suppose to pay for levy, pro-rated insurance and agent fees in the event of runaway maids …. Yes, according to the reply of Shirley Ng. Does she know that if the maid runaway without good reasons, even if just worked for one day, employer liable to pay 21 days levy?

Some other foreign workers also here on loans. She totally forgot a maid does not need to pay house rental nor her three meals while other workers and Singaporeans had to! If you take into consideration her salary $360/mth + levy $170 + estimate house rental $200/mth + meals provided ($3 x 3meals x 31 days) + toiletries, medical & miscellaneous $50/mth = $1100. This means employer had to invest over $1000 on just one maid! If I hire somebody trustworthy and able to be a good helper, I dont mind cos its worth it! But how many good maids available these days?

If you get a job, eg as a cleaner or cashier, minus CPF, 3 meals, pay for housing, utilies & electrical expenses, transport and clothings ... how much are you left to keep? A maid gets $360/mth - flat rate, nothing will be deducted cos employers take care of the rest. Having a maid means employers are rich? Where did this theory come from?

Kept insisting maids incapable of making our lives miserable and completely ignored the voices of employers who were played out by scheming or irresponsible maids. These govt people just sided the maid and refused hear us. They forgot we dont belong to an organisation, unable to defend our rights ... 'eaten' by maids cos of their strong backers: MOM, AEAS, HOME and those blinded people, especially had not employed maids in their lives

If one day MOM has a regulation for maid to answer for their own actions (eg pregnant), I believe lots of employers would be relieved and be willing to let maids have a day off. Our security deposit at stake if we are not careful ... Govt shaked legs, pushed the responsibility & consequences to us for not 'grooming an obedient maid'!

:?: Anybody out there strong enough to help us? :?: We are forsaken!! 😢 😢

mummymaid

:?:

Now I'm hunting for maid agencies, some of u had rec'd my PM, hope I'm able to get a suitable replacement 🙏 🙏 that won't make me so angry that I tremble 手脚发冷 again!

I dont want maid in my house but no choice 有苦难言啦 ...Having maid is my only alternative if I want to work.

snowman.022851697

:?: :?: :?: :?:

I just discovered my maid is married!! She never told my mum!! Some guy called her, and because the number is 6892****, I thought it was from my friend, then some guy said hello, then she also said hello, then I hung up (we have 4 phones), after that she said something about her \"husband\" which made me suspicious (and my mum told me to find out what she's doing lest I notice anything suspicious, so I picked up the phone) then she said that \"her husband is coming back next month\"... and then some money stuff!! Think I'm so stupid! Although yes it's wrong to eavesdrop, my mum told me to do it.... :?:

• chatelaineC Offline
                chatelaine

Hi Marmum

Seemed to me your maid attitude has not improved for the better. For the time being, endure till you get a new maid.

Good luck to you. Hopefully, you can send her back if allowed to do so. :love:

If you cannot tolerate the maid and cannot wait until the new one arrives, no choice but to send her off. I had an Indonesian maid who literally drove me nuts but yet cannot slap her, so returned her to agency before I got charged with maid abuse…more stressful having her around.

• chatelaineC Offline
                    chatelaine

Hi Joey18

By right the agent would have taught them to greet you everytime she see you or your family members, etc.

The last time, my mum got the maid. Agent will brief them our requirement such as what time they supposed to wake up, greeting is a must, must always walk behind us, etc. There is once she failed to answer us "Yes, Mum" at the agency, she was given a scolding.

After sometimes at our place, she start answering my mum "Yes la, Ok la". My mum was not happy and tell her to answer properly. Mum said she talked like "qiao qiao" like that.

Not only this, she also become choosy on what food to eat. My dad doesn’t allow her to choose after her behaviour got way off.

Did you ask your maid if she understand chinese? I asked my maid before, she said don’t know. Think they pickup language quite fast coz there’s once I heard her speaking chinese to my girl.

Foodwise, I think your maid is really choosy.

My maid, when she first came to our place, she was very slim. After 3mths, you can see how much weight she gained. Her rice is like a mountain which I can only finish in 3 meals.

• chatelaineC Offline
                      chatelaine

Hi Joey18

So you better close door then talk anything about her or maybe use another language.

Joeyz18:
                      haha, i guess the current maid live in kampong area that why scare of chicken cos ate too much in the past b4 she came SIN. my indo maid live near sea and sick if seafood especially prawn.

and i really think she know chinese lei, like can listen but cannot speak. next time if say bad things about her cannot speak in chinese le. lol

chatelaine:
                        Hi Joey18

By right the agent would have taught them to greet you everytime she see you or your family members, etc.

The last time, my mum got the maid. Agent will brief them our requirement such as what time they supposed to wake up, greeting is a must, must always walk behind us, etc.

After sometimes at our place, she start answering my mum \"Yes la, Ok la\". My mum was not happy and tell her to answer properly. Mum said she talked like \"qiao qiao\" like that.

Not only this, she also become choosy on what food to eat. My dad doesn't allow her to choose after her behaviour got way off.

Did you ask your maid if she understand chinese? I asked my maid before, she said don't know. Think they pickup language quite fast coz there's once I heard her speaking chinese to my girl.

My maid, when she first came to our place, she was very slim. After 3mths, you can see how much weight she gained. Her rice is like a mountain which I can only finish in 3 meals.
                        My maids ate non-stop when they first arrived...although they told me don't eat this and that...but still ate. They told me they don't eat roast duck or salted egg but they ate :x .

After 3 months, they ate until their clothes got too tight...and started to get choosy over food. That includes instant noodles !!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 347 / 1032

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies