Club 3 or more Kids

1.6k Posts 111 Posters 567.9k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      24hr-mum

but if all three learn piano or other instrument, wow, so ex leh.

i hvnt decide whr to push my girl for piano exams or just play for leisure. if play for leisure, its a costly leisure wf no returns. if go for exams, at least they hv an avenue to become piano teacher one day…

hv to be pragmatic.

didnt start #2. unfortunatelly for him i only had kindermusik for him when he was young. when he was 2-4, he has tons of therapy type of course: he went speech therapy at 2 cos really cant pronounce many many sounds. then brain gym at 4 - 5. he is the funny type that is between adhd look alike and normal variant. he is very active, nvr scared of strangers (when i switch sch for him at 2, he nvr cry at all, as if nothing happend), like to talk to strangers, touch them or even be touched by them, can lie on doctor lap on first visit if the doctor is friendly (will even swing the doctor’s tie, and throw his own shoes ard), like to purposely touch pple to get my scolding, when delivery man comes, he will ask: uncle wat is ur name, why u come my house, what r u doing, where are u going, and even cry when the delivery man left., and when pple come my house first time, he likes to go ard talk to them like old friends, when in bus, will talk to stranger sitting behind like old friends too. very weirdo kid. got anyone’s kid like this??

#3 is hvg music appreciation n enjoys a lot

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

24hr-mum:
        but if all three learn piano or other instrument, wow, so ex leh.

i hvnt decide whr to push my girl for piano exams or just play for leisure. if play for leisure, its a costly leisure wf no returns. if go for exams, at least they hv an avenue to become piano teacher one day.....

hv to be pragmatic.
        The main difference is the cost of the instruments? Bc you still need to pay for the lessons for 3 different children even if they learn the same instrument. Furthermore, interest is important, right? I already have a piano at home, so that's quite ok. I really hadn't thot the kids might want to learn instruments other than the piano. But only no.1 plays that. No.2 & no.3 do not have much interest in the piano and never started on it. Both no.1 & no.2 have finished their grade 8. And no.3 is working on his equivalent of it this year, mainly bc no.3 improves very fast with these exam benchmarks placed on him. No.2 is quite ok without, so he skipped most grades. Guess you have to watch your child's development?

• 2 Offline
          24hr-mum

just curious, what does ur #2 and #3 learn? flute? violin?

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

24hr-mum:
            just curious, what does ur #2 and #3 learn? flute? violin?

no.2 does violin and no.3 does erhu. Certainly not instruments I would even dream of letting them learn.

• G Offline
              glendt

24hr-mum:
              hi glendt,

where are the drums classes? seldom heard abt drums. my boy may like
              Hi 24hr-mum,

I bring my boy to learn at AsiaMusicSchool at Yishun. It is good for him
              as he is very much into music and he is not the kind that will play piano, although I wished that he did. He likes hip stuff, dont ask me why, he is just quite sharp on picking up trends, especially music trends. So we will see how far this goes. I do not expect him to be like this child prodigy-ethan, a singaporean boy who plays to the public- just want him to be all rounded.

• 2 Offline
                24hr-mum

is he the very active type?

my boy may like drums as he is active type.

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

24hr-mum:
                  is he the very active type?

my boy may like drums as he is active type.
                  Must be active type to play drums, ah? Specifically, a drummer must have good rhythm. Anyway, so noisy, i'd totally discourage my kids from doing drums. And no guzheng & yangqin either - *faint*. So huge and so difficult to carry around.

• 2 Offline
                    24hr-mum

ya, when i was in band, i played saxophone and find it so heavy to bring home, so i seldom practise at hm.

i wld rather they choose light instruments eg flute, (not violin cos must keep upgrading the instrument acc as the child grow bigger, i heard)

can also play flute for the church.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

24hr-mum:
                      ya, when i was in band, i played saxophone and find it so heavy to bring home, so i seldom practise at hm.

i wld rather they choose light instruments eg flute, (not violin cos must keep upgrading the instrument acc as the child grow bigger, i heard)
                      I think a saxophone is nothing compared to drums and the guzheng and yangqin. haha.

Ah....violin sizes. I think 1 piano is already not cheap, yah? So far, have bought only 3 violins for my son - total cost S$1200...not bad lah. Altho' i haven't added in the price of the bow I recently got for him! haha! But still cheaper than the price of my 2nd-hand piano! 😉 I'll save the greatest amount of spending for the full-size violin, which is the next size for him.

Lavender_Tea

Herbie:
                        Hi Lavender_Tea,

Thanks for yr note. I am not worried abt the dragon year.. I have already got one dragon so I know what to expect.

I have a boy and a girl so if i do have a no. 3 he/she can go to jie or gor school so is ok on the pri school arrangement.

My concern is whether I got the stamina ... I am going to mid 40 liao

Cheers!
                        It all depends on your health condition, some women at 40 plus still very energetic & on the move, however I do know alot started to get joints problem. It is definitely going to be more taxing physically & mentally as compared to the time when you've your 2 older ones many moons ago.....got to really think hard on it. If you really get preggie & have ur 3rd one, do update on tis thread...cos I wanna congratulate u 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 158

33winndesignn3
                        33winndesignn