minnie2004:
Hi! what do you mean \"hard to find nowadays\", do you mean the Philipino maid not willing to come over Singapore? or The new policy by the Philipine government? :? i am not really sure abt thisAnna Ng:
in fact, my new philipino maid wanted to check is there anyone looking for new maid, her sister wanted to come over and work here. Not sure how to help her.
My agent mentioned to me before she was looking for filipino maids but hard to find nowadays. She handled paper work for my direct-hire filipino maids before and is quite a responsible person. If you are interested, you can pm me and i'll send you her contact details
need some advice!! my mynmar maid with us for 1 mth..
but just discovered yesterday that she stole $$, but it's just $5!!
So we don't know whether we should send her back..
coz we need to leave our 2yr old boy & 5 yr old girl in her hands, when we work & there's no elderly at home to help 'watch' her..
so we don't know whether can still trust her with our kids..
coz stealing may not mean she doesn't look after kids well..
but on the other hand, coz she stole , don't feel she's trust worthy
at a loss now..
very disappointing coz we STRESSed a lot on 'NO STEALING' when we took her at the agency..& during the past 1 month, we also verbally warned her that if caught stealing, we will report to police, YET she still did it..sigh..
Her other chores are ok, & her english is better than my previous mynmar maid, but she's not so 'automatic' in rendering help, e.g this morning, my son woke up at 6+am, so I woke up, carrying him & wanted to make milk, she was washing her face, but didn't offer to help make milk, & my son was crying till my hubby woke up to help!!even when she saw my hubby woke up, she still didn't offer to help! is this acceptable??
we noticed that we have been too nice to her & things which we offer to do, she will just let us do it, e.g when we go buy things, she doesn't see the need to help us carry, until we tell her to help..
To us, these are minor problems la..so we've been giving her time to adjust, hoping that this aspect will improve..
But now she steal..really don't know what to do..& we need help before we next maid comes in..& the cost of sending her back also need to be considered..should we give chance? really at a loss..sigh -
only 1 mth already start stealing, cannot imagine wht is next. can u get a free replacement fr the agency?
If she not willing to offer her help (the morning incident), then why we need to hire a maid? ask her back this question. -
HI Anna! thanks for your quick response..
ya lor..that's why..1 mth only..my previous mynmar maid, didn't even take my mum's diamond ring when she wipe the cabinets, but she placed in into a container & forgot about it, so when my mum asked her she say didn't see..after she went back, then my mum found it..if she wasn't honest, think the ring in mnymar liao
ya,right after that, I did sternly ask her is it right for Sir to wake up to help me, instead of her..sometimes, occasionally, my son will wake up 4+am or 5+am for milk, if maid sleeping, of course, I don't expect her to wake up la..but if she already wake up, it's only right to help right? sigh..
my previous maid, even when sleeping, will also wake up middle of night to help 1 lor..sigh..
but still, I think such no-initiative problems are ok at initial stage, as long as we point out to her, & she improve la..but now she steal, I really don't know should keep her or not..
think I have 1 free replacement, but still have to top up a bit for something, I got to call later to check..
now so worrying, I got to go out to work from noon till night..& I think she already knows we know she stole..but I have to leave the kids with her..don't know safe or not..sigh... -
cool_hi:
If you decided to keep her, maybe you can write down this incident and ask her to sign on it, tell her you willing to give her a chance but "reserve" the right to report to police (since you mentioned to her b4, u will report to police). hopefully she will change her attitude. But honestly speaking, it’s hard to change the behaviour. -
Anna Ng:
Hi Anna, Thanks a lot for your suggestion..It sounds rather good..at least, she will know that we are aware & she herself know that we are giving her chance..just that, don't know whether she will pretend to be ok on surface, but not happy in her mind & do anything vengeful, esp to my kids..sigh..cool_hi:
If you decided to keep her, maybe you can write doen this incident and ask her to sign on it, tell her you willing to give her a chance but \"reserve\" the right to send her to report to police (since you mentioned to her b4, u will report to police). hopefully she will change her attitude. But honestly speaking, it's hard to change the behaviour.
think I will check with agency on replacement cost & whether there's any suitable transfer maid available, then discuss with hubby & decide..
Thanks a lot for your concern & advice
Cheers!!
moonee:
Penisular Plaza has a lot of shops but think they don't specify clearly whether they remits $$ or not..so quite hard to search there..
My sisters maid goes to Peninsula Plaza when she wnts to send money back. I dont know the name of the establishment but if u still need to know more about money remittance, I can check it out for u..hquek:
Query here for employers. I have a fairly new Myanmar maid - this is my first from that country.
Does anyone know HOW they can remit money home? I don't see the country listed on Western Union site; and certainly don't think my maid's family can tahan too long with her money.
My previous maid was from Mynmar, think she remits through this company at Peninsular Plaza, at #05-20/21, tel: 63367703/63367601..
I a bit mixed-up, it's either through this company that we applied Malysia visa for her, or remit $$ back to Mynamar for her..but u can call up to check
Hope this helps!! Cheers!! -
cool_hi:
Welcome! Even though i am happy with my current maid but it's hard to \"predict\" them, pray hard and try our best to \"predict\" and monitor. I can lost everything but not the kids. But, wht to do, unless we quit our job lor----Anna Ng:
just that, don't know whether she will pretend to be ok on surface, but not happy in her mind & do anything vengeful, esp to my kids..sigh..
Cheers!! -
my maid starts to sing while she work, hanging clothes…my mum did say she likes to sing/hum, but at my place, I have never heard her sing.but I just heard her sing while in kitchen, & I can hear from my room!!
don’t know whether she’s trying to scare me…
or am i being paranoid…sigh!! I still need to work from noon today!! -
cool_hi:
hi Cool_hi, thanks for the recommendation, will go down and have a look when free (if ever).my maid starts to sing while she work, hanging clothes..my mum did say she likes to sing/hum, but at my place, I have never heard her sing.but I just heard her sing while in kitchen, & I can hear from my room!!
don't know whether she's trying to scare me..
or am i being paranoid..sigh!! I still need to work from noon today!!
Anyways, my maid (myanmar) also likes to sing (and pretty loudly too) when she works. It was scary at first but I take it as background music. My kids and mum are trying to teach her 'woa men ti' (I ask sky/heavens). hee hee
This maid not quite able to communicate - english cannot make it, chinese non-existent. She also don't have friends upstairs or downstairs to yak with (ex-maid did so in the yard area). So figure it's good for her to have a vent.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.