PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit

314 Posts 49 Posters 79.3k Views 1 Watching
      ANobleNerd

Frankly, I find it so contradictory that on the one hand, we say that we have kids for ourselves, then on the other hand, our kids are Sg Citizens and therefore have to pay taxes, do NS etc.

Since our kids are citizens with a citizen's responsibility, this Nation does have a responsibility towards them too.

It behooves the leaders of this nation to have the political will to ensure that policies are made to be pro-family.

My pet peeves in this debate is the housing policy, and the immigration policy. Both these policies don't appear to support the 'make babies' call.

For the former, the HDB is building smaller and smaller units of flats - so small that it doesn't inspire young couples to have any children, much less than having more than 3 kids. The flats may have 4 rooms, but because it's so small, there's no sense that the house may be missing the happy sounds of children playing.

The latter, of course, makes having babies moot. Why spend money on Baby Bonuses, when it's far cheaper to import citizens? In fact, importing a full grown citizen is far more economical - they come fully ready to work, some with kids in tow; they can already pay taxes and there's no need for them to undergo schooling, which costs the government a pretty penny! πŸ˜‰

I find that while the government makes all these calls for citizens to have babies, their policy-making isn't strong enough. Reading through this thread, I realise that so far, the government has been putting their money where their mouth is: Defence, Education and Economy.

Because Defence is important to protect our assets, NS requirements overrides whatever unhappiness employers face about Sg men having to drop their work for reservist. Employers work around the law - and that is as it should be.

Because Education is important for a more economically viable workforce, our curriculum 'cut the fat' and we ensure that all citizens have at least a primary school level education with the Compulsory Education Act. Because we think China is important, we ensure that we have a bilingual policy - whether our 2nd language level is truly at 2nd language level or otherwise.

Just looking at the above two policies, it really disappoints when we hear of how 'difficult' it is to enforce a paternity leave, or have a more balanced work-life policy or family-friendly work hours/patterns. It disappoints that the focus is on having babies, and not on how to help these Sg citizen babies grow into good Sg citizen who would put their hand heart-and-soul to defending this place that want them... rather than give these kids over to foreigners looking after them, or teaching them.

Let our Sg kids be looked after by their mothers and grandparents! Let our Sg kids grow to love their Sg families, rather than go home to an empty house because both parents have to work... and their grandparents have to work too. Look after the citizens that work for this Nation, and stop all these nonsense about how citizens must take care of themselves and not expect the government to look out for them! πŸ˜›

ANobleNerd:
        Frankly, I find it so contradictory that on the one hand, we say that we have kids for ourselves, then on the other hand, our kids are Sg Citizens and therefore have to pay taxes, do NS etc.

Agree 100%. Do the kids belong to us or the country ? If the kids belong to the country as well (boys have to serve NS), then shouldn't the country have more child-friendly policies to SAHMs as well ? Is the govt expecting couples to give birth and recognize only working mothers ? Won't the kids be latch-key children ? Who is to blame then when they mix with wrong company ?

For the former, the HDB is building smaller and smaller units of flats - so small that it doesn't inspire young couples to have any children, much less than having more than 3 kids. The flats may have 4 rooms, but because it's so small, there's no sense that the house may be missing the happy sounds of children playing.
        HDB flats are small and expensive. How many young couples can afford to spend on renovations to fill up that empty shell (BTO) ? I worry for my kids when they grow up, can they afford to buy their own flats ?

Reading through this thread, I realise that so far, the government has been putting their money where their mouth is: Defence, Education and Economy. πŸ˜›
        Millions are spent on these 3 'cash cows' - defence, education and economy. Who will be working in these industries ? Our kids right ? So it looks like the govt should have a hand to help bring up our children.

kiasu2011

hi ,

do you feel secured if s’pore defence is manned by FW ?
          what u cannot protect does not belog to u. if u wait until something happen then u start to upgrade the weapon & technology , it will be too late . by then all sg gals will be comfort women to their soldiers.

we do revision with our kids becos we want them to do well , so tat they go to a good school & we know they will get better exposure & opportunities in their future life.

sahm or not is a peronal choice. u gain some and u will lose some
          sahm have more quality time with their kids . kids also very close with the mother. kid also study better , they dun fall sick easily . all these joy cannot be measure with money.

sometime when we grumble about our life, u look at other country , there are people worst then u .

Chenonceau

Millions are spent on these 3 'cash cows' - defence, education and economy. Who will be working in these industries ? Our kids right ? So it looks like the govt should have a hand to help bring up our children.
            I don't begrudge the millions spent on the 3 cash cows. Neither do I expect help to bring up my kids. I just want govt legislation that'll change social perceptions about men and childcare.

http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2011/02/paternity-leave-hits-norway-cabinet.html

daddybear

kiasu2011:
              hi ,

do you feel secured if s'pore defence is manned by FW ?
              Sorry, I just have to respond to this. Do you feel more prosperous when your economy is manned by FT? ... :siam:

hquek

ANobleNerd:
                Since our kids are citizens with a citizen's responsibility, this Nation does have a responsibility towards them too.

It behooves the leaders of this nation to have the political will to ensure that policies are made to be pro-family.
                I'm not a member of the youth wing or any wing, these are just personal feel.

I think it's a damn tough job to be pro-family and pro-biz at the same time. if govt mandate that all companies must give 1 year maternity leave, 6 months paternity leave plus a whole host of benefits, how many companies will be scared off? Nowadays with technology, jobs do not have to be located in SG. If we don't have strong economy, 1. Sgeans will still feel not secure enough to have kids.

I'm a FTWM and definitely not for scrapping pro-family initiatives. Selfishly, I would want them to make it easier, better and cheaper. But ultimately, I am the one looking after my kids once work is done and if I don't think I can cope at home, even if they throw money at me, I won't have more kids. So for me, spousal and family support is key - and this is something govt policy cannot buy (unless of course they mandate that all boys must go through housekeeping course in school or in NS).
                ANobleNerd:
                In the first place, those around me who don't want to have kids won't have. Size of the flats is a convenient excuse. It's more the 'I want my freedom, I want to enjoy life' mentality. Bigger flats will not mean that pp will run and have more babies - it probably means they will run to the next IT fair and buy more gadgets to fill up their home. If govt build 2000 sq feet flats, I'm think it may have a detrimental effect on kids. At the way prices are escalating, pp are just going to complain that they have to spend more years to service that loan so again, no money to have kids. If we talk about bringing down prices of flats....then for all the existing flat owners, can we stomach the fall in value of our 'nest'?
                ANobleNerd:
                Because we think China is important, we ensure that we have a bilingual policy - whether our 2nd language level is truly at 2nd language level or otherwise.
                Umm, 2nd language is mother tongue right? I would take that this was necessary so that english can be the key language and most of us will be able to know the language of our ancestors (whatever colour our skin tone). Chinese language has come up becos of the growth of China. India is coming up also, but I don't see many families rushing out to learn Indian?
                ANobleNerd:
                Let our Sg kids be looked after by their mothers and grandparents! Let our Sg kids grow to love their Sg families, rather than go home to an empty house because both parents have to work... and their grandparents have to work too. Look after the citizens that work for this Nation, and stop all these nonsense about how citizens must take care of themselves and not expect the government to look out for them! πŸ˜›
                I don't want the govt to take care of me, I want govt to help equip me so I can take care of me (ie in the forms of encouraging investments so companies will come and give me job, education so I can remain employed). The joys of spending 2 pay packets will be paid for in the form of less time with kids; the challenge on surviving on 1 pay packet will be paid in the form of having more time for kids. This is a personal choice we all have to make.

Busymom

I don't begrudge the millions spent on the 3 cash cows. Neither do I expect help to bring up my kids. I just want govt legislation that'll change social perceptions about men and childcare.

:salute: my exact sentiment on social engineering.

Still, there are indeed many who are struggling with the rising cost of bringing up a child. Thus, some help for them is still necessary as we can't depend on only those who can afford to have more kids.

ANobleNerd

Janet, I think you mean 'sacred cows' rather than 'cash cows'. πŸ˜‰

Petunia, I don't begrudge the money either - but I do question the seriousness of the intent of our leaders that born and bred sg citizens are important to our Nationhood.

kiasu2011

daddybear:
                      kiasu2011:

hi ,

do you feel secured if s'pore defence is manned by FW ?

Sorry, I just have to respond to this. Do you feel more prosperous when your economy is manned by FT? ... :siam:

actually i dun feel \" properous \" 😒 , employer always say use the excuse n say we choosy , tats why they bring in FT :x
                      FT come here becos they can make money from this place and not becos they \"love\" this place very much.
                      i think 10 years down the road , their place will become properous , FT will not come here anymore and FT here will also packed up n go back , at the same time , FT become \"landlord\", collect rent from their s'pore flat
                      hope gahmen will not let tis happen or our children will suffer

• kwk9060K Offline
                        kwk9060

Busymom:
                        we can't depend on only those who can afford to have more kids.

Those who can afford are not having more kids cos they plan too far and thinks that they cannot afford.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 32

chenlaoshiC
                        chenlaoshi
                        cheeseflakesC
                        cheeseflakes