Radin Mas Primary

4.3k Posts 92 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      Blissfulmum

witty22:
      My daughter is in 1A instead of beatrice. If I remember correctly Beatrice was still the first class in the notice board. Do you think it is still the same class but called differently? If not, what are the top classes and the bottom classes? How do you generally find out? Would the form teacher tell you if you ask?

Hi Witty22

I have personally spoken with Mrs Tan Khim Yong, Mother Tongue HOD and had asked her abt the differences between these so called top class.

Am not sure if my interpretation is correct - but she specifically told me there isn't truly TOP class. Generally, they are putting students with average results the same - 3 subjects all the same hor.. into a class.

I would take it as - meaning that's the scholar class then, all subjects with good results. But she kept saying there's no TOP class, it's just a \"rumour\". So i am also kind of confused.

titank

witty22:
        My daughter is in 1A instead of beatrice. If I remember correctly Beatrice was still the first class in the notice board. Do you think it is still the same class but called differently? If not, what are the top classes and the bottom classes? How do you generally find out? Would the form teacher tell you if you ask?

I guess after P2 the children would be allocated to different classes according to their results. I know some school such as MBS stream the children according the score based on HMT.

Based on my few session of Meet the Parent & Principal, there would be some form of class segregation after P2.

titank

Blissfulmum:
          Hi Witty22

I have personally spoken with Mrs Tan Khim Yong, Mother Tongue HOD and had asked her abt the differences between these so called top class.

Am not sure if my interpretation is correct - but she specifically told me there isn't truly TOP class. Generally, they are putting students with average results the same - 3 subjects all the same hor.. into a class.

I would take it as - meaning that's the scholar class then, all subjects with good results. But she kept saying there's no TOP class, it's just a \"rumour\". So i am also kind of confused.
          You ask the HOD sure she won't tell you lah what top class is all about. There a rumour that each level have the top 3 class which generally group them as M, A2 & S. These 3 classes would be teach at turbo pace as compare with the rest of the classes.

• qmsQ Offline
            qms

titank:
            I guess after P2 the children would be allocated to different classes according to their results.

What results? There is no exam for P2s. Are they relying on the unit reviews then? :scratchhead:

ctct61t

what results? There is no exam for P2s. Are they relying on the unit reviews then? :scratchhead:

My DD got SA1 when she was in P1, this year the best 3 classes were 2I,2H, and 2G...those 3 classes have their own individual math and english teacher, the rest classes' english and math teacher are the same 1 person.

preggie

They've updated the staff page with the new principal but class teachers are still not updated yet 😞

• qmsQ Offline
                  qms

preggie:
                  They've updated the staff page with the new principal but class teachers are still not updated yet 😞

Yah lor. Was happy when I saw the new principal's photo, thinking that the rest of the page would be updated, too. Disappointed when I saw the words \"Form Teachers 2010\".... :roll:

monmon31

Yah lor. Was happy when I saw the new principal's photo, thinking that the rest of the page would be updated, too. Disappointed when I saw the words \"Form Teachers 2010\".... :roll:

Photos of the most of the teachers were updated... πŸ˜„ I wonder why they didn't update the form teachers for 2011 😐

monmon31

What results? There is no exam for P2s. Are they relying on the unit reviews then? :scratchhead:

i was told by my friends P2 should have exams...if not how to grade them :?

ctct61t

famangelina31:

i was told by my friends P2 should have exams...if not how to grade them :?
                        My DD was P2 this year, got SA2 exam only.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 162 / 431