Catholic High (Primary)
meiah:
Mmm.. no comments there cos I have not witnessed anything myself. But I know that my ds' teachers did work very hard, bribe and all. In fact, all 4 were very good. Chinese tr also gave them trophies. Now he got party to look forward to.
Such a nice teacher. -
after seeing the ‘stress’, i duno if i shd go for CHS at all. my boy is surely not that bright sort, at least for now. i dont see any spark at all.
meiah:
:goodpost: Well said about getting the majority of the pupils to do well!
Goodness! That's really mean of him. 4A*s this year not that many. Think about 10 odd only. Personally, I don't think it's very important to get into top scoring schools list. It's better to help the majority of pupils to do well. So high % in quality pass is more helpful. While many kids get A or A*, it's a bit sad that the T-scores are not very high. If you think CHS is not doing well, some other popular schools are not much better either.phankao:
Last year, Mr Lee didn't even bother to go into the stats for subjects, ok. He just went on stage and said \"during exams, freak happens\", then he announced the top score, saying only 20+ students got 4A*, 100% pass, then \"bye-bye\". So it was really like \"watershed\".
Was there many more scoring 4A*s this year? This year CHS didn't even manage to be on the list of Schools with top scorers. At least last year have several.
:celebrate: -
growie:
:goodpost: Well said about getting the majority of the pupils to do well!
Goodness! That's really mean of him. 4A*s this year not that many. Think about 10 odd only. Personally, I don't think it's very important to get into top scoring schools list. It's better to help the majority of pupils to do well. So high % in quality pass is more helpful. While many kids get A or A*, it's a bit sad that the T-scores are not very high. If you think CHS is not doing well, some other popular schools are not much better either.meiah:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
Last year, Mr Lee didn't even bother to go into the stats for subjects, ok. He just went on stage and said \"during exams, freak happens\", then he announced the top score, saying only 20+ students got 4A*, 100% pass, then \"bye-bye\". So it was really like \"watershed\".
Was there many more scoring 4A*s this year? This year CHS didn't even manage to be on the list of Schools with top scorers. At least last year have several.
:celebrate:[/quote]It's true - so what are the statistics? How many students in top 10% in the school this year, and so on?
I'm amazed that NYPS, it seems like about 50% get 250 and above? -
The powerpoint flash too fast and I was dreaming, didn’t add the numbers properly, should be 84 out of 240+, but someone mentioned 94, so it’s above 30%.
JonC:
The powerpoint flash too fast and I was dreaming, didn't add the numbers properly, should be 84 out of 240+, but someone mentioned 94, so it's above 30%.
Haha - you just couldn't wait for them to give out those 3-digits, is it? -
Provided I did not see wrongly, cos sometimes my eyesight is ahem bad! So dun humtam me hor. Also pls correct me if I’m wrong.
National avg for e, m, s and c should be : 44.3% 43.3% 43.2% 81.2%
sch % for e, m, s and c should be 80%+ 69.something% 70%+ 80%+
Mr Lee said that abt 3 out of 4 get quality pass for el. Dunno got hear wrong or not.
Anyway, I was too worried abt the 3 digit thing. Cannot sit still. -
JonC:
The powerpoint flash too fast and I was dreaming, didn't add the numbers properly, should be 84 out of 240+, but someone mentioned 94, so it's above 30%.
Hi Jonc,
How did your son do? I heard (from reading here) CHS has lots of remedial and supp lessons, even on Sun! I'm kaypo here, ds only in P4 this yr
meiah:
Got place to sit, ah?
Anyway, I was too worried abt the 3 digit thing. Cannot sit still.
Last time during my dd's time, the principal spoke for half hour! haha! Then prayed. haha! -
Got. They put some chairs behind the boys who were sitting in rows according to classes. But of course must leg fast lah. Door open quick go in chope seat!
Heh. You should know that chs p where will talk half hour? He’s usually like slowly come hurry go. Anyway he also say a bit, chop chop kind. It’s the waiting for my ds to receive his result that made me anxious. No joke leh, looking at others whooping and crying, dunno whether I will yay or boo. Somemore his index number 30, really wait very long until I cannot sit anymore! Dunno if next time should accompany ds 2 to take result. Lagi more anxious I think I’ll be.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.