Catholic High (Primary)
Hi my son is in CHS also and will be taking PSLE next year 2011.
I heard that the affiliation cut-off point has been set at 230 for this year PSLE 2010 cohort.
I am feeling so tense up now with the increased cut-off point :!: -
My son will be in P4 next year. Can I ask how the P4 non-GEP kids will be "streamed"? Will the top class be 4 Goodness followed by 4 Kindness etc? What is this "GEM" thingy? Thanks
BeCheerful:
Hi my son is in CHS also and will be taking PSLE next year 2011.
I heard that the affiliation cut-off point has been set at 230 for this year PSLE 2010 cohort.
I am feeling so tense up now with the increased cut-off point :!:
Then our sons are in the same year. Yeah, we received this letter back when our kids were in pri 2, informing us of this new COP that was to take effect and would affect our boys when it came time for them to apply for sec 1.
Haiz, what to do? Work hard, lor. -
Haiz no choice. Got to get our kids to work extra hard. Haha maybe can excuse our kids from CO practice next year? Well I think Yang Lao Shi will come after us for sure :lol:
Momma Joan:
My son will be in P4 next year. Can I ask how the P4 non-GEP kids will be \"streamed\"? Will the top class be 4 Goodness followed by 4 Kindness etc? What is this \"GEM\" thingy? Thanks
GEM only applies to students in \"Goodness\" (or what was previously known as the \"F\" class). They split them into groups according to their abilities within the class and they have combined classes with GEP I think? I'm not 100% sure exactly what happens.
Anyway, that's one reason why it's good to be in the top class - they are really taken care of. The lessons are more investigative, more interesting. I think the boys learn better with the extra effort put in by the teachers. That's the harsh reality in cath high. You can see the difference in how nice the GEP classrooms are compared to the non-GEP classrooms as one simple albeit superficial example already.
Yes, the next class is \"Kindness\" (the \"E\" class). Apparently it's all mixed ability classes after that, although - hmm... i think you'll just need to observe based on the mix of students. In p5, I'm quite sure that it's F, E, D(patience?), then C(peace - which tends to be a mixed HCL/CL class) and then the \"other\" classes. Peace tends to be a fairly good class except for their chinese. -
since when was it 240??? Last yr was 225. But this yr it is set by school.[/quote]Dun scare me leh. 240 how can. Increase by 15 pts? Even SCGS is only increasing by 10 pts this year and another 10 next year. My ds2 received letter upon p1 registration day that when his turn comes for psle, the COP will be 10 pt below outsiders. If 240 this year, I'll faint.
Last known COP is 240 for Catholic High (pri) and 250 for external students.SummerAng:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
We won't know what's the COP for outsiders, but for affiliated pri sch kids, it has been set at a minimum of 230, unless demand in this category very very high lah. -
wow, so early they inform the parents of the COP when they just p1?
does CH still hv exams for p1?
are they on Stellar?
when are the children streamed into top classes? at which year? -
24hr-mum:
To what I know, this is P1 still have SA1 & SA2wow, so early they inform the parents of the COP when they just p1?
does CH still hv exams for p1?
are they on Stellar?
when are the children streamed into top classes? at which year?
They only stream them after P2. -
The allocation of classes is out this morning.
Anyone know how was it done? Is there 1 or 2 best class/es for each level? -
does CH rank the students by class position and make it know in the report bk at p1 or p2 or any other level?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.