2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take

3.1k Posts 327 Posters 904.1k Views 1 Watching
      spikey

spikey:

7 more months to go!

You're counting down already ? My girl is going to P1 in 2 weeks time.

getting ready for the last preparations...my class 2B less than 1 km for MGS preparations are finally ready!

spikey:

[quote=\"spikey\"]7 more months to go!

You're counting down already ? My girl is going to P1 in 2 weeks time.

getting ready for the last preparations...my class 2B less than 1 km for MGS preparations are finally ready![/quote]Looks like you're confirmed in.
        Phase 2B
        Within 1km.

markfch

spikey:

getting ready for the last preparations...my class 2B less than 1 km for MGS preparations are finally ready!
          All the best spikey. MGS with her affiliation is an very smart choice. The things we'll do for our kids, if only they knew 😄

Yes, I do wish our kids know what we are doing for them. MGS is a great choice with the affiliated sec…girls have their primary & secondary education secured.

NoeNothinG

hi, i hav a 2005 boy due for registration next year in 2011 too, very very stress!!!

very envy to those parents tat can even do two PV at their choice of school, i applied PV at Nan Chiau & Rivervale Primary early this year but being rejected 😢, very sad!! not going to try for phase 2C for either one of these schools as i'm staying outside 1km, coz based on past balloting history, no chance if staying outside 1km 😢 ... and i dun feel like trying those schools tat within 1km of my hse coz all of them (total 3) are least popular one, if i try sure no prob to get in but i dont want ler... 😢

so last solution is renting a place tat near another school lor, boh bian cant afford to buy a property coz price too high now, but quite reluctant also coz we luv our current place very much unless found a place which we also like... haiz, hope all these worth it if not :stupid: lor i think....

hquek

NoeNothinG:
                hi, i hav a 2005 boy due for registration next year in 2011 too, very very stress!!!

very envy to those parents tat can even do two PV at their choice of school, i applied PV at Nan Chiau & Rivervale Primary early this year but being rejected 😢, very sad!! not going to try for phase 2C for either one of these schools as i'm staying outside 1km, coz based on past balloting history, no chance if staying outside 1km 😢 ... and i dun feel like trying those schools tat within 1km of my hse coz all of them (total 3) are least popular one, if i try sure no prob to get in but i dont want ler... 😢
                Not adding oil to fire, but rejection as PV from NC and Rivervale may be blessing in disguise. For NC, you will have to contend with parents who are SHHK members. For Rivervale, I hear that they accept pp as PVs without much qualms and there is fierce competition come 2B (ie less than 1km may even have to ballot).

In your case, I strongly suggest to look for the school that is near and most palatable. It'll be incredibly stressful for the next 6 years if you have logistic nightmare becos the school is too far away.

Many of the popular schools actually have their own sets of things to complain about - it's just that as outsiders, we are not privy to that. So take it as fate and I am sure things will turn out alright!

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

NoeNothinG:

so last solution is renting a place tat near another school lor, boh bian cant afford to buy a property coz price too high now, but quite reluctant also coz we luv our current place very much unless found a place which we also like... haiz, hope all these worth it if not :stupid: lor i think....
                  I soooo understand how you feel. I am in the same position. Thing is, I don't even have any schools within 1km to register my son in. Those within 2km are hotly contested for people living within 1km. Except for 1 or 2 which year after year don't seem to have full capacity and looking at their PSLE results, I will say a bit on the mediocre side.

We thought of moving nearer to a school of choice but now we are reconsidering. Feel that it is not fair for my DD who is already settled into a routine and have many friends within our estate who goes to the same school as her.

On the other hand can't help feeling like we have let DS down if we do not try to get him into a school produces better results.

daddy2007

Bringing up a child is already tough. And we parents still have to be kiasu and tried all means to put the child into a good school in the midst of all these competitions… Sigh.

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

What to do. As parents we naturally want to provide for our kids what we think is the best within our means. Which parent would not want to give their child that little bit of a headstart if possible.

mama_g

dear all… new to this forum… seeking for some suggestions from the pros here… being rejected as PV in south view which we are 200m away from school… hubby is an ex student from princess E but there will be quite far, sch bus will be abut $100 plus long travelling daily for her. Or should i just enroll her to nearby sch like CCKPS or concord?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 311