All About Montessori
Wah don't pray pray, I just borrowed this book yesterday :nunchuk:Montessori Books For Starters
http://postimage.org/image/1y17n0s9w/
From left :
1. Montessori Play & Learn by Lesley Britton
Lesley Britton is a Montessori practitioner in UK and i like how the book
helps starters bring Montessori into the home... just like how i'm doing
right here. :winkn: By starters, i mean parents or practitioners alike
who have found the calling... the interest to work with the Montessori
Method of Education.
While the book may not be as detailed-ly step-by-step as how i do it here,
it still manages to provide an inkling to the many activities in a Montessori
classroom that can be done in the home.. from what materials are to be
used.. how to plan.. how to involve the child and is a good supplement to
fit into daily home routine.
What i like about this book is that it also dishes out practical games and
activities and tips on how to understand the ways of Montessori. It offers
concise stage by stage points on the stages of learning of the Absorbent
Mind.
Some pages are also colour illustrated to give a clearer view of the materials,
games and pictures of children at work. -
jul04:
Wah don't pray pray, I just borrowed this book yesterday :nunchuk:
Good for you! :celebrate:
Yeeah hor.. dun pray pray leh.. :lol: -
jul04:
yeah I only have 1. So I'm a bit anal abt where to send my boy. Plus it has to be near my MIL's place in Toa Payoh - scully No 2 comes along, I'll need her help to look after No2, so the school can't be far away at my place in Sengkang right?
Understandable larr darl.. every parent is anal abt having the best for their
children... 1st child or last child.. :love: It's a natural tendency of a parent..
Request for transport service so MIL is free from having to commute to and fro
on a daily basis. Gives her extra time off too... and the child gets to be big kor-kor..
more independent.jul04:
:ugogirl:Anyway I've sort of made up my mind & will go for a trial on Sat to re-affirm my decision abt Montessori. Now I shall look ard for Montessoris near Toa Payoh.
jul04:
Mai gan-cheong... :snuggles:Then it's time for more trials again Argh! Never-ending headache :frustrated:
Deal with one headache at a time ok? :laugh: -
ooh.. I see \"discipline\", \"checklist of materials\" and \"jargon\" :boogie:
Shall go check out 4 & 5. 2 - er.. a bit early to read & write. Even I am not that kiasu :shock: 3 - sounds very basic, for want of an another adjective
Thanks buds! Love you! :thankyou: :love:
I hope I can get school bus service for whichever school I pick!
Oh.. is there a directory of Montessori schools by location or something huh?
jul04:
BudsBuds
I have a question about discipline in a Montessori. I think they don't call it \"discipline\" but you get what I mean right?
For eg, if the child starts to take the knobbed cylinders (*woot* I know the name leh, dun pray pray :nunchuk: ) and instead of trying to fit them into the right slots, starts to use them to knock violently on the wall/floor/table, what does the directress (again.. impressed by myself :preen: ) do?
Or if Child A takes Child B's materials away by force coz Child A doesn't want to wait for his turn, what does the directress do?
Not abt discipline but TLC now :
When a new child is dropped off, he'll prob start bawling unless he's the most confident, well-adjusted kid in the world. What does the directress do in that case?
Just wondering if you saw this? Or are you waiting for quiet time again :lol: :lol: -
jul04:
Pretended not to see. :politebleah:Buds
Just wondering if you saw this? Or are you waiting for quiet time again :lol: :lol:
For the quiet time is definitely not now. :laugh:
You see... it's parents like yourself who come up with
lovely long messages for me that i enjoy most. :love:
Keeps this stay-home brain stimulated. :hugs:
But these long ones are those that take time to digest & to reply to more
constructively in layman's terms so it's easy to read... understand and visualize.
Hello
New to this forum, not new to being a daddy. I have a question on teaching my dotter how to read the montessori way. Anyone can help? (Maybe bud since it looks like yer knowledgable in this field.
)
A little bit of background first...my 2.5 yr old girl goes to a (partial or integrated, basically not pure) Montessori school in the east. We had a parent teacher meeting end of last year and her English teacher told us that our girl can move on to double blending cos she has mastered her phonics sounds for all letters.
So for the past 2 months, (with no knowledge or little knowledge, reading from the internet) we have tried to teach our girl to combine sound of a and t = at (aaht) and sounds of a and n = an (aahn) but she will only give the sounds separately, not combined. She'll give /a/a/a/ and sound /n/n/n/. When I ask her whats the sound of b? she'll say /b/b/b/ instead of just /b/. Have told her to say it only once, cos 'an' = aahn not /a/a/a/n/n/n/. Or shd we just let her be cos at least she knows the sounds?
Currently, she knows a + t = aaht but i think its more out of memory than anything else. How do I make her understand and apply the sounds to 'read' simple words like cat, bat, mat, etc?
We received a booklet with images of our girl doing activities in school and one of them was a pic of her with red alphabets spelling out the word of tiny items on the table. I'm puzzled how she's able to do THAT when I can't seem to get her to say c-a-t = cat! :? -
Hi Buds,
I am going to recee Borders for the first book you recommend from Borders. I hope I can find it in its closing down sales.
Buds, need your advise:
I am looking for a 2 hour playgroup for my 18mths ds. However, the one that I sign up for (CS) has its seats all taken up. I am staying in Bt Panjang. Do you have any recommendation on schools there? Seems like there are alot of threads on Montessori childcare but not those 2 hour playgroup.
Also, have you heard of Stelios Montessori? It is housed in the old fire station along Bt Timah. Are the teachers and ciriculum good? From the website, it seems that the principal was the FIRST in singapore to set up a montessori school but we know first does not mean anything. Have you been there? Hmmm...is it one worth considering?!!
:idea: -
Brainkid:
Hi Buds,
Heyya Brainkid,Brainkid:
Good luck & hope you find it! :xedfingers:I am going to recee Borders for the first book you recommend from Borders. I hope I can find it in its closing down sales.
Brainkid:
I know of two which does kindy set up in CCK,Buds, need your advise: I am looking for a 2 hour playgroup for my 18mths ds. However, the one that I sign up for (CS) has its seats all taken up. I am staying in Bt Panjang. Do you have any recommendation on schools there? Seems like there are alot of threads on Montessori childcare but not those 2 hour playgroup.
probably a three hour programme instead of 2hrs.
There is one Ichiban in CCK.
Block 704, Choa Chu Kang Street 53,
#01-80, Singapore 680704.
Tel : 6893 - 8612
... and another one also in CCK called Hanis.
Block 707, Choa Chu Kang Street 53,
#01-118, Singapore 680707.
Tel : 6487 - 0550
There's one in Bt Timah as well..
CS Montessori @ Bukit Timah
#02-01 Bukit Timah Plaza
Tel: 6467 - 8200
Another option wud be to find out from those childcare set ups
whether they do afternoon Montessori programmes for children.
PMs are usually quiet in childcare centres after the half-day kids
go home. Some centres open Montessori programmes in the PM
without the care part like showering, sleeping (etc).. they can do
like a 3 or 4 hours programme for parents subject to space
availability.
Try to find out if Amazing Star does half day PM pgrm.
Brainkid:
I have not been there. Is the centre new?Also, have you heard of Stelios Montessori? It is housed in the old fire station along Bt Timah. Are the teachers and ciriculum good? From the website, it seems that the principal was the FIRST in singapore to set up a montessori school but we know first does not mean anything. Have you been there? Hmmm...is it one worth considering?!!
Plus now i no longer staying west... if not can go down recce.
I'm looking for a reputable one myself but in Woodlands area.. :rubhands:
If not, i guess i gotta teach my #3... myself... again... :politebleah: -
mistermerz:
Hello
Heyya there daddy.. :celebrate:
Not many daddies in Montessori thread.
I'm rooting for more to come in here and be more hands on! :rahrah:mistermerz:
I lurve your personal intro...New to this forum, not new to being a daddy.
\"Husband to only one, Father to only two.\"
Especially the first one.. :lol:
The key word is \"only\"... :laugh:
Hope u dun mind... i'm a bit :siao:... uh... cuckoo when it comes to jokes.
Ask anyone here... :roll: Just my avatar shud tell you how dangerously
provocative i am.. but i'm reali nice actually.. just :siao: and nottie :spank:..
:rotflmao:mistermerz:
Wink back..I have a question on teaching my dotter how to read the montessori way. Anyone can help? (Maybe bud since it looks like yer knowledgable in this field.
) 
Err...
... :oops: ... sorry missusmerz... that's just a
friendly welcome to the forum wink... :oops: ... *gulp*
Yah.. mebbe i can help? :idea: At least, i will try hokie pokie?
mistermerz:
No worries. :celebrate:A little bit of background first...my 2.5 yr old girl goes to a (partial or integrated, basically not pure) Montessori school in the east. We had a parent teacher meeting end of last year and her English teacher told us that our girl can move on to double blending cos she has mastered her phonics sounds for all letters.
I ain't pure either... err... :idea: ... i meant i ain't pure montessorian. :lol:
Wow.. and when did your girl start with the school may i ask?
2.5yrs... hmmm... oredi \"mastered\" all the sounds? Wow.
Does she know the letters/alphabets... that makes the sounds?
As in does she oredi know her aaays beees and ceees?
I need more background info..
mistermerz:
Dis arh... you try to teach yourself issit? :scratchhead:So for the past 2 months, (with no knowledge or little knowledge, reading from the internet) we have tried to teach our girl to combine sound of a and t = at (aaht) and sounds of a and n = an (aahn) but she will only give the sounds separately, not combined. She'll give /a/a/a/ and sound /n/n/n/.
Ideally, if your child is already placed in a Montessori centre, they should
be at the word building stage prior to this double letter blending instead...mistermerz:
Aaaahh.. :idea:When I ask her whats the sound of b? she'll say /b/b/b/ instead of just /b/. Have told her to say it only once, cos 'an' = aahn not /a/a/a/n/n/n/. Or shd we just let her be cos at least she knows the sounds?
Is the centre using this material?
http://www.postimage.org/
Or.... are YOU using this material?
For in this resource the sounds are repeated three times.
For all the songs they sing for every alphabet.
For example :
Balls are bouncing... /b/ ... /b/ ... /b/...
/b/ is the sound of b-eeee...
If yes this is used or has been used... here i'd like to emphasize
that for songs, they can repeat the sounds for as many times as
they like and as many times as possible for young children to
easily grasp the concept of sounds in letters/alphabets...
However... :idea: ... when it comes to the actual teaching of the
letter sound, i do not encourage repetitive sounding. It is to avoid
situations like the one you are in right now. Especially if the child has
mastered all the sounds that way, it is not gonna be easy to undo.
They'd be too used to saying it that way... and hey, no one told them it
was wrong, right?
Click this blue link to read my presentation of a single letter sounds lessson.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/montessori-phonics-introduction-single-letter-sounds-lesson-1mistermerz:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=17222#17222Currently, she knows a + t = aaht but i think its more out of memory than anything else. How do I make her understand and apply the sounds to 'read' simple words like cat, bat, mat, etc?
We received a booklet with images of our girl doing activities in school and one of them was a pic of her with red alphabets spelling out the word of tiny items on the table. I'm puzzled how she's able to do THAT when I can't seem to get her to say c-a-t = cat! :?
The material with the blue and red alphabets is called the Large Moveable
Alphabets and the tiny items that fit nicely in the pink box is called Object
Box. Pink is the colour for the pink scheme where single letter sounds and
3-letter phonetic words come in.
It cud be what you said... done via memory... and it could be that your girl
is the new kid on the block that is just absorbing the phonetic concept reali
fast! I mean she's only 2.5yrs. Btw, can she pronounce the sounds clearly
or is there still baby-ish pronunciation? When you say master... :idea:...
Can she match the sound you pronounce/say to her to the corresponding
letter/alphabet? Can she trace the letters/alphabet in the proper fashion?
She cud be able to do so by sight reading the word cards in the box... and
when the children first work on it... the directress may be breaking the
sounds for her... reali slowly... one letter sound at a time instead of saying
the whole word \"cat\" in one breath... hence allowing her to find the letters
in the LMA (Large Moveable Alphabets) and putting them together... In this
instance it is done with guidance, every step of the way... then when the
word is formed... teacher goes, \"Say cheese!\"
These are just some assumptions. I wud have to personally assess your
child to provide a fair evaluation of her ability. Dunno how my reply helps
but hope it broadens the possibilities over the doubts you had. Cheerios!
Regards, buds.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.