Any Good Suggestion For my Pri One Kid? SOS

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    13 Posts 5 Posters 5.9k Views 1 Watching
      happyfather

Hi All

I have a daughter who is due for Primary One Education (Sengkang Area) next year. But right now, I’m facing this dilemma as most student care service is operating till 7pm daily. A late pickup (after 7:05pm) of my kid would cost me between S$2 to S$5 per every 5 minutes. As a working parent, we are unable to leave on the dot daily from work at 6pm from Shenton Way and be able to reach Sengkang before 7pm due to work committment. We are a small family and we don’t enjoy the luxury of having grandparent to take care of the kid on our behalf.

As for engaging a maid, the levy and salary would deter us and we would prefer the kid to be put up in a proper student care centre.

Anyone has been in such situation like us? Can you provide me with any solution?

Thanks.

Cheer
      Happyfather

ksmummy

How about engaging a friendly neighbour’s help (if you are living near to the BASC) to pick up your child in the event that you will be late?

happyfather

Unfortunately, we dun really know our neighbour well as we just recently settle down in Sengkang area.

ksmummy:
          How about engaging a friendly neighbour's help (if you are living near to the BASC) to pick up your child in the event that you will be late?

Heyya happyfather,

Firstly, upon coming to this forum do introduce yourself @ the newbies
            section. Click here >http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewforum.php?f=28 It will help fellow forum users to get
            to know you better and also attend to any queries or doubts you
            may have pertaining to child raising issues, parenting issues, (etc)
            You may also even find friends here you may be able to help you out. 😉

Secondly, my suggestion is to make as many acquaintances as you can
            at the P1 Open House or the P1 Registration and so on... Mebbe you can
            find a friend of your child from kindergarten/childcare attending the same
            Primary school as your child to help in case you're late. To be fair, you
            can contribute a small $$$ token/contribution for the effort. The family
            may have to provide your child dinner while waiting for you to arrive for
            pick up. (I'm assuming your child might be in the PM session in P1 lah...)

Thirdly, you can earnestly inquire from the BASC of choice whether they
            can accommodate your child in a certain way... for example, there are
            teachers who can bring the child back to their homes in certain cases...
            especially, for parents who are very close to the centre's teachers or
            have a very good centre-parent relationship with the centre.....

Fourth... i do agree with ksmummy to a point where you can ask a
            neighbour to help out too, as a last resort. Cos since you know this
            issue will be of a daily problem for you (to be punctual for pick up)
            you can at least in your free time say weekends... make yourself
            and your family known to the people in your community/flat.

I guess if it were my situation, i would make all efforts to put myself
            out there to everyone and anyone in my spare time, make more frenz
            through parents of my kiddies pre-school with tea-parties or play-dates,
            or make conversations with as many neighbours as i can during the time
            i bring my kiddies for playground time.

Currently, i have an unspoken arrangement with a neighbour at the TOP
            floor of my residence that we look out for one another's child should any
            one of us be late. 😉 There was occasion whereby i fell asleep from
            exhaustion after running errands and picking up my younger one from
            school and she was down with slight fever. So, i sorta konk-ed out while
            sponge-ing her head... :oops: I didn't even hear the doorbell! That was
            how tired i was! To make things worse, my hph was on vibration/silent
            mode so as to not disturb my girl who wasn't well and needing the rest..
            I woke up to find 8 missed calls from an unknown number and realised
            it had been an hour past the transport pick-up downstairs! There wasn't
            a word to describe my panic! In short, it was through this incident that i
            realised that those times i engaged someone from my neighbourhood in
            casual talk, i had an extra pair of eyes to help me look out for my house
            and my family in any event i was not around. God bless these kind souls.
            😉

Where i stay, it's like everybody knows everybody... :celebrate:
            And i do like it that way. 😉

PS : I like it in a sense that it isn't a kay-poh kinda relationship,
            but instead, a friendly... cordial... neighbourly relationship. 😎

nigelcindy

Hi Happyfather,

now ur kid @ student care or child care?

Currently my son go to Faith Educare (sengkang blk 260D) and they operates till 9pm. They just started this yr operating till 9pm (if not wrong) but we choose not to let him stay till so late so there’s no changes on the school fee. currently i’m paying abt 300. (after subsidy)

You can check this out, they have 2 branches in SK (Blk 202 - if not wrong and Blk 260D)

Buangkok and Punggol also hv branches but i do not know if their operating hrs is the same for all branches.

Hope tis can help to solve ur current problems…

Wow! This is fantastic sharing nigelcindy!

I'm sure happyfather appreciates this a lot!

happyfather, hope this is the answer to your
                dilemma.. 🙏

My best regards always.

nigelcindy

ops jus realised happyfather is lookg for student care…but mine is child care…sorry !!!

Heyya nigelcindy,

Wuah! Childcare operates until 9pm! That’s a first i’ve heard!
                    Aniwae… there are childcares that also caters for student care
                    students, especially centres with big spaces… The only thing is
                    parents must ensure these centres MUST have teachers who are
                    qualified to manage the Primary School syllabus for the level of
                    students that they take into their centre.

happyfather

Hi buds

Thank for your tips and recommendation. Hope we can have some friend when my kid go to North Vista Primary School next year and thus, can help us solve this pick up problem.

Cheer
                      Happyfather

Heyya happyfather,

Firstly, upon coming to this forum do introduce yourself @ the newbies
                      section. Click here >http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewforum.php?f=28 It will help fellow forum users to get
                      to know you better and also attend to any queries or doubts you
                      may have pertaining to child raising issues, parenting issues, (etc)
                      You may also even find friends here you may be able to help you out. 😉

Secondly, my suggestion is to make as many acquaintances as you can
                      at the P1 Open House or the P1 Registration and so on... Mebbe you can
                      find a friend of your child from kindergarten/childcare attending the same
                      Primary school as your child to help in case you're late. To be fair, you
                      can contribute a small $$$ token/contribution for the effort. The family
                      may have to provide your child dinner while waiting for you to arrive for
                      pick up. (I'm assuming your child might be in the PM session in P1 lah...)

Thirdly, you can earnestly inquire from the BASC of choice whether they
                      can accommodate your child in a certain way... for example, there are
                      teachers who can bring the child back to their homes in certain cases...
                      especially, for parents who are very close to the centre's teachers or
                      have a very good centre-parent relationship with the centre.....

Fourth... i do agree with ksmummy to a point where you can ask a
                      neighbour to help out too, as a last resort. Cos since you know this
                      issue will be of a daily problem for you (to be punctual for pick up)
                      you can at least in your free time say weekends... make yourself
                      and your family known to the people in your community/flat.

I guess if it were my situation, i would make all efforts to put myself
                      out there to everyone and anyone in my spare time, make more frenz
                      through parents of my kiddies pre-school with tea-parties or play-dates,
                      or make conversations with as many neighbours as i can during the time
                      i bring my kiddies for playground time.

Currently, i have an unspoken arrangement with a neighbour at the TOP
                      floor of my residence that we look out for one another's child should any
                      one of us be late. 😉 There was occasion whereby i fell asleep from
                      exhaustion after running errands and picking up my younger one from
                      school and she was down with slight fever. So, i sorta konk-ed out while
                      sponge-ing her head... :oops: I didn't even hear the doorbell! That was
                      how tired i was! To make things worse, my hph was on vibration/silent
                      mode so as to not disturb my girl who wasn't well and needing the rest..
                      I woke up to find 8 missed calls from an unknown number and realised
                      it had been an hour past the transport pick-up downstairs! There wasn't
                      a word to describe my panic! In short, it was through this incident that i
                      realised that those times i engaged someone from my neighbourhood in
                      casual talk, i had an extra pair of eyes to help me look out for my house
                      and my family in any event i was not around. God bless these kind souls.
                      😉

Where i stay, it's like everybody knows everybody... :celebrate:
                      And i do like it that way. 😉

PS : I like it in a sense that it isn't a kay-poh kinda relationship,
                      but instead, a friendly... cordial... neighbourly relationship. 😎

happyfather

Hi there

Yes, currently my kid is at buangkok faith educare centre (Childcare), but unfortunately they dun cater for student care. We did highlight to them that there is a high demand for student care centre especially for parent who work till late night, but they reply they would consider but it would probably takes year for this suggestion to be materialised. We even offer to pay a small sum of token just fo them to pick up our kid from the Student Care Centre at North Vista Primary School and let my kid stay in the childcare till we knock off from work and pick her up, but they decline our suggestion. The reason why we put our kid in faith educare is mainly beco they are able to cater to our need till 9pm in the childcare service which is a plus point for us. Beside, it is just located next to buangkok mrt. We did tried to approach the staff and even the principle but they said they are unable to accommodate to our request by continuing to allow our kid to be under their care when she is in Primary One. Although North Vista Primary School has student care service inside their compound, but their operating hours is till 645pm daily. Even if we leave on the dote from work, there is no way we can beat the 645pm deadline.

Sigh.

nigelcindy:
                        Hi Happyfather,

now ur kid @ student care or child care?

Currently my son go to Faith Educare (sengkang blk 260D) and they operates till 9pm. They just started this yr operating till 9pm (if not wrong) but we choose not to let him stay till so late so there's no changes on the school fee. currently i'm paying abt 300. (after subsidy)

You can check this out, they have 2 branches in SK (Blk 202 - if not wrong and Blk 260D)

Buangkok and Punggol also hv branches but i do not know if their operating hrs is the same for all branches.

Hope tis can help to solve ur current problems........

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 2