[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools
yo,
I am also looking for a playgroup for my gal. She is only turning one soon but I want to her in a playgroup so that she can have more meaningful time while I am at work.
I reckon she is not going to learn much from my MIL and FIL
Any recommendations in Bukit Panjang area -
apple79:
Hi apple79,Hi, noticed there isn't a thread on playgroups or I might have missed it.
Thinking of placing my girl to playgroup when she reached 18mths. Can anyone recommend any playgroup? The content, duration and cost?
generally, playgroups is also a form of 'preschool', so have you seen http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=735&start=0? i am assuming you are looking at the area you reside in (based on your profile info). other more economical playgroup have tots playgroup, talentplus playgroup etc. more upmarket ones include MMI. The MMI I know charges for $280 per month for twice a week weekday 1.5hrs.M3:
have you seen http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=790&highlight=panjang+playgroup? or http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=770&start=0?yo,
Any recommendations in Bukit Panjang area -
M3- I have the same sentiment. My girl is taken care by my MIL. I feel she can learn more in school. I have thought of placing her in childcare but I have to consider MIL feeling (She might feel offended) and things like the child might fall sick easily etc. So I thought maybe a playgroup would be a nice arrangement.
Jedamum: Thanks! I seen this thread but basically its the discussion on childcare? What is the full name for MMI maybe I know? Based on what you know, do u think there is much difference between the economical ones and the upmarket playgroups? Sometimes those branded ones might be overrated. -
Palm80: do keep us updated on Appletree.
apple79:
Palm80: do keep us updated on Appletree.
Apple79, I went to pay the first month's fee for Jan 2010 last nite. The place is your neighbourhood RC location. It's not near any traffic, so in a way, it is safe.
Class size is 15 per class with 1 teacher, 1 assistant teacher. I met both last nite and both teachers looks motherly, so am quite happy to leave my bb in their hands. The teacher is an Indian and great coz my bb can learn english from her while we can teach Chinese at home. My MIL can speak English well, so no problem for her to communicate with the teacher.
I brought my bb along to guage how he responds to the environment. He's shy but looks interestedly at other children who went to register. so should be ok.
Actual teaching results, I can only post next year. Let's see how okie? :xedfingers:
For these types of franchises, I believe that getting the right teachers is important. The Appletree at my mum's place, Hougang, had a bad reputation (many years ago la) because, quoting my mum, \"she is single and hasn't been a mum yet\", so the way she treats young children is quite harsh. That's why my elderboy went to Tots House, operated at another nearby RC.
One matter settled at last, but next year, I'll have to search for a Kindergarten. another headache. ha ha.
Thanks Palm80 for the feedback.
Hope your son will adjust well there. Yah agree that teachers play an important role. Its not easy finding a good one and within your area cos like you, I have to depend on my MIL to bring and fetch her from the centre most of the time. -
Apple 79, I think I am really in the same shoes as you. I want my girl to be in a childcare becos my sis says playgroup does not start that early for those not conducted by childcare. But my MIL is dead against it.
Still scratching my head as to what to do.
MMIโs playgroup is too expensive for me if I want to send her 5 times a week.
My sis was suggesting to put her in a half day childcare. Haiz, sometimes I wish I dun have to work! -
M3:
Hi M3, actually, I prefer working so that I can supplement my household income. else, i doubt we will be able to afford sending our kids to a private kindergarten. One good thing abt working is we have the additonal income to back us up and more choices are open to us.
My sis was suggesting to put her in a half day childcare. Haiz, sometimes I wish I dun have to work!
If your MIL is not receptive, maybe can solicit her input as to where is a good place to put your child in. She might be offended coz she might think, \"I help you take care of kid, now you want to put her in childcare, am I not doing a good job?! Other pple want help oso dun have\"
Tell her that it's time for ur bb to make friends and to prepare for her future school life, so ask her for suggestion for nearby places so that she can still care for your gal and at the same time, ferry her to and fro the childcare/playgroup/kindergarten. Sometimes need to curry ur MIL a bit else will make things difficult for ur hubby / bb and most importantly, urself.
~palm80~ -
apple79:
No probs, Apple79, and thanks for your wishes. After my first kid, I learnt that if you find that the learning centre does not perform up to your standards, and if you do not want to go through the hassle of getting another centre, what we need to do is to supplement what our kids learn with homeschooling.Thanks Palm80 for the feedback.
Hope your son will adjust well there. Yah agree that teachers play an important role. Its not easy finding a good one and within your area cos like you, I have to depend on my MIL to bring and fetch her from the centre most of the time.
My aunt's child who is the same age as mine attended the neighbourhood PCF kindergarten. He is now in the best class in his P3 level. He consistently scores more than 90 and sometimes 100 in his tests and exams. So what the parents teach at home is important too. -
Hi Palm,
yah I do not intend to depend on centre totally. I am trying my best to do some teaching at home myself everyday cos I do not have the luxury of whole day with her. At most I can only spend about 2 hours with her (if I knock off early) to do some reading, singing etc with her before she sleeps. Being a parent is tiringโฆ
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.