CNY - do you look forward to it?
Nope... unless my CNY new baju includes Harry Potter's Invisible Cloak.. ...heheee....
CNY for me means giving, and more giving.....and off course the IL'S and relatives drama sessions...
Envy those that is looking forward to having good time...
This year my challenge is to find out which close relative giving $2 angpow...

auntieM:
:lol: At least u encountered $2~~!! We encountered a $1 AP last yr!!! *faintz* I wonder when will my kids get an empty AP, since it's the sincerity that counts.. :lol: :lol: :lol:Nope... unless my CNY new baju includes Harry Potter's Invisible Cloak.. ...heheee....
CNY for me means giving, and more giving.....and off course the IL'S and relatives drama sessions...
Envy those that is looking forward to having good time...
This year my challenge is to find out which close relative giving $2 angpow...

My Dh's cousins very 'tok kong' ones.. their kids will receive ang pow, but they don't give at all oki.. ...unbelievable! :faint:
auntieM:
My Dh's cousins very 'tok kong' ones.. their kids will receive ang pow, but they don't give at all oki.. ...unbelievable! :faint:
People who don't give red packet are 'sway' lor...bcos if they don't give, then they are considered 沑ζη¦ζ°. -
'I am looking forward to it.
Already bought all the necessary CNY clothes. Need to look for shoes. Did some spring cleaning last weekend. Great sense of achievement cos we managed to clear out a lot of stuff. Now waiting to see if the landscaping contractor can redo our garden in time.
Planning to bake some cookies. This is something which I did not do last time. Usually my mum will be the one making the cookies to give to everyone. This year she kind of delegated some to me.
Reunion dinners all planned and booked.
Envy your enthusiasm. I did not even do spring cleaning for the past years! -
Fairy:
Hahah. I did not do any spring cleaning at all since we moved into this place and that was 5 yrs ago.
'Funz:
I am looking forward to it.
Already bought all the necessary CNY clothes. Need to look for shoes. Did some spring cleaning last weekend. Great sense of achievement cos we managed to clear out a lot of stuff. Now waiting to see if the landscaping contractor can redo our garden in time.
Planning to bake some cookies. This is something which I did not do last time. Usually my mum will be the one making the cookies to give to everyone. This year she kind of delegated some to me.
Envy your enthusiasm. I did not even do spring cleaning for the past years!
So new tradition for us, spring clean every 5 yrs.
I have my fair share of irritating relatives and such but hey, not gonna let them ruin what should be part of my kids childhood memory.
I am adopting some and inventing some traditions. I find it sad when pple choose to go away for CNY or Xmas instead of spending it with family. -
Fairy:
Spring cleaning ? No need lah. Every 6 months, I wash curtains. Every day vacuum. Last time I did spring cleaning was Dec when I dumped all of son's old assessment/text books. Just love to clear stuff in the house.
'Funz:
I am looking forward to it.
Envy your enthusiasm. I did not even do spring cleaning for the past years! -
As usual, i donβt conform to tradition.
Reunion dinner my in laws usually come over to my place since i have a maid. This year not cooking at home but going out to eat. My parents are welcomed to join us, but usually they donβt.
Looking forward to eat a seafood reunion dinner.
Not having the usual CNY food cos DS and DD donβt eat those type of food.
So i ordered from the ala carte menu instead of set menu.
No need to spring clean.
Usually i clear rubbish from my home monthly.
Usually donβt specially shop for new clothes during CNY.
If there is something that i like then i will buy.
In general, i look foward to CNY because of the festive mood and the public holidays.
However, i dread the crowd at the supermarket, wet market and the bank.
Usually i use the new notes that i received from the last CNY for the hongbao, so that saves queueing up at the bank. -
Actually since the day we were married, or even before that, there has been some mini drama over reunion dinners and 1st and 2nd day visitations with my ILs. But over the years, we learn to anticipate and cover our grounds. And at the same time basically grow totally numb to all the nonsense.
I am lucky cos DH also prefers to spend more time visiting with my side of the family then his own. Main motivation for him is Mah Jong marathon with my cousins and aunts.
:oops: :oops:
:!: must be looking super hot
at my age, eh... i don't think so lah!! anyway, dh claimed like i look like a \"girl next door\" type, whatever that means :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.