[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    525 Posts 183 Posters 419.1k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

greenbean2011:
      hello smurf,

following enrichment programmes found at Newton kindergarten are also found in St James kindergarten. The common enrichment programmes are:-

a)\tEnglish speech & drama, by Helen O Grady.

b)\tBrain development - Fast Track kids.

these are part of the reason why I'm considering Newton!

for your younger boy, to have the best of both world, perhaps I suggest for initial two years Pre-nursery and Nursery, engage him in Montessori activities. It’s good, gives him a solid foundation in languages and Maths ! Later come either mid Nursery or latest K1, then switch him over to kindergarten.

I agreed. But hor, not say you want to switch u can switch leh, newton is also quite popular, must see got space or not mah. I spoke to the vice principal, and they said this year, only two classes of pre nursery, so maybe next yr, nursery also two classes...sigh...

Since your elder boy had gone through mmk before, and there is no tingxie or spelling at K2 - might as well let your younger boy try out Newton.

Yah, I'm more keen in newton, but not keen in the school fee...haha...

If no tingxie or spelling even at K2 – later go Primary 1, when these become suddenly new, compulsory and to be tested in class, the adjustment to him / learning path - becomes uphill. He has to learn tingxie / spelling fast. Fast enough to be ready to sit for spelling tests.

actually it depends. Coz a child with very strong phonics may not have any problem, he or she will be able to spell without difficult, just see the words few times and he or she can spell.

My point is – why wait till come to Pri 1 let him struggle, when you have so many years beforehand in kindergarten to facilitate him.

besides, 4 hrs curriculum dosage daily Mon – Fri, will teach younger boy more things. He will definitely benefit more.

Letterland phonics UK (popular in Primary schools) – which you prefer is also there.

I agreed!

extra 10% Chinese dosage daily – will help prepare your younger boy cope with Higher chinese in Primary school.

erm, with his Chinese standard, I can only pray that his Chinese is ok, not hoping for higher Chinese...haha...

The Catholic vs. Protestant Presbyterian faith between mmk and Newton is neglible, at kindergarten age. When comes to makan, all mean the same thing –give Thanks before eating. Amen

you are right! 😉

smurf

I think we have gone OT…haha…

I was thinking of just putting him in sch when he turned 4, and meanwhile, just get those Montessori materials and teach him. Or send him to weekly Montessori phonics enrichment class. After all, if he goes to sch now, he should be playing. And kids these young will not know how to play with others right?

• G Offline
          greenbean2011

hi smurf,

Yes, Pre-nursery got 2 classes per session.

But for Nursery, different.
          Newton usually open up an extra class to accommodate / cater to outsiders – ie. those who join the school, enrolled only at Nursery.

example
          =====

This year, all 8 classmates in my girl’s Nursery class are outsiders.
          They have something in common - all come in only at Nursery.

In her class, two transfer cases from mmk, others from other kindergarten, Montessori background, child care centre, etc.

AM session always full house !

PM session less popular, normally got vacancies.
          PM session less popular, lagi good!

I’m pleased with her current class size.
          In her PM class - 2 teachers with 9 kids.

Good ratio ! fewer kids better, don’t fall sick so often.
          I prefer PM session, because fewer kids.
          last yr in her previous church kindergarten, class got 20 kids.
          every now and then, come back home, fall sick. Xian !
          can’t sleep at night. I worried when her fever roller coaster in the middle of the night, reaching 39 degree celsius.

you’re absolutely right !
          even if you send him to school at 4 yrs old, it’s perfectly all right.
          It’s not too late. In fact, for Pre-nursery level, you can home school him yourself.

issue is – does he listen to you, when you self teach him at home ?
          if yr younger boy listens to you, then fine!

Just buy the LMA (large moveable alphabets) Montessori tool set, costs around $200 one time. Teach him Montessori phonics at home yourself. Promotes bonding between mother and child at same time !
          I can pass you my set of instructional Montessori phonics teaching material. You zap, then return me. I can share with you, demo and guide you - step by step, how to teach him.

However if he doesn’t listen to you, then bring him for phonics enrichment once a week. Get Serene from Totsville to coach him. She’s patient, systematic, good and kind.

But for Montessori Maths, it’s a lot more complicated !
          if you keen - after CNY, there’s this parents workshop coming up, teach parents how to teach Montessori Maths at home to kids.

This trainer called Nafisa very experienced. She > 25 yrs in Montessori education. If you can train yr child at home, good ! save lots of $.
          after all, enrichment montessori lessons not cheap.
          Last yr, I attended her workshop on Phonics. Very good!

the link is here:-
          http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

if you keen on parents workshop for Phonics, click here:-
          http://montessoriprogram.com/montessori-phonics-workshop

And when your boy turns 4, just place him into a proper kindergarten.
          By 4 yr old, he’s mature - time for him to interact with others.

btw, regarding Speech & Drama, Eduplus has a strong emphasis on S&D.

they videotape the kids speaking into the microphone, and playing back their actions....apparently, this is popular with kids and parents....makes the language becomes so much real and alive!

also forces kid to articulate the sounds correctly (esp. good for kids who don't speak Chinese at home)

• G Offline
            greenbean2011

hi smurf,

Yes, Pre-nursery got 2 classes per session.

But for Nursery, different.
            Newton usually open up an extra class to accommodate / cater to outsiders – ie. those who join the school, enrolled only at Nursery.

example
            =====

This year, all 8 classmates in my girl’s Nursery class are outsiders.
            They have something in common - all come in only at Nursery.

In her class, two transfer cases from mmk, others from other kindergarten, Montessori background, child care centre, etc.

AM session always full house !

PM session less popular, normally got vacancies.
            PM session less popular, lagi good!

I’m pleased with her current class size.
            In her PM class - 2 teachers with 9 kids.

Good ratio ! fewer kids better, don’t fall sick so often.
            I prefer PM session, because fewer kids.
            last yr in her previous church kindergarten, class got 20 kids.
            every now and then, come back home, fall sick. Xian !
            can’t sleep at night. I worried when her fever roller coaster in the middle of the night, reaching 39 degree celsius.

you’re absolutely right !
            even if you send him to school at 4 yrs old, it’s perfectly all right.
            It’s not too late. In fact, for Pre-nursery level, you can home school him yourself.

Just buy the LMA (large moveable alphabets) Montessori tool set, costs around $200 one time. Teach him Montessori phonics at home yourself. Promotes bonding between mother and child at same time !
            I can pass you my set of instructional Montessori phonics teaching material. You zap, then return me. I can share with you, demo and guide you - step by step, how to teach him.

However if he doesn’t listen to you, then bring him for phonics enrichment once a week. Get Serene from Totsville to coach him. She’s patient, systematic, good and kind.

if you keen - after CNY, there’s this parents workshop coming up, teach parents how to teach Montessori Maths at home to kids.

This trainer called Nafisa very experienced. She > 25 yrs in Montessori education. If you can train yr child at home, good ! save lots of $.
            after all, enrichment montessori lessons not cheap.
            Last yr, I attended her workshop on Phonics. Very good!

the link is here:-
            http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

if you keen on parents workshop for Phonics, click here:-
            http://montessoriprogram.com/montessori-phonics-workshop

And when your boy turns 4, just place him into a proper kindergarten.
            By 4 yr old, he’s mature - time for him to interact with others.

they videotape the kids speaking into the microphone, and playing back their actions....apparently, this is popular with kids and parents....makes the language becomes so much real and alive!

also forces kid to articulate the sounds correctly (esp. good for kids who don't speak Chinese at home)

• G Offline
              greenbean2011

hi,

The story of Jonah
              ==============

look at this video here.

such a expressive, little girl with a natural talent, telling a story so vividly that captures yr heart.

http://vimeo.com/16404771

smurf

greenbean2011:

problem is he sometime he listen, sometimes he doesn't. 😞
                greenbean2011:
                Promotes bonding between mother and child at same time !
                Er, he sees me from morning till night, not sure if it's bonding...haha...but sometimes, Its better to let other people jaga, else, will go crazy!

greenbean2011:
                thanks! But where did u get that from? U bought it? Was it costly?
                greenbean2011:

just worried that no time and he doesn't listen. 😛

greenbean2011:

I'm not sure, but I'm not keen in eduplus, coz heard of many not so good reviews. Maybe can try berries. 🙂

• G Offline
                  greenbean2011

hi smurf,

I attended parents workshop for montessori Phonics last yr.
                  costs around $480, for 4 sessions.
                  spread out over 4 Sundays afternoon.

each session lasts 4 pm – 7 pm.
                  venue: Lower Delta road.

so much things / so much content to absorb during that 3 hrs, quite tiring for me. There were 6 parents sitting on the floor max, for the training.

Trainer Nafisa very experienced. She taught > 25 yrs montessori education. She went through in detail step by step, using concrete material demo parents how to teach / engage our own toddler in Phonics.

we role play – some of us pretend to act as toddlers, while others act as parents. Just to get the hang of it – so that when we go home and face our own child, we know exactly what to do systematically step by step, how to teach, how to engage toddler’s interest.

Training was excellent!
                  Nafisa gave many useful tips, valuable insights !
                  Parents also shared what problem they all had with their own child, so we all learn from one another.

I purchased that LMA (large moveable alphabets) montessori tool set, because need that tool to teach my girl. No tool, how to teach ? costs around $200, just to buy LMA.

The next parents workshop coming up after Chinese New Year is montessori Maths. Maths is a much more complicated subject, compared to Phonics. Maths more complex !

still, I encourage you to attend.
                  esp. for parents with > 1 kid.
                  because montessori enrichment not cheap.
                  enrichment costs $100, or $120 per month, depending on which enrichment centre.

if got 2 kids, times 2.
                  if got 3 kids, times 3.

might as well pay one time fee, go and learn yourself, then teach x number of kids at home. Save up lots of enrichment $.

hi smurf,

why you OT every night ?
                    what time you sleep then ?

jul04

Hi greenbean

Thanks for sharing on your daughter's 'history' with Totsville & YKidz. And for the other info on newton kindy & Montessori programmes. Very very helpful indeed for a sotong new mummy like me who doesn't know anything abt the Spore pre-school system :thankyou:

After reading your reviews on Totsville, YKidz & Newton, you make me want to send my boy there! 😉 You're a very hands-on mummy! I can't believe you even attended the Montessori workshop so that you can teach your daughter at home

My daughter sounds like my son. Cannot seem to concentrate on anything at one go. He'll play with one toy, hear some sound then rush to check it out.. then he'll look for Toy A again, but along the way, he'll see Toy B & reach for it. Then he'll get distracted by the TV. Many people tell me that it's normal for a small toddler to behave like this, but I can't help but worry leh. Coz I believe you don't need to be super genius to do well in school, but you need to be able to concentrate to learn something. No point being so clever but you cannot settle down to learn.

• G Offline
                        greenbean2011

hi sean wife,

Sorry, I couldn’t find the invoice / receipt that state the model no.
                        don’t know where i kept the invoce.
                        But it was the rectangular table they displayed on level 2 inside the show room when you go up level 2.

I chose pale yellow table.
                        The other 2 tables on display at level 2 were soft pink and blue, also very sweet color.

I bought wrapping paper (for book type), to wrap up / protect the table top. My girl likes to do coloring. Don’t want her to use color pencils to color my table top, dirty it.

maybe Tiong Hin increase price ?
                        operhaps I could have remembered wrongly.
                        my sincere apology !

still, < $50 is worth it.
                        I searched high and low so long, before I managed to find this type of table.

btw, I think sales office close on Saturday.
                        If you want to buy, go on weekdays.
                        ask them for precise dimension, - see if can enter yr car.
                        If not, you need a van.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 30 / 53

MumYongM
                        MumYong
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog