All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.2k Views 1 Watching

Montessori Books For Starters

http://postimage.org/image/1y17n0s9w/

From left :

1. Montessori Play & Learn by Lesley Britton

Lesley Britton is a Montessori practitioner in UK and i like how the book
      helps starters bring Montessori into the home... just like how i'm doing
      right here. šŸ˜‰ By starters, i mean parents or practitioners alike
      who have found the calling... the interest to work with the Montessori
      Method of Education.

While the book may not be as detailed-ly step-by-step as how i do it here,
      it still manages to provide an inkling to the many activities in a Montessori
      classroom that can be done in the home.. from what materials are to be
      used.. how to plan.. how to involve the child and is a good supplement to
      fit into daily home routine.

What i like about this book is that it also dishes out practical games and
      activities and tips on how to understand the ways of Montessori. It offers
      concise stages of learning of the Absorbent Mind.

Some pages are also colour illustrated to give a clearer view of the materials,
      games and pictures of children at work.

2. Montessori Read & Write by Lynn Lawrence

For the kiasu starters to Montessori Phonics, this is a must read! It shows
      how to introduce phonics and shares examples to promote readiness in
      children via fun games & activities that make learning fun. The DIY stuff
      are easy peasy and most times only require coloured markers and paper
      for you to work quickie stuff with your kids.

What i like about this book is how it develops from the simplest forms of
      introduction and gradually move up to grammar for young children. Offers
      stage analysis of progression for parents and practitioners plus lotsa ideas
      on encouraging print awareness on top of learning how to read. Literacy at
      a glance? Dig this.. šŸ˜„ The book comes with alphabet templates (cursive),
      beginning writer templates (line masters) and some simple puzzle words.

3. Basic Montessori by David Gettman

A very very concise version of the Montessori presentations at a glance.
      Provides procedural assistance for starters to the Montessori Method.
      There's a checklist of activities for Practical Life Exercises. There are
      also quick reads on Montessori and her theories.

What i like about this book is that it provides a brief introduction before
      going into each of the 5 areas of the Montessori Method. This book gives
      an overview of what children can/will learn in a Montessori classroom.....
      yes... all 5 areas. But also provides the opportunity for home activity
      follow-up for keen parents and practitioners. Key objectives are offered
      before each activity starts off; so starters have an idea of the intended
      aim of the activities.

4. The Discovery Of The Child *Clio Montessori Series*

This book covers the history of methods and makes comparison btwn
      traditional and Montessori... followed up with how the methods are being
      implemented in classrooms.

What's interesting about this book is the manner the writer thinks thru' abt
      the learning prejudices in a Montessori classroom & how a directress works
      with her children. Parents & practitioners are given glimpses of scenarios
      that allow readers to visualize what goes on in a Montessori classroom. A
      special chapter on discipline in a Montessori classroom is also included. šŸ˜‰

5. The Essential Montessori by Elizabeth G. Hainstock

A good read with reference to the many doubts hovering over the Montessori
      Method. There's a chapter dedicated to the common doubts an onlooker has
      about the method. The author also goes into the adaptability of the method.

Interesting to read the relevance of Montessori today and in the future plus
      Montessori's views of her work. Concise theories and philosophies on the
      discovery of the child.. the absorbent mind.. normalization & observations
      of the child.. Author goes into the apparent sensitive periods in a child's
      life... on freedom and order and the prepared environment.

For starters who are keen to understand the jargon used in Montessori, an
      appendix of familiar Montessori terms is included towards the end of the bk. :rubhands:

There's also a concise checklist of materials so that parents can look out
      for them during centre recce.. :evil: .. and also a list of comparisons btwn
      a traditional preschool and a Montessori one.. šŸ˜„ .. and for parents who
      need some Montessori background knowledge in the method prior to
      centre recce, it also helps that the theories and philosophies covered in
      this book encourages the importance of carrying over the method over
      from school to the home.

A Montessori book is not complete if it doesn't delve into material orientation.
      Essential Montessori offers the answers to the common why's of doing
      certain things/materials in a certain manner in the practical applications
      of the theory chapter. In a nutshell, starters get to look into the ways and
      the why's of the Montessori Method.

jul04

Montessori Books For Starters

http://postimage.org/image/1y17n0s9w/

From left :

1. Montessori Play & Learn by Lesley Britton

Lesley Britton is a Montessori practitioner in UK and i like how the book
        helps starters bring Montessori into the home... just like how i'm doing
        right here. :winkn: By starters, i mean parents or practitioners alike
        who have found the calling... the interest to work with the Montessori
        Method of Education.

While the book may not be as detailed-ly step-by-step as how i do it here,
        it still manages to provide an inkling to the many activities in a Montessori
        classroom that can be done in the home.. from what materials are to be
        used.. how to plan.. how to involve the child and is a good supplement to
        fit into daily home routine.

What i like about this book is that it also dishes out practical games and
        activities and tips on how to understand the ways of Montessori. It offers
        concise stage by stage points on the stages of learning of the Absorbent
        Mind.

Some pages are also colour illustrated to give a clearer view of the materials,
        games and pictures of children at work.
        Wah don't pray pray, I just borrowed this book yesterday :nunchuk:

jul04:
          Wah don't pray pray, I just borrowed this book yesterday :nunchuk:

Good for you! :celebrate:

Yeeah hor.. dun pray pray leh.. :lol:

jul04:
            yeah I only have 1. So I'm a bit anal abt where to send my boy. Plus it has to be near my MIL's place in Toa Payoh - scully No 2 comes along, I'll need her help to look after No2, so the school can't be far away at my place in Sengkang right?

Understandable larr darl.. every parent is anal abt having the best for their
            children... 1st child or last child.. :love: It's a natural tendency of a parent.. šŸ˜‰

Request for transport service so MIL is free from having to commute to and fro
            on a daily basis. Gives her extra time off too... and the child gets to be big kor-kor..
            more independent.
            jul04:
            Anyway I've sort of made up my mind & will go for a trial on Sat to re-affirm my decision abt Montessori. Now I shall look ard for Montessoris near Toa Payoh.
            :ugogirl:
            jul04:
            Then it's time for more trials again Argh! Never-ending headache :frustrated:
            Mai gan-cheong... :snuggles:

Deal with one headache at a time ok? :laugh:

jul04

ooh.. I see \"discipline\", \"checklist of materials\" and \"jargon\" :boogie:

Shall go check out 4 & 5. 2 - er.. a bit early to read & write. Even I am not that kiasu :shock: 3 - sounds very basic, for want of an another adjective šŸ˜›

Thanks buds! Love you! :thankyou: :love:

I hope I can get school bus service for whichever school I pick! šŸ™

Oh.. is there a directory of Montessori schools by location or something huh? šŸ˜“

jul04

jul04:
                Buds

I have a question about discipline in a Montessori. I think they don't call it \"discipline\" but you get what I mean right?

For eg, if the child starts to take the knobbed cylinders (*woot* I know the name leh, dun pray pray :nunchuk: ) and instead of trying to fit them into the right slots, starts to use them to knock violently on the wall/floor/table, what does the directress (again.. impressed by myself :preen: ) do?

Or if Child A takes Child B's materials away by force coz Child A doesn't want to wait for his turn, what does the directress do?

Not abt discipline but TLC now :

When a new child is dropped off, he'll prob start bawling unless he's the most confident, well-adjusted kid in the world. What does the directress do in that case?
                Buds

Just wondering if you saw this? Or are you waiting for quiet time again :lol: :lol:

jul04:
                  Buds

Just wondering if you saw this? Or are you waiting for quiet time again :lol: :lol:
                  Pretended not to see. :politebleah:

For the quiet time is definitely not now. :laugh:

You see... it's parents like yourself who come up with
                  lovely long messages for me that i enjoy most. :love:

Keeps this stay-home brain stimulated. :hugs:
                  But these long ones are those that take time to digest & to reply to more
                  constructively in layman's terms so it's easy to read... understand and visualize. šŸ˜‰

mistermerz

Hello

New to this forum, not new to being a daddy. I have a question on teaching my dotter how to read the montessori way. Anyone can help? (Maybe bud since it looks like yer knowledgable in this field. šŸ˜‰)

A little bit of background first...my 2.5 yr old girl goes to a (partial or integrated, basically not pure) Montessori school in the east. We had a parent teacher meeting end of last year and her English teacher told us that our girl can move on to double blending cos she has mastered her phonics sounds for all letters.

So for the past 2 months, (with no knowledge or little knowledge, reading from the internet) we have tried to teach our girl to combine sound of a and t = at (aaht) and sounds of a and n = an (aahn) but she will only give the sounds separately, not combined. She'll give /a/a/a/ and sound /n/n/n/. When I ask her whats the sound of b? she'll say /b/b/b/ instead of just /b/. Have told her to say it only once, cos 'an' = aahn not /a/a/a/n/n/n/. Or shd we just let her be cos at least she knows the sounds?

Currently, she knows a + t = aaht but i think its more out of memory than anything else. How do I make her understand and apply the sounds to 'read' simple words like cat, bat, mat, etc?

We received a booklet with images of our girl doing activities in school and one of them was a pic of her with red alphabets spelling out the word of tiny items on the table. I'm puzzled how she's able to do THAT when I can't seem to get her to say c-a-t = cat! :?

Brainkid

Hi Buds,

I am going to recee Borders for the first book you recommend from Borders. I hope I can find it in its closing down sales. šŸ™

Buds, need your advise:
                      I am looking for a 2 hour playgroup for my 18mths ds. However, the one that I sign up for (CS) has its seats all taken up. I am staying in Bt Panjang. Do you have any recommendation on schools there? Seems like there are alot of threads on Montessori childcare but not those 2 hour playgroup.

Also, have you heard of Stelios Montessori? It is housed in the old fire station along Bt Timah. Are the teachers and ciriculum good? From the website, it seems that the principal was the FIRST in singapore to set up a montessori school but we know first does not mean anything. Have you been there? Hmmm...is it one worth considering?!!

:idea:

Brainkid:
                        Hi Buds,

Heyya Brainkid,
                        Brainkid:
                        I am going to recee Borders for the first book you recommend from Borders. I hope I can find it in its closing down sales. šŸ™
                        Good luck & hope you find it! :xedfingers:
                        Brainkid:
                        Buds, need your advise: I am looking for a 2 hour playgroup for my 18mths ds. However, the one that I sign up for (CS) has its seats all taken up. I am staying in Bt Panjang. Do you have any recommendation on schools there? Seems like there are alot of threads on Montessori childcare but not those 2 hour playgroup.
                        I know of two which does kindy set up in CCK,
                        probably a three hour programme instead of 2hrs.

There is one Ichiban in CCK.

Block 704, Choa Chu Kang Street 53,
                        #01-80, Singapore 680704.
                        Tel : 6893 - 8612

... and another one also in CCK called Hanis. šŸ˜‰

Block 707, Choa Chu Kang Street 53,
                        #01-118, Singapore 680707.
                        Tel : 6487 - 0550

There's one in Bt Timah as well..

CS Montessori @ Bukit Timah
                        #02-01 Bukit Timah Plaza
                        Tel: 6467 - 8200

Another option wud be to find out from those childcare set ups
                        whether they do afternoon Montessori programmes for children.
                        PMs are usually quiet in childcare centres after the half-day kids
                        go home. Some centres open Montessori programmes in the PM
                        without the care part like showering, sleeping (etc).. they can do
                        like a 3 or 4 hours programme for parents subject to space
                        availability.

Try to find out if Amazing Star does half day PM pgrm. šŸ˜‰
                        Brainkid:
                        Also, have you heard of Stelios Montessori? It is housed in the old fire station along Bt Timah. Are the teachers and ciriculum good? From the website, it seems that the principal was the FIRST in singapore to set up a montessori school but we know first does not mean anything. Have you been there? Hmmm...is it one worth considering?!!
                        I have not been there. Is the centre new?

Plus now i no longer staying west... if not can go down recce. šŸ˜‰

I'm looking for a reputable one myself but in Woodlands area.. :rubhands:

If not, i guess i gotta teach my #3... myself... again... :politebleah:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 82 / 165