Aiyah, We have move into more Varied Topics Now ....
I only kaypoh here and poke fun. Honest.verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"Trapwithin\"]
Come Come you are also welcome to contribute
Things Very General Like :
\"Premium\" HDB Resale Price, Pricey Canteen Food, Enrichment Centre Recommendations, etc etc
Sure U Can Contribute and Help US Achieve our Next Benchmark -
800 Pages?
See - I Got Full Confidence We can Reach 500 Today!!!!
:celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate:[/quote]YES YES!!! Confirm sure can hit one!!! Pardon my Singlish... Heeheehee!!!! :lol:
[quote=\"Trapwithin\"]My P1 Experience
7. Careless Mistakes - All students make careless mistakes even the brightest. The key is not to eradicate but to minimise, this will relief stress for both parents and child. The Main Antidote for careless mistake is \"double-checking\".
Hi Trapwithin, this is an extremely well-written summary for most parents! Not bad (in fact very impressive!) from a DAD
Just curious, what's your sources other than KSP? I am always the one to provide my DH these info, how I wish he can reciprocate a bit!
On the part of double-checking - let me share the method I use. Instead of asking (or nagging!) my kids to double-check their work, I 'challenge' my kids to count how many careless mistakes they manage to find for themselves after each paper. So they will always come back, after every exam paper, 'bragging' how many careless mistakes they spotted, in a 'see, I managed to find them!' manner .. HA! Deep in my heart, I am happy coz that every careless mistake spotted means at least 1 more mark added to the results (provided it is corrected with the right answers lah!). So far, it works, and it is more fun for the kids!
Hope it helps other kids too! -
Ok thanks.. By the way, you mean book fair from school or Popular book fair? Does Popular have a book fair?[/quote]Yes Popular Year End Bookfair.
Next Year, If U Buy Early from Book Fair, Can Get 25% Discount!Funx3:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
I have just gone to Popular to buy the book! Only 2 copies left for Pri 3!!!
:celebrate: :celebrate:
Last year held in Suntec in Dec Hols.
We went there to Buy the \"Problem Solving\" Series ....
And End up ....
Spending $300 plus on Many Other Books, and Misc Staff ....
Yes Popular Year End Bookfair.
Ok thanks.. By the way, you mean book fair from school or Popular book fair? Does Popular have a book fair?Happy Mama:
[quote=\"Funx3\"]
Next Year, If U Buy Early from Book Fair, Can Get 25% Discount!
:celebrate: :celebrate:
And End up ....
[/quote]Ok will look out for it end of this year. Only thing is, is it very crowded and chaotic during such fairs?
[/quote]can children read finishi these $300 books? :roll:
Ok will look out for it end of this year. Only thing is, is it very crowded and chaotic during such fairs?Funx3:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
And End up ....

just now i saw \"Problem Solving\", it is good, has many solution examples, step by step to learn, easier to be absorbed.
my dd only use \"andrew er\"s math book, i heard that is good excercise book long time before from whom i forget. -
Trapwithin:
Thank you for your gracious sharing! With a child attending formal education for the first time, it is rather overwhelming for us parents. I am grateful for all the help we get in making this a smoother journey. :lovesite:My P1 Experience
JRLam:
Hi JRLam,Hi Trapwithin, this is an extremely well-written summary for most parents! Not bad (in fact very impressive!) from a DAD
Just curious, what's your sources other than KSP? I am always the one to provide my DH these info, how I wish he can reciprocate a bit!
On the part of double-checking - let me share the method I use. Instead of asking (or nagging!) my kids to double-check their work, I 'challenge' my kids to count how many careless mistakes they manage to find for themselves after each paper. So they will always come back, after every exam paper, 'bragging' how many careless mistakes they spotted, in a 'see, I managed to find them!' manner .. HA! Deep in my heart, I am happy coz that every careless mistake spotted means at least 1 more mark added to the results (provided it is corrected with the right answers lah!). So far, it works, and it is more fun for the kids!
Hope it helps other kids too!
Learn a lot from KSP here, the rest (good & bad) are personal experience.
After the HYPY episode, I kan cheong .. that's why more involved. After that, I discovered being involved can somethings be very fulfilling as well. I actually enjoy being involved.
E3:
I always thought learning a word by its Chinese character is more important too and HYPY is really just a tool to help one read an unfamiliar word, similar to the function of a dictionary.dyh:
My son's tuition teacher is doing the reverse, she uses correction tapes to erase all the hanyu pinyin from the Chinese text :roll: She claims this way is better to force the child to read the characters instead of the hanyu pinyin
Sad to say, it is true. There'll be no hanyupinyin for compre passages during exams. Although all my dd's CL storybooks have HYPY, I will let her practice with other schools' compre passages, or from assessment books frequently, just to make sure she doesn't rely too much on HYPY.
However, when ds went for a CL assessment recently, the centre made him read a whole passage solely with HYPY and he can't read it well. He has learnt HYPY but never have to read a whole passage of it before.
Will this be required in Primary education? -
Trapwithin:
good summary, KSP must to read even not P1 parents.
Hi JRLam,JRLam:
Hi Trapwithin, this is an extremely well-written summary for most parents! Not bad (in fact very impressive!) from a DAD
Hope it helps other kids too!
Learn a lot from KSP here, the rest (good & bad) are personal experience.
After the HYPY episode, I kan cheong .. that's why more involved. After that, I discovered being involved can somethings be very fulfilling as well. I actually enjoy being involved.
and for careless mistake, this is my dd' problems, let me headache. except double-checking, JRLam's way is very idea!
Ok will look out for it end of this year. Only thing is, is it very crowded and chaotic during such fairs?[/quote]Being a Last Minute Fan - Normally Got Special Offer on Last Day ....
Yes Popular Year End Bookfair.Funx3:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
Ok thanks.. By the way, you mean book fair from school or Popular book fair? Does Popular have a book fair?
And End up ....

We Went there on the Last Day in the Evening ....
Not crowded at ALL ....
And Get Some Last Minute Kind of Offer ....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.