how much do u spend on groceries
when i was in spore (2 years ago), monthly grocery bill was about $600 so with the increase in price, i might be spending $800 or less when i am back (soon). however, i do intend to see if i could reduce the amount.
for myself, i always buy discount items in bulk especially the ntuc wet wipes and diapers. i tend to go for house brand for kitchen roll, tissue etc.
i used to throw away a lot of food stuff which my kids and i either forgot after buying them or dislike them after one two bites. $$$ down the drain.
so now we must finish it before buying a new batch or other things. no throwing away after 1 or 2 bites. bad habit and waste of money + storage.
i always go in the morning to beat the crowds and out of the shop within one hour to save on parking and this shopping within one hour actually deter me from buying unnecessary items cos i would go straight for the stuff on my list. always bring along cut out coupons or betterl, the adverts because sometimes the staff has no idea the item is on discount!
i would also make a trip to the supermarkets when not doing any major purchase to check out the prices and new stock. but gotta resist the temptation to buy, hopelss though for me.
i tried buying in the wet markets but i just dont like it though it is supposed to be fresher and cheaper. -
24hr-mum:
My wife health is not very good. Furthermore, I doubt not many SAHM can face the child 24-hours x 365 days. A maid comes in handy when the child is sickhi daddy2007
jus curious, since ur wife is a sahm, why still hv a maid?
So 3 of us (my wife, myself & my maid) will take shift to take care of my daughter daily, except for Sunday where my maid is off. My daughter is very active and need constant engagement. -
cherrygal:
I always teased her that she is a HDB Tai Tai... hahaahahaDaddy2007,
Your wife is very lucky! Can be SAHM and have a maid, and only 1 child!
Anyway my maid will only stay with us for 1 more year before going back to Indonesia for marriage. She has been working in Spore for 10 years -
I tried buying from the wet markets but I think the foods are expensive. They don't like us to ask for price for this & that. So we don't know the price until they charged us. Also it is difficult to buy small quantity of each type of veg/meat for a family of 3+1 child.
i tried buying in the wet markets but i just dont like it though it is supposed to be fresher and cheaper.
Whereas in NTUC, I can see the price and see if it is reasonable for me to buy without asking people -
daddy2007:
AGREE! :celebrate:
I tried buying from the wet markets but I think the foods are expensive. They don't like us to ask for price for this & that. So we don't know the price until they charged us. Also it is difficult to buy small quantity of each type of veg/meat for a family of 3+1 child.LOLMum:
i tried buying in the wet markets but i just dont like it though it is supposed to be fresher and cheaper.
Whereas in NTUC, I can see the price and see if it is reasonable for me to buy without asking people
I never know how much the fishmonger will charge and it gets scary... they should put prices up front if they want to attract younger generation of shoppers. I think Fairprice Finest has the best produce... -
If u buy in bulk, supermarket is better and cheaper. If u buy smaller quantity, wet market is better but not necessary cheaper. For example, if u cook chicken curry, you can buy just few stalk of curry leaves, etc. But u can't do that in supermarket, you have to buy whole packet in , and if u dun use the rest of the apcket, you have to throw away. Quite wasteful.
And u can bargain in wet market, super mart, u can't. To shop in wet market, you have to frequently go, so that u know the market rate.
Btw Cherrygal, I PMed u leh, but u never reply.
our groceries about $100 - 150 / week for 3 adults n a 20mth old which i think is a lot… but hubby n mil always say cannot save on food leh…
b2b3m4:
I make large batches of ready to eat meals from scratch and freeze them (I have a large stand alone freezer inherit from my kids' breast milk time).
Hi, I'm trying to do that but I'm not sure what meals are suitable for freezing, and also the containers best to use for freezing. Please give me some advice on that!
Also which brand of freezer are you using? Thanks so much!
smurf:
Aiyoh paiseh, I don't usu check my inbox... quite a few msgs in there...hahah
Btw Cherrygal, I PMed u leh, but u never reply.
Answered already!
24hr-mum:
$500-$600/mth for 2A2Cjus a poll, how much do u spend on groceries and marketing a mth?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.