If you could, would you decide on a 3rd child?

367 Posts 78 Posters 108.6k Views 1 Watching
      blur-daddy

Ohhhh... too late liao... hmmm... congratulaTION lor... :shock:

Whaddya mean considering, brader?

I didn't even get to consider! :faint:

Read the juice here... :lol:
      Click the blue link to catch up on the budzz..

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1708&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=560

winth

Haven't been able to come into KiasuParents for a loooonnnnnnggggg while and I really missed it. :politebleah:

Wow... and this thread has so many posts.

DH and I have finally decided to keep it at 2 (at the moment), cos we are getting busier in our jobs and the boys are getting tougher to manage. Really not easy to manage a household with 2 growing (extremely energetic) children.

Really got to salute to those couples with 3 or more.

Hubby & I have also decided to keep at 2 bcos finances are tight and kids are in primary school and requiring more attention.

rainrain

Hubby & I have also decided to keep at 2 bcos finances are tight and kids are in primary school and requiring more attention.

Does primary school kids require more attentions than pre schoolers? I always thought it's vice versa. I think if I want 3 children , I will plan a two year gap in between them at most.. Cos if stop for too long, naturally the desire will wear off.the only concern is the financial part. In a way having to maintain a certain level of lifestyle ( eg. One holiday a year, tuition and enrichment class for the three kids) . Given a average income earner with one SAHP, is it achievable? Any parents with 3 children can share??

pecalis

I homeschooled my 3 kids when they were in pre-primary - only the 3rd child attended K2 in Term 2 as she wanted more friends and I didn't have a playgroup for her. I bought my books from the States and shared with my friend, so we save alot on pre-school education and they were taught at their pace which is around 2 yrs ahead of their peers.

Primary sch was/is a breeze for my kids and myself. However, I've been SAHM for 13 yrs already and my expectations of my kids are not really high - do their best, strive to be in the best class but need not be top few in the class. We hardly go for movies or eat out but on special occasions - besides birthdays but also after exams - even when results are not out, we will not hesitate to have a good meal outside. So far holidays has been mainly Malaysia to save cost. Only enrichment/tuition is Chinese for all 3 kids, but again, eldest learning piano and all 3 also have swimming lessons.

Financially, I consider ourselves above average, as our 5-rm flat has been fully paid up and I don't have to worry about rising cost of food or oil or petrol.

If you enjoy your kids and love being around them and don't have to worry abt providing the basics, then I'll say go for it 🙂

rainrain:

Does primary school kids require more attentions than pre schoolers? I always thought it's vice versa. I think if I want 3 children , I will plan a two year gap in between them at most.. Cos if stop for too long, naturally the desire will wear off.the only concern is the financial part. In a way having to maintain a certain level of lifestyle ( eg. One holiday a year, tuition and enrichment class for the three kids) . Given a average income earner with one SAHP, is it achievable? Any parents with 3 children can share??

WaWa

I would love to ....

But don't dare ....

Cos I am sooo afraid of getting another special needs child .... so very afraid 😐

rainrain:

I keep tuition to the minimum...CL tuition for them. Son has Eng enrichment as it's getting tougher & I'm not confident of helping him w/out external help. Otherwise hubby & I are doing what we can to coach them.
                  Son isn't in top class, working hard to stay as average. We don't go for movies nor travel. Eating at restaurants usually after exams even when results are not out to recognize the hard work put in. Sometimes, we will go to Mac for ice cream on Friday after school to chill out.

We don't have maid for the past 4 years...so quite ok financially wise.

mambobb

I would love to have #3 if my financial is able to cope. :love:

Maybe you can say bcos I have 1 boy and 1 girl, that’s why I want to stop at 2. But my son was born with cleft lip and palate…which is why I am more concerned with #2’s general well-being when I was pregnant rather than knowing the gender.

Financially and mentally, I think we cannot afford #3.
                      Just coaching them in their school work is taxing enough…maintaining the average results ie.

• G Offline
                        Gecko

Me and the wife just had a third about 8 months ago.

It is a joy but tiring. My aging knees are not up to the strain (can't get up after squatting and bathing the kid .. bwahaha :lol: )

She came a year later than we would have liked (elder kids are 8 and 5) but important thing is that she is here. We wanted a bigger gap between the first two and the third.

Financially, we can just about do it but we watch what we spend carefully.

Will no. 4 come? Unlikely but one never knows .... 😉

Gecko

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 32 / 37