mummy dibo : hyperactive child?
ds1 took his phonics lessons at zoo-phonics while ds2 is attending his at MMI. personally, still prefer zoo-phonics.
dibo:
my 2.5yo is the same. bring him out is a challenge. Just yesterday, he ran missing inside Popular Bookstore, made me panicked a while before finding him playing with one of the display. He nearly knocked down a much younger child too, much to the anger of the kid's mum :oops:
all the while he is a active kid, love to run ard, always walk on his own in shopping centre & supermarket, i have hard time \"shouting\" for him..
Shout at him only managed to catch his attention like say, 2 sec?dibo:
Hm...are active kids generally speak lesser? I faced the same issue too.another worry, is his speech, his speech is rather slow...
how well should a child speak during his age? .
For his activeness, i am the one who prewarn his school teachers (he is starting his PreN end of this month) to expect him to be unable to sit and need to run around. His teachers told me that it is expected at his age however they will also expect him to sit for some periods of time eg reading/assembly. Should see how...can't say I didn't warn them already
Welcome to KSP.
dibo:
ya, i also heard that boy tends to speak slowly than girl, but not 100% true, my ds classmate speak very well & he is a dec bb..
Hmm.. maybe you can check if the classmate has elder siblings.. another trend which I am trying to verify.. thanks!
dibo:
Alot of discussion on this going on in here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=584i dont know whether he is ready for phonic class, but a trial lesson seems no harm...any good recommedation?
Just yesterday, he ran missing inside Popular Bookstore, made me panicked a while before finding him playing with one of the display.
Ya, I had that experience too.. could feel blood draining off my face..and heart stop beating.. kept telling myself to calm down abit as this is Singapore not ********.. :shock:dibo:
another worry, is his speech, his speech is rather slow...
how well should a child speak during his age? .jedamum:
As I was saying, this is one trend I am trying to verify since I noticed that my DD2 talked much earlier than DD1, so the hypothesis goes like this..:Hm...are active kids generally speak lesser? I faced the same issue too.
1) highly active kids learn to talk later (but trust me not lesser by the time they are able!!)
2) younger siblings tend to learn to talk earlier due to having a chatting-partner and one who can understand the blabberings
3) younger siblings learn to talk earlier since there is a role-model, and also may be more talking going around at home.. eg. all the calling and reminders to the elder child..
4) but (2) and (3) may only be true if the elder sibling is a GIRL (they can really talk non-stop :roll: ) :idea: -
RRMummy, for your verification and do inform us on your findings.
ds1 - pre-term bb born at 35 weeks but in the mth of Feb. Learning progress in term of crawling, walking, talking and academic learning are fast.
ds2 - full term bb born at 38 weeks but in the mth of Nov, has a gor gor and a bigger head too but⦠disappointing to say that everything is so much slower. -
RRMummy:
I was also worried about the amount of $$ i need to pay for the damages that he may have done to the merchandise in the store. :roll:
Ya, I had that experience too.. could feel blood draining off my face..and heart stop beating.. kept telling myself to calm down abit as this is Singapore not ********.. :shock: -
blue:
blue,RRMummy, for your verification and do inform us on your findings.
ds1 - pre-term bb born at 35 weeks but in the mth of Feb. Learning progress in term of crawling, walking, talking and academic learning are fast.
ds2 - full term bb born at 38 weeks but in the mth of Nov, has a gor gor and a bigger head too but... disappointing to say that everything is so much slower.
for me,
ds1 - born at 36 weeks, motor skills slower, but picks up talking faster and attention span longer. cos he was an only child for 4yrs, he was actually treated more like an adult. Very sensitive boy, ie very petty too :roll: very clingy (will automatically hold my hand when it is crowded) - dare not sleep alone at night too.
ds2 - full term born at 38 weeks in Nov (on EDD). smaller head. motor skills faster (cos less protective of him maybe). Very Happy go lucky boy - doesn't wail for more than 5min regardless of a bad fall or tantrum ie easily distracted. very 'independent' - that explains the running away in the mall :roll: but no problem sleeping alone in the room at night. Linguistic skills is not as fast. I was wondering, does the structure of the tongue affects his speech, cos he has a really Long tongue (really!).
2 sons, VERY different experience, but a lot of fun.
jedamum,
think our ds1 and ds2 characters are quite alike.
my ds1 is pretty too (like mummy
) but a bit girl like flower boy. very sensible, clingy and sensitive in term of feelings and also to those supernatural stuff. :!: used to hide behind me if there are other people in the same lift, cry alot and also scare of being alone in a room, even if it is during the day. :roll:
ds2 is very tough boy, will not cry unless it is really painful. very active and mischievous, doesn't take instructions easily. Now at 3.5yo, he still can't pronoun alot of words clearly, I do suspect the problem lies with his tongue which is not very long but very broad. a ex-colleague had to send his son for a minor tongue operation before he can speak clearly. so I hope ds2 can pronoun better with the help of phonics sessions. -
dear all, thanks for sharing all ur experience..now i know that i'm not the only \"crazy\" mother out there running & shouting after my son... :lol:
there's was once, my ds was running inside daiso & he knocked down a full block of containers. my hubby was very angry & his face turn black immediately & stare at my ds, while my face was all white, stacking back all the containers. my ds got a shock from his father reaction, stay still for i think, 5-10mis & back to his normal self, happily running again....@__@...
as for my ds classmate, no leh, he is a only child & dec bb...i do agree that with sibling, younger children speech may grow faster, eg. my 2nd nephew, he is 5 mths younger than my ds but can talk very well..
Actually been considering zoo phonic in Bukit Timah, think will go check it out this wkend.. -
dibo:
Sharing my experience...once, my ds2 was flipping a book in the bookstore and then the next thing i heard a rip and the sales person nearby remarked 'hor hor!! you have to buy this book now'. luckily the rip is easily repairable and the book is one of my boy's favourite, although quite heartpain to buy (ie costly).there's was once, my ds was running inside daiso & he knocked down a full block of containers.
dibo:
Depends la. My nephew has no older sibling. At 5mths younger, he can talk better than my ds2.as for my ds classmate, no leh, he is a only child & dec bb...i do agree that with sibling, younger children speech may grow faster, eg. my 2nd nephew, he is 5 mths younger than my ds but can talk very well..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.